Jelly


Chinese Shar-Pei
Picture of Jelly, a male Chinese Shar-Pei

Photo Comments

Home:Chicago/Logan Sq./Wiggly Field, IL  [I have a diary!]  
Age: 10 Years   Sex: Male   Weight: 51-100 lbs

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments (1)

   Leave a bone for Jelly

Nicknames:
"Crazy Legs." My foster dad liked to call me "Jelly Roll" (I go all goofy when I hear it!), and Christian calls me "Jelly Belly" (because he's so silly!).

Doggie Dynamics:
 Energy 
sleepyenergetic
 
 Intelligence 
sillygenius
 
 Friendliness 
aggressiveaffectionate
 
 Playfulness 
not playfulvery playful
 
 Disposition 
anxiouscalm
 

Quick Bio:
-purebred-dog rescue

Birthday:
March 26th 2004

Likes:
Going for walks, chasing tennis balls, and ladies (Jelly likey the ladies).

Pet-Peeves:
Doggy beds that smell like other doggies, harsh voices, being alone.

Favorite Toy:
Tennis balls, or whatever Fargus is playing with.

Favorite Food:
I've been so hungry for so long that I'll eat anything my foster parents give me. I eat IAMS large breed food for my meals, and I especially enjoy Science Diet Oral Health kibble (I get a nice big piece as a treat when I've done something good).

Favorite Walk:
Anywhere with stuff to pee on!

Best Tricks:
I haven't spent much time on tricks yet, but I know "sit," "outside," "inside," and "come here." I'm also learning not to pull on my leash when we go for walks, and I'm getting really good at stopping at corners.

Arrival Story:
My foster mom called me her foundling. I followed her and Jake home from a morning walk on September 26, 2005. Jake was really cool. Mom said he doesn't usually play with other dogs much, but he really liked playing with me. I had no collar or tags, and foster mom said I looked really hungry. Because I was a nice dog and she didn't want me to turn into road pizza, she let me come inside the gate with her and Jake. Foster mom brought me some food, water, and a nice soft bed, and I spent the day in Jake and Fargus's backyard. I REALLY wanted to go in the house, but I couldn't. I had fleas, no health record, and I still had all my "boy parts," so Fargus wouldn't have liked me at all. That night, foster mom took me to Animal Care and Control. I didn't want to leave, but she said that if anyone was looking for me, I should probably be waiting at the first place they'd check. No one claimed me, so foster mom got Adopt-A-Pet (the rescue that saved Jake) to get me out of doggy jail and let me stay with her, dad, Jake, and Fargus until they could find a forever home for me. Anne at Rescue-A-SharPei answered foster mom's call and referred her to THE BEST PEOPLE EVER!!! They'd been waiting a very long time for a boy dog just like me, so they came to meet me. It didn't take long for us all to decide that we loved each other, so on Sunday, October 16, I left Jake and Fargus' house WITH MY NEW MOM, and now I live with a WHOLE FAMILY of my very own! I couldn't be happier!

Bio:
I am a purebred, housetrained, freshly neutered male SharPei about a year-and-a-half old. I am ridiculously social with dogs of all ages and sizes; I don't seem to pay much attention to any cats I see when I'm outside. I refuse to talk about my previous life, but I can be a bit distrustful of men (but thanks to my terrific Grandpa, I'm getting better everyday). I growl when I am uncomfortable because I am insecure, but if you back off and give me the space I need, I understand that you're not going to hurt me and let us get a little closer to each other with every encounter. I love doing my famous "Jelly Roll" for my people; I'm so good at it that they always respond with wonderful belly rubs. Walks are the very best thing in the whole world, and my favorite people are my new family members: Mama, Christian, Grandpa, and Grandma. I just LOVE you guys!

Forums Motto:
They should've named me Alf

I've Been On Dogster Since:
October 11th 2005 More than 9 years!

Rosette, Star and Special Gift History

Dogster Id:
204087


Meet my family
Jake OrtolanoFargus
Ortolano

Meet my Pup Pals
See all my Pup Pals
See all my Pup Pals
 

Life Off The Streets


I'm going HOME!

October 16th 2005 4:17 pm
[ Leave A Comment ]

Maria came to visit me again today and GUESS WHAT?!? I'm so lovable she couldn't leave without me! She showed up around 11 a.m. to visit for an hour. At 4:00, after much snuggling and a nice walk together, she adopted me!

I can't write much now because I only have a few minutes while foster dad packs up my stuff. I'M GOING TO MY NEW HOME!!! I get to see Christian again tonight, and I get to meet my new grandparents!

Gotta run now! Maria -- I mean "Mama" -- is waiting for me!!!!!!!

Love,
Jelly

 

Making friends, getting FAMILY!

October 13th 2005 9:07 pm
[ Leave A Comment ]

Today I had company! Foster mom's been talking to a nice lady at Rescue-A-SharPei, and she put mom in touch with a family who wanted to meet me. Maria came over tonight with her son Christian and her friend Sherry. At first I was nervous because I didn't know who all the people were and why they were in our yard, but when foster mom brought us all inside, I knew they were friends. I liked the ladies right away. I parked my tushy on their feet and let them rub my back and neck. Every now and then, I'd look over my shoulder with lovey-dovey eyes to let them know how much I appreciated the attention. Even though Christian is a guy (and guys make me kinda nervous), he turned out to be TERRIFIC! I didn't feel comfortable going to him right away. He was so kind and so patient to give me the time and space I needed, so I decided to take a chance and give him a sniff. Boy, am I glad I did! He called me "Jelly Belly! Jelly Belly!" over and oevr, and it was so silly that I just had to give him a big smile and kiss him on his ears! I even "Jelly Rolled" all over for him (all the better for access to the actual Jelly Belly, right?)! It was a great night. I spent the whole evening moving from person to person, being a clown and soaking up the love. We all even went for a walk together!

Foster mom says that soon Maria won't be "Maria" to me anymore; she'll be "Mama." And soon I'll have a big house to run around in with Mama, Christian, and a grandma and grandpa to love all over me! I CAN'T WAIT!!!!!!!!!!

Love,
Jelly

 

My new home

October 12th 2005 1:37 pm
[ Leave A Comment ]

I've been staying with Jake and Fargus for about a week and a half now, and I've got to say, I'm really starting to like this new life of mine. There's a lot to eat (I've already put on a few pounds), nice voices saying my new name all the time, three walks around the neighborhood every day, lots of trips to the yard, GREAT BIG TENNIS BALLS!!!, and belly rubs from foster mom and dad. Did I mention that there's also a lot to eat? I ask because I really, REALLY like getting treats for things like going outside, coming inside when called, and allowing that silly looking lampshade thingy to be put on me for the night. This place is great! I can't believe I was so nervous when I first got here!

Better go now. It seems this family takes an awful lot of naps, so with Jake and Fargus already sawing wood, I'd better curl up for my post-lunch nap, too.

Later, alligators!
Jelly

 
See all diary entries for Jelly