Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Country Memories [view the full listing]

2180 McCulloch Blvd
Lake Havasu City, AZ 86403
(928) 680-0655

 
5posted: December 24th, 2007

A really old-fashioned place


This is a furbulous place to shop if you love cats and dogs, and old-fashioned things. They have the most wonderful selection of stuffed animals in old Victorian outfits. This is a great place for people who are collectors of unusual cat or dog memorabilia. The aisles are a bit tight in places and can be challenging if you have a wheelchair but the staff is helpful. I had to work a bit harder to maneuver mommy around displays, but what a selection of things we discovered in the process. If you are in the area, this is worth checking out.

 

London Bridge Candle Factory [view the full listing]

107 English Village
Lake Havasu City, AZ 86403
(928) 855-9097

 
4posted: December 24th, 2007

Unusual gifts for pet lovers


This shop has so much more than candles. They do specialize in candles, and there is an extensive selection of dog and cat candles...and often you can watch candles being made on site. There is also etched glassware gifts and the cutest blankies and pillows. I have a puppy with a blankie attached that love to cuddle with, and we got cat blankies for our kitties. This is a really fun place to browse and service dogs are welcome here.

 

Abuelos [view the full listing]

16092 N. Arrowhead Fountain Center Dr.
Peoria, AZ 85382
(623) 878-8282

 
4posted: November 17th, 2007

Very accommodating for service dogs


I enjoy taking my mommy out to eat here. The floors are clean, which means that I do not have to sit in crumbs. They have some larger tables that are out of the way and always see that we get one of those...this way I can climb comfortably under the table and relax while mommy eats. The food is good, the music is not too loud. The staff is very helpful. We have been here several times and I would not hesitate to take mommy here again.

 

Mervyn's [view the full listing]

7700 W. Arrowhead Towne Center
Glendale, AZ 85308
(623) 979-7720

 
4posted: November 17th, 2007

Great for pet lovers and for service dogs!


This store has a really nice selection of cat and dog theme accessories. Downstairs they have an array of decorative pins with cats and dogs in the jewelry section. They have backpacks, andbags for children in the shape of cats and dogs. They have a great selection of adult pajamas, and bathroom accessories with cats and dogs. Upstairs in the bedding section there is a lot of Hello Kitty bedroom accents inc. blankets, phones. clocks, waste baskets, etc. The children's cloting section has a great selection of adorable clothes with cats and dogs on them. A veritable petlovers paradise. The aisles are wde and easy to navigate for those in a wheelchair and/or with a service dog. Mommy and I are able to get around and reach things wtihout any problems. When I was in training the staff were always friendly and helpful. A big paws up to this store.

 

Whiskeres [view the full listing]

849 W. Harbor Dr.
San Diego, CA 92101
(619) 234-6300

 
4posted: November 14th, 2007

If you love cats...


Strange review for a dog to write...but I do love my kitties too! This store sells ONLY cat stuff...and you can find very unque items here. It is a quaint little store located in Seaport Village in the tourist disitrict. Positives...it is a lot of fun to browse and you can find nice things. We found a lot of office/desk items here. Down side, really hard- almost impossible with a wheelchair due to inclines, bumps and tight spaces. It would be a tight fit for mommy and I together.

 

Mimi's Restaurant and Cafe [view the full listing]

7450 W. Bell Rd.
Glendale, AZ 85308
(623) 979-4500

 
3posted: November 14th, 2007

Not very accessible for people with service dogs


The food is good here, but if you arrive with a service dog you can expect some difficulties. The seating is tightly packed and there are a lot of booths. Since Emma wears a harness it is hard for her to get under the booth without the handle of the harness getting caught on the table. Since the spaces are tight, under the tables is not adequately swept and poor Emma was sitting in crumbs, which we swept aside with our feet as best we could. There is no place to sit where she can really get comfortable. Another customer arrived wtih a walker, and the place was so cramped they told her to leave her walked up front because it would not fit!!!! Definitely not a good situation. We will not be going back here again.

 

Barnes and Noble [view the full listing]

7685 W. Bell Rd.
Peoria, AZ 85382
(623) 487-9022

 
5posted: November 14th, 2007

I could get lost in here!!!


We love this store! There are books on every subject to do wit hpets. even cookbooks for pet treats! Grooming, first aid, dictionaries on breeds, etc. There are also stuffed toys, stationary and cards and bookmarks with cats and dogs. The best thing we ever got there is a audiotape of something called "Songs of the cat" and it was so funny we almost split our sides when we listened. If you have a hard to buy pet lover on your list, this is a great place to start. Our only criticism is that there are NO Braille books here.

 

Ross Dress for Less [view the full listing]

7655 W. Bell Rd.
Peoria, AZ 85382
(623) 486-9311

 
4posted: November 14th, 2007

Don't let the name fool you...


There are all sorts of neat things for the pet lover to be found here. They have a home section in teh back of each store, and we have found cat and dog ceramic dishes and gifts each year. We have placemats and napkins with holiday pets, napkin holders, cat and dog trivets, teapots and all sorts of items. We even got some large serving dishes and platters wtih cats and dogs at great prices. There are even bath towels and kitchen towels with cats and dogs. It is seasonal so you have to check periodically, but if you do so you will uncover some neat items at bargain prices.

