Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Sharp Animal Hospital [view the full listing]

32590 Groesbeck Hwy
Fraser, MI 48026
(586) 293-4020

 
4posted: November 30th, 2007

Great vets!


They provide great quality of care and have awesome vets and staff. The only complaint people had about them was that their prices seemed a bit high compared to other clinics in the area. But if you're happy with the care, then the price is merely a secondary concern.

 

Animal Welfare Society of Southeastern Michigan [view the full listing]

27796 John R Road
Madison Heights, MI 48071
(248) 548-1150

 
5posted: October 3rd, 2007


Great people with big hearts!

 

All About Animals [view the full listing]

23451 Pinewood
Warren, MI 48091
(586) 879-1745

 
4posted: October 2nd, 2007

Cool group :)


When mom worked at a vet, sometimes we'd see some of their fosters for treatment. The people are very nice and friendly.

 

PetCo [view the full listing]

2243 East 12 Mile Road
Warren, MI 48092, MI 48092
(586) 558-6810

 
3posted: October 1st, 2007

Pricey


It's been a while since I've been in this store, simply because the prices are so much higher on everything than other stores in the area. Just not all that excited about them really ...

 

Care Center [view the full listing]

657 E Chicago Rd
Coldwater, MI 49036
(517) 278-5631

 
5posted: August 31st, 2007

Great vet!!


Very late one evening, my Great Dane brother, Mack bloated. We were out in the middle of nowhere, and after calling 911 we were put in touch with the vet at the Care Center. At 1am, he met us at the clinic to perform the life saving operation for my buddy. We had never been there before, since we're from out of town. He was most excellent. Very kind and extremely knowledgable! Thanks for saving my brother's life!!

 

Tarnished Angels Professional Dog Grooming [view the full listing]

19405 10 Mile Road
Roseville, MI 48066
(586) 772-2443

 
5posted: August 19th, 2007

Great work!!


This groomer does a lot of work with our rescue pups! They do an awesome job at getting those abandoned pups looking their best for adoption day!!

 

Mound Road Veterinary Hospital [view the full listing]

35777 Mound Rd
Sterling Heights, MI 48310
(586) 939-7190

 
2posted: August 8th, 2007


I don't like making negative posts.. but there is something \'off\' about this clinic. I can possibly direct you to a better place if you are looking for a good clinic in the area.

 

petsmart [view the full listing]

 
5posted: August 7th, 2007


Great place to go for all your pets' needs! I do wish they carried Canidae though...

 

Pet Supplies "Plus" [view the full listing]

30123 Harper Avenue
St. Clair Shores, MI 48082
(158) 677-132

 
4posted: August 7th, 2007


I used to be all about this store before Petsmart came into being. I stopped going to PSP for a while, and went to K9 and PetSmart. But PSP is close to me, very convenient and it actually has the Canidae which PetSmart doesn't. The prices are pretty reasonable and most of the time they have what you need. I don't like their location being so close to the road. That is in my opinion begging for an accident with pups coming into and out of the store. Roswell almost had an issue one time with it. I don't take him there anymore...

 

Macomb County Animal Shelter [view the full listing]

21417 Dunham Rd
Clinton Township, MI 48036
(586) 469-5115

 
3posted: August 7th, 2007


It took them a while for them to come out when there was an abandoned dog at the dog park. Some of the staff seemed really nice and others not so much. But if you see them, tell them I'm looking for a job there :).

 

Patterson Veterinary Hosp Pc [view the full listing]

35115 Harper Ave
Clinton Township, MI 48035
(586) 791-6260

 
5posted: August 7th, 2007

Quality care


Patterson's is a great clinic in the area, with many happy customers. They provide a high level of care. Working at the emergency clinic nearby, the patients that were presented to us always had good things to say about Patterson and there was never any problems transferring them back there for continued care. Several friends use them and are very satisfied with their services.

