Basil Rathbone


Miniature Bull Terrier
Picture of Basil Rathbone, a male Miniature Bull Terrier

Photo Comments

Home:Minneapolis, MN  
Age: 13 Years   Sex: Male   Weight: 26-50 lbs

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

   Leave a bone for Basil Rathbone

Nicknames:
Mr. Bugersly, Mista Bista,Woooda, Tiny, Booka, Baby Boy, Bastikachini

Doggie Dynamics:
 Energy 
sleepyenergetic
 
 Intelligence 
sillygenius
 
 Friendliness 
aggressiveaffectionate
 
 Playfulness 
not playfulvery playful
 
 Disposition 
anxiouscalm
 

Quick Bio:
-purebred

Birthday:
January 5th 2001

Likes:
Riding in the car! I gaze at the driver googley-eyed in thanks, then I slip my head out for some wind in my face. I sometimes just sit in the car at home for hours if given the opportunity! (First choice activity- even beats food)!

Pet-Peeves:
When other dogs "ride my bumper"... I like to play chase, but ONLY when I'm the chaser. I hate the vaccuum cleaner... I try to protect my family from it, but they don't seem to appreciate it. I do not like to go out in the rain... I'm not a water dog!

Favorite Toy:
A tennis ball is beloved. I can fetch for a long time... if I see where you throw it, of course. I will push it back to you with my nose for another throw!

Favorite Food:
There is nothing I will refuse. A morsel of any people food is to be savored!

Favorite Walk:
I like to walk down town by the lake where I'm sure to see a lot of people who'll notice me and comment on my cuteness. Why bother with the neighborhood- same old, same old. I take breaks at my leisure and do my "soldier crawl" in the grass to cool off.

Best Tricks:
I put myself in a down stay while my family eats... in hopes of a reward. And I'm really good at burrowing myself into bed until no one would guess I'm in there!

Arrival Story:
I was born in Missouri. The breeder hung on to me for my first 5 months in case I'd be a good show dog or something. My family drove to pick me up in Iowa and brought my sister-to-be, Zuzu. She was a 9 year old mini bull and couldn't have guessed what I had in store for her... I was to be top dog... first out the door to the yard...the only beggar for treats. (Zuzu is gone now, and I wish I hadn't been so bossy). I came home to Minnesota with them and was horrified at the freezing cold sleet... weather I had never experienced! It's home sweet home now, though, but I still hate to go out in the snow. I do it because I have to relieve myself, but I REFUSE to go for walks out there. That's Minnesota. I just lay by the heater all winter long when I'm inside.

Bio:
I am a mini bull through and through. I can "hucklebuck" with the best of them. I love it when my family pats a steady rhythm on the floor or claps in pattern... then I dance and twirl and leap and fly around the room as fast as possible. I can do this in a small space. I might do this without any clapping or warning. Watch out for my head... if it hits your shin, it will feel like an anvil! I am adept at standing in the dishwasher to help with a "pre-rinse cycle". I am also the alarm for my family when a train passes in the distance. These are jobs I take seriously, but most of my time is passed rejuvenating myself burrowed into some soft cushion (I just jump down when I'm spotted). I am lucky to have the family I live with. When I was 9 months old, I was diagnosed with OCD and I spun around like a tornado 24/7. No one could reach me. After a couple of years on medication and a lot of work with a behaviorist, my family and I worked it out, but most humans wouldn't have hung in there with me. I am forever grateful. I am proud to say that I am not on any medication now and am a treasured member of my family! Dare I say, I'm cured! I love other dogs... when I meet them I quickly submit and wag and hope they'll sniff me. If I have time to spend with them, that's great... as long as it's on MY terms. I like to "wear the pants" in my relationships, so to speak.

Forums Motto:
Did you say RIDE?

I've Been On Dogster Since:
August 9th 2005 More than 9 years!

Rosette, Star and Special Gift History

Dogster Id:
179445


Meet my family
Francie

Meet my Pup Pals
See all my Pup Pals
See all my Pup Pals