Benjamin the Bengal Tiger


Whippet/Labrador Retriever
Picture of Benjamin the Bengal Tiger, a male Whippet/Labrador Retriever

Photo Comments
Age: 1 Year   Sex: Male   Weight: 11-25 lbs

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

   Leave a bone for Benjamin the Bengal Tiger

Nicknames:
Ben, Ben-jammin, Benj, Ben-Ben, Benji, Mommy's Little Lurcher, Little Tiger

Doggie Dynamics:
 Energy 
sleepyenergetic
 
 Intelligence 
sillygenius
 
 Friendliness 
aggressiveaffectionate
 
 Playfulness 
not playfulvery playful
 
 Disposition 
anxiouscalm
 

Sun Sign:
Quick Bio:
-mutt-pound dog-dog rescue

Gotcha Date:
May 30th 2013

Likes:
Cuddles with Mom and Grandma, babies and children, my friends Bella the dobie and Bruiser the chi, my couch, and Nylabones

Pet-Peeves:
Teething, not being allowed on mom's bed whenever he wants, a short leash, and Mom and I hate it when people call me a "baby pit" because of my brindle. I have met a nice pit bull, but that's like saying my friend Bruiser is a cat b/c she hates baths!

Favorite Toy:
He gets bored easily. At the moment it is his squeaky squirrel from Grandma. Anything from Grandma - she knows the best from being Bella and Bruiser's mom.

Favorite Food:
Anything with fish, especially salmon, wet or dry, and anything Grandma gives me!

Favorite Walk:
Hiking wooded trails with Mom

Best Tricks:
His double suspension gallop, true proof he is a whippet

Arrival Story:
I had been looking for dogs and after many breed match quizzes and research, decided to rescue a whippet. I thought I wanted a female over 1 yr. old, and to not have to deal with puppy training, but I kept inquiring about dogs that had been adopted, and other dogs I met just didn't feel like "my dog." After obsessive checking of Petfinder, Ben one day appeared and I figured at the very least, I'd finally get to see a whippet. Benjamin was calm, but after just about a minute of smelling me, began to lick my fingers and offer kisses, and when I picked him up, he immediately had a happy tail. I knew this little tiger was my baby, and I went out that night, got his tag, crate, treats, and toys, and picked him up the next day.

Bio:
Like me and my 3 brothers, Ben is an Aquarius. For all we know, he could have been born on my birthday, and I'm considering celebrating ours together. In some ways, I can see how maybe it was meant to be that I would end up with another little boy puppy (though he is neutered already, thankfully!). Our second family dog, and my chosen pet, was Cody the golden retriever, who we brought home when I was 13 yo. I had wanted a girl then, too, but none of the girls in his litter survived. He died 3 yrs. ago after a lifetime as an adored family pet and companion first to Lucky, the dalmation (first family dog), and then Bruiser, my mom's chihuahua. I think I have more knowledge and patience for a puppy than I did at 13 yo. (although this time no extra arms to hold him if I need a break), so in honor of Cody I'm going to use this second chance to be a better dog mom and train Ben to do some of the things I didn't or couldn't with Cody (Cody always walked me!).

What's My Breed?:
Mom isn't ready to do any doggie DNA testing on me, but she isn't convinced I am just whippet and lab as they guessed at the shelter. I have shown my whippet traits (cuddles, my baby gallop), but also a few other traits. Mom sees my stubbornness and other physical traits that suggest a Dachshund, and certainly a scenthound as I spend more time smelling the ground than sighting anything (except babies). Somehow I have the webbed paws of a water dog, though! Perhaps one of my parents was a dachshund x lab?

I've Been On Dogster Since:
June 6th 2013 More than 1 year!

Rosette, Star and Special Gift History

Dogster Id:
1297747