 

Animal Med Srgcal Crtical Care [view the full listing]

22921 E 14 Mile Rd
Clinton Township, MI 48035
(586) 792-9361

 
1edited: May 27th, 2007


I just would caution that people should please research your vet before going here... I won't get into it here, but if you have questions please feel fre to pmail me. I might be able to help point you in the direction that would be more beneficial. I do have experience with many vets in the area, and can possibly help find one that suits you best.

posted: February 28th, 2007

 

Grosse Pointe Animal Adoption Society [view the full listing]

296 Chalfonte Ave
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI 48236
(313) 884-1551

 
5posted: February 28th, 2007


This is one of the best and most orgnaized rescue groups I have the pleasure of working with. They do have a policy against pitbulls though.. sorry... They were helpful in finding a dog for my Great Uncle. When he needed nursing care, GPAAS did not give me any hassle about returning the dog and was able to place her into a new loving home within a week. They are very helpful and do a great service for the community.

 

Lous Pet Shop [view the full listing]

20741 Mack Avenue
Grosse Pointe, MI 48236
(313) 885-1560

 
5posted: February 28th, 2007


Aw, this is where my parakeet brother, Essex came from. Our trainer also recommended this place for natural foods/treats. Its been a while since I've been there, but the owners are friendly and knowledgable.

 

Doggie Doo Pickup & Removal [view the full listing]

37711 Lakeshore Dr
Harrison Township, MI 48045
(586) 469-1308

 
5posted: February 28th, 2007


Man, you really gotta admire anyone that is willing to do this for a living :). Keep up the great work guys!

 

Stony Creek Metro Park [view the full listing]

4300 Main Park Road
Shelby Township, MI 48316

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007


I love going here with my mom! There is a nice mountain bike trail that we can hike on that goes through the woods. It's very peaceful there. On those hot summer days, I like to go swimming in the creek. It is an on-leash park with no areas specifically designated for dogs, but dogs can go almost anywhere excet to one of the beaches. But fear not, there is a lot of water there you can still swim in and a dog can have a lot of fun off of the beach.

 

Gibraltor Trade Center [view the full listing]

237 N River Rd
Mt. Clemens, MI 48043

 
1posted: February 27th, 2007


Oh, man.. Another one that gets a horrible review from me! Sorry guys, but this place is terrible. Half the puppies coming out of there are sick and who knows where they even came from. Gibraltor is dirty in and of itself, so I don't know how this place could be expected to be any different. I would stay far away from it if I were you.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Family of Pets [view the full listing]

32457 Gratiot Ave
Roseville, MI 48066

 
1posted: February 27th, 2007


Their web site says they don't get their puppies from puppy mills... They get them from reputable breeders. I highly doubt this. Their puppies are often housed in dirty kennels with no water. And the staff can not give you any information on where the dogs came from .. The only thing they are interested in is making the sucker-buy sale, so I'm not sure why the website says they are simply interested in helping to inform people and help them pick the right dog. Just doesn't ring true. I never step foot into the store anymore, and when my friend does, it is to point out everything that is wrong with what they're doing. I could tell several horror stories of pets brought into our clinic from there after people bought them. Feel free to message me if you want the details.

 

Best Friends Dog Training-Shirley Julin [view the full listing]

18185 Sycamore St
Roseville, MI 48066
(248) 393-069

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007


My step sister went here with my mom and they thought Shirley was awesome. She offered simple solutions to everyday problems. Many other people I know have used her training classes with great results.

 

Southern Michigan Obedience Training CLub [view the full listing]

27500 Cosgrove
Warren, MI 48091

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007


These classes were so much fun! I went here for my puppy. The puppy class had puppy play time at the end where we all got to run around and act crazy together for socialization. The part I didn't like about the class was the 'pass the puppy' part. We were handed from one person to the next while they sat on the floor in a circle. I couldn't bear to be separated from my mom and see her holding another dog. I went berzerk! I was a huge embarassment to my mom... I think it was a good exercise, I just was terrible at it...

 

Canine Community Center [view the full listing]

1930 Tobsal
Warren, MI 48091
(586) 758-0440

 
4posted: February 27th, 2007


I received most of my training from basic obedience through CGC here. The instructors were evry knowledgable and helpful. They did use treats and other positive methods, but they weren\'t opposed to using pinch or choke collars. So if you\'re looking for a place that doesn\'t use these, I wouldn\'t go here. I think they did a great job thouhg.

 

Dapper Dog Wash [view the full listing]

28401 Harper Ave
Saint Clair Shores, MI 48081
(586) 779-9010

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007


Nice place to go for friendly, helpful self-service dog washing. It beats getting the house messy! They were also very nice and understanding when my friend's dog wreaked havoc there and pulled one of the restraints out of the wall...

