Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Washington Animal Rescue League [view the full listing]

71 Oglethorpe Street, NW
Washington, DC 20011
(202) 726-2556

 
5posted: October 6th, 2008

Amazing


I had the pleasure of visiting WARL recently, even though I live 9 hours away. I had heard about their amazing facility and, since I was in the area, I wanted to go see it for myself! Let me tell you, it really is the best animal shelter design ever. It is peaceful to be there, for people and for animals. Natural lighting comes in everywhere. What a wonderful place! Any shelter that needs to renovate their building should really follow WARL's example.

 

Barkstown Dog Daycare And Bout [view the full listing]

915 Baxter Ave
Louisville, KY 40204
(502) 479-8833

 
5posted: May 19th, 2007


Never been there, but we have to give it five paws up for supporting homeless dogs!! Dogs from Metro Animal Services (and maybe from other local shelters? Not sure) get to hang out at Barkstown for some fun socialization while they wait for furever! That's so much better than sitting in a shelter! GO BARKSTOWN!!

 

Dogster HQ [view the full listing]

De Haro St and 18th St
San Francisco, CA 94115

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007


We owe HQ soooo much for startin' Dogster and making it the best dog community ever ever ever! :)

 

E.P. Tom Sawyer Dog Park [view the full listing]

3000 Freys Hill Road
Louisville, KY 40241

 
4posted: February 22nd, 2007


We have not participated in the dog park yet, but we would love to! The \"people park\" is a very nice place to walk dogs as it is clean and expansive. SO many nooks to explore at this park. My only complaint is that sometimes dogs are off leash, especially on the wooded nature trails. It\'s unnerving for both people and other dogs to turn a corner on the trails and almost smack into a dog who\'s owner doesn\'t show up until half a minute later. Out in the open areas of the park, some dogs are sometimes offleash but that has not posed a problem to us yet, and we see many more leashed dogs than not. We just stick off of the trails because our experiences have not been very good on them! If you have a sociable, unflappable dog, I bet you\'d be fine. :)

 

Shiverly Animal Clinic Inc [view the full listing]

2401 Dixie Hwy
Louisville, KY 40216
(502) 778-8317

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007


We've heard many great reviews about Shively Animal Clinic -- it is a bit far from us, but I've heard of people traveling farther than we would have to just to get great vet care! I hear the only downside is the waiting, but most people must think it is worth it. This is definitely, paws down, the most recommended vet clinic that I've ever heard of. Even people from Southern Indiana come across the river just to take their dogs there!!

 

Alley Cat Advocates [view the full listing]

3020 Bardstown Rd
Louisville, KY 40205

 
5posted: February 6th, 2007

Paws up!


They do a GREAT job at decreasing the feral cat population while educating the public at the same time.

 

Feeders Supply [view the full listing]

9486 Brownsboro Rd
Louisville, KY 40241
(502) 326-940

 
5posted: February 6th, 2007

Two paws up!


Feeders Supply has a lot to offer! A great place for fish supplies, small animal supplies, etc. The Kentucky Humane Society uses Feeders stores as permanent satellite adoption facilities. Depending on which location you go to, you can also find training classes, self-wash facilities, extensive aquarium supplies, etc.!

 

Minirosa Kennels [view the full listing]

5225 Bardstown Rd
Louisville, KY 40291
(502) 499-1910

 
4posted: February 6th, 2007

Cool!


Minirosa Kennels is with the Kentucky Humane Society. I *think* some of their proceeds go right to KHS. In any case, they have daycare and boarding services. When we were asking around about doggie daycares, we were most impressed with the standards that Minirosa had for regulating it's daycare. The boarding kennels are very clean and cozy. It's a very impressive facility. Last time we were there checking it out, I don't think it had an outdoor exercise area. That would be one addition I would love to see!

 

Louisville Metro Animal Services [view the full listing]

3705 Manslick Road
Louisville, KY 40215
(502) 361-1318

 
5edited: March 22nd, 2007


Everyone at MAS works so hard to make a difference in the dog community. They have really grown and are making big strides! We feel so good volunteering there and being a part of helping them create their own sturdy foundation.

posted: February 6th, 2007

 

Super Dog Sports Center [view the full listing]

148 Citizens Boulevard
Simpsonville, KY 40067
(502) 722-8246

 
5posted: February 6th, 2007

Fun!


How exciting are they! We have not actually taken classes from them, but have seen them at local doggie events. Their dogs always look so happy and are very good at what they do. One of these days I want to take "real" agility classes here. They also have held events at their facility, such as canine CPR classes!

 

Plantation Animal Clinic [view the full listing]

8702 Bayberry Pl
Louisville, KY 40242
(502) 426-1016

 
5edited: April 14th, 2007

Pawsome!


We love Plantation Animal clinic -- very friendly & knowledgeable staff. It's also a smaller clinic so you have a better opportunity to develop a working relationship with everyone. They also keep it real and are not in it solely for the money.

posted: February 6th, 2007