Duke


Dalmatian
Picture of Duke, a male Dalmatian

Photo Comments

Home:Portland, OR  [I have a diary!]  
Age: 15 Years   Sex: Male   Weight: 51-100 lbs

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

   Leave a bone for Duke

Doggie Dynamics:
 Energy 
sleepyenergetic
 
 Intelligence 
sillygenius
 
 Friendliness 
aggressiveaffectionate
 
 Playfulness 
not playfulvery playful
 
 Disposition 
anxiouscalm
 

Quick Bio:
-purebred-disabled -dog rescue

Likes:
Cuddles, especially lap time

Pet-Peeves:
Being woken up in the middle of a nap

Favorite Toy:
Nyla-bones

Favorite Food:
I wish I knew!

Favorite Walk:
Any dog-park

Best Tricks:
He can shake pretty well, which is no small feat!

Arrival Story:
The vet office in my home town knew I had experience with Dalmatians, and asked me if I wanted another. I brought him home originally as a foster dog, with intentions of finding him a home here in Portland... but he asked if he could stay with us and I said yes :)

Bio:
Duke was supposedly thrown from a moving car. He was found on a country road, crawling in a ditch because he couldn't walk. His hips were shattered, he may have had a head trauma, and he had the worst case of bladder stones the vet had ever seen. They weren't sure he would make it, but they fixed him up and then kept him in the vet kennels. Big surprise, nobody came to claim him. Poor guy. He ended up stuck in the vet kennels for over a year before he came into my care. It was later discovered that he had been living with heroin users, which, in addition to the head trauma, has left him with obvious brain damage. But even with brain damage, Duke still knows how to love!

Forums Motto:
I'm a Soul Man...

I've Been On Dogster Since:
February 4th 2006 More than 8 years!

Rosette, Star and Special Gift History

Dogster Id:
259510


Meet my family
LolaHappy

Meet my Pup Pals
See all my Pup Pals
See all my Pup Pals
 

My NEW life


I'm Getting Trained!

April 14th 2007 11:06 pm
[ Leave A Comment ]

Never say you can't teach an old dog new tricks! Now that I'm in my golden years and I finally have a family, I'm getting trained. So far I have mastered sit, and on a good day I can even shake. A couple days ago, I started learning a really great thing: to come back to Mom and Dad when they call me. Everytime I come back, they give me a treat - I think it's a good deal! And now I can go off-leash at the dog-park, which is way more fun because now I can smell the trees I want to smell, pee on things I want to pee on, and I can follow my sister Lola around.

 

first few weeks

February 7th 2006 7:52 pm
[ Leave A Comment ]

If you don't know my story here it is in a nut shell, I was thrown from a car, found dying on the side of the road, patched up and nursed back to life, and after a year and a half found a home with 2 siblings and 2 parents. So Now I've been with my new family for almost 3 weeks and am loving it!! I've been taken to the off leash dog parks many times where I meet many nice people to rub my head and pet me, as well as many nice dogs who I can follow around and smell things with. Today I got a special treat and while my 2 new sisters stayed at home I got to go out with mom and dad to lunch!!! What fun I had!! Dad learned I'm SOOO strong that I can pull the table over if he attaches my leash to it and I learned that burritos smell and taste really good. I'll try to write atleast once a month about my new life with my new family!!

 
See all diary entries for Duke