 

Canine Workshop [view the full listing]

36339 Groesbeck Hwy
Clinton Township, MI 48035
(586) 792-8533

 
3posted: February 27th, 2007

Not too impressed


:(. I went here once to join a class for Advanced obedience. Mom had called and explained to them that I really probably should be in beginners, even though I had already done that and more. They said I would be bored in beginners, so I came down to try out the advanced. When I got there, the gym was incredibly over-packed with 'students'. The class was very large and there was little room to move and not enough instructors for individual attention. I ended up being dragged around the gym and dragging my mom for most of the time because the trainers were not assisting in any way. It was quite obvious that I was not at the same level some of the dogs there were, and mom tried to tell these people this when she was signing up, but they weren't listening. Mom should have just walked out, but she thought she'd give it a try. They were having me do things my mom told them I was not prepared to do (cross the gym off leash on a recall) and just not being very helpful. We stayed after that class to see if the agility class would be any better. It wasn't. They again gave no direction on what to do. We just were told to try out the obstacles. That didn't seem to be a very good idea for someone that has never been introduced to them and it could have potentially been dangerous. I got all tangled up in the wires that were holding the weave poles together, and they didn't even come over or act concerned. It's too bad things didn't work out. The location was ideal and the time worked out great too. But I vomited and had stress-diarrhea after the class because I was so worked up being there, dragging my mom around the gym and being choked. This has never happened before or since with other classes that I have been to.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Best Friends Kamber Kennels [view the full listing]

33711 Harper Ave
Clinton Township, MI 48035
(586) 792-3000

 
5edited: February 27th, 2007

Quick acting staff members


Although I haven't boarded here... I wanted to say that the kennel staff is very observant and quick to act when there is a problem. Mom has seen a few of their clients that have gotten sick for whatever reason while in their care, and the kennel staff has always been right on top of getting treatment for them whenever it is needed and staying in contact with the owners. They're awesome!

posted: February 27th, 2007

 

PetSmart [view the full listing]

20530 Thirteen Mile Rd
Roseville, MI 48066

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007


I like going here to get all my food and some toys. Mom likes it because she can get all of her shopping for us fur kids in one place. I like it because I get to go with her and I get treats!

 

Balduck Park [view the full listing]

Chandler Park Drive
Grosse Pointe, MI 48236

 
5posted: February 26th, 2007

Party Time!


The field is very large and open. I went here for a doggie party for a group of pups that had been adopted and were turning a year old. IT was a fun reunion :).

 

Clinton Township Dog Park [view the full listing]

40700 Romeo Plank
Clinton Township, MI 48038

 
5posted: February 26th, 2007


A ton of fun! Maybe I'll see you guys there sometime!

 

Dogster HQ [view the full listing]

De Haro St and 18th St
San Francisco, CA 94115

 
5posted: February 26th, 2007


You guys are the absolute bestest out there! Keep up the great work :)

 

East Suburbs Pet Emergencies [view the full listing]

20112 Harper Ave
Harper Woods, MI 48225
(313) 881-6200

 
1edited: May 18th, 2007


They *were* pawsome... but now... well... they aren't open any longer. They might reopen as some other incarnation of the wonderful place they used to be, but it just won't be the same. How truly sad, since it was a great service they provided.

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

K-9 Specialities [view the full listing]

31936 Mound Road
Warren, MI 48092
(586) 939-5960

 
4posted: February 15th, 2007


This place has some great, hard to find supplies, food, and treats. The prices there are very reasonable, especially for things like toys, leashes and training equipment. The Haltis were at least half the price of PetSmart and other stores. They also carry all sorts of premium food, so those looking for that sort of thing can easily find it. I do have a couple complaints about the store though. One is that it just seems dirty or grimy to me. Also, the staff could be a little more helpful and friendly. Sometimes they can be hard to track down or seem like they wish they weren't there.

 

Behnke Memorial Dog Park [view the full listing]

300 N. Groesbeck Highway
Mt. Clemens, MI 48043

 
5edited: February 28th, 2007

Play time!


I love going here to play with all my friends! I guess some would say it's a little small, but I think it's a great size and a good place to meet dogs and people. It's free too, which is a bonus :). Around Halloween they have a costume contest for the pups. There are a couple really great people there that make the park a safe, clean, fun place to go to.

posted: February 13th, 2007

1 pet found this review helpful