 

Recollections [view the full listing]

7608 W. Bell Rd.
Glendale, AZ 85308
(623) 486-1717

 
5posted: November 14th, 2007

Attention pet lovers- this store has it all!


I have my own scrapbook and this is just my favorite place to take mommy when I need supplies. They have an entire section set aside for cat and dog stuff. Specialty papers, pawprint and bone hole punches, embellisments for pages, lettering and pet sayings...etc. I even have a special scrapbook with a cover that was designed for dogs. If you love pets and love to scrapbook, check this place out.

 

Dillards [view the full listing]

7700 W Arrowhead Towne Center
Glendale, AZ 85308
(623) 979-1128

 
4posted: November 14th, 2007

Looking for that perfect gift for mommy and daddy?


You can get some really cool gifts here. Each year they put out some cat and dog theme holiday sweaters, better quality. They also have a section of stuffed toys with singing cats and dogs...we found some cool things. The glassware section upstairs has some nice cat and dog Christmas ornaments and glassware. This is a place to come when you have the time to really look around. They also avhe some Lenox and Winterbaby ornaments with cats and dogs. The aisles are wide and te staff is elpful when mommy and I show up. They never fuss about service dogs, and in fact I used to go there a lot when I was still in training.

 

JC Penney 7700 W. Arrowhead Towne Center [view the full listing]

7700 W. Arrowhead Towne Center
Glendale, AZ 85308
(623) 412-1121

 
4posted: November 14th, 2007

Do you like to get cozy and cuddle in the evening?


This store has a great selection of flannel nightwear, bathrobes and character slippers and socks with cat and dog prints on them. What a great way to show your cat and/or dog they are loved than to slip on some comfy pet design wear and cuddle with them on the sofa. The Home Store also sells a variety of pet giftwear. Mommy and I found me a nice travel bag there last year at a great price. This store welcomes service dogs. The aisles are spacious and easy to navigate and the staff is helpful.

 

Sees Candies [view the full listing]

7700 W. Arrowhead Towne Center
Glendale, AZ 85308
(623) 773-2182

 
3posted: November 13th, 2007

Need a fundraising suggestion?


At Easter each year we work with the store for fundraising for the obedience program. Listen up doggies out there...if your school or shelter needs money this is a possibility. The cocolates are pretty yummy for humans, but never feed chocolate to us dogs and cats!

 

Kitchen Gourmet [view the full listing]

7700 W Arrowhead Towne Center
Glendale, AZ 85308
(623) 412-8177

 
4posted: November 13th, 2007

Nice cat and dog ceramics


We have built a nice set over the years of cat and dog ceramics. Mugs, cake plates, bowls, etc. No dinner plates to match though. There are cat and dog tea pots, salt and pepper shakers and more. Bakeware shaped as dogs and cats, door stops, drain stoppers, and the list goes on. I found a nice tempered glass cutting board with a calico cat there. Mommy even has a collection of cat and dog teapots and cookie jars from here. A fun place to shop for the cat and dog lover on your gift list. A bit cramped and at times difficult for me as a service dog to negotiate with my mommy. This would be difficult for a person in a wheelchair to manage alone.

 

Christopher and Banks [view the full listing]

7700 W Arrowhead Towne Cetner
Glendale, AZ 85308
(623) 979-7589

 
4posted: November 13th, 2007

For animal lovers


You can find some nice clothes here that are suitable for work or for casual wear. I have had particular luck with cat design sweaters, jackets, shirts and jumpers. as a teacher these are very suitable for work. I have had less luck with doggie designs but sometimes it is just hit or miss. It is a bit cramped in spots and a tight fit for mommy and I, but the staff always seems willing to help out as needed.

 

Things Remembered [view the full listing]

7700 w. Arrowhead Towne Center
Glendale, AZ 85308
(623) 979-4999

 
3posted: November 13th, 2007

For the pampered pet...


Mommy has gotten us some nice things ere each year. We have the kitty treat jar that she had engraved. We got the diner bowl set for pets with the names on them. We also have nice kitty and puppy Christmas ornaments for the tree with our names engraved on them. Another thing you can do is bring in a favorite photo of your precious pet and have them put it on a throw blanket...those special orders must be done several weeks in advance. This is a fun way to let your pet know how special they are! The store is small, but is laid out so that an individual with a service dog can navigate through without trouble.

 

The Disney Store [view the full listing]

7700 W. ARrowhead Towne Center
Glendale, AZ 85308
(623) 486-1077

 
4posted: November 13th, 2007

The best selection of Disney trinkets.


This entire store is devoted to Disney characters. Clothing, toys and gift items that are hard to find in other places. We have found stuffed toys as gifts for the kitties and pup of the Aristocats, Lady and the Tramp, etc. They have a decent selection of mugs. Our criticism would be that the corners are tight and almost impossible to navigate in a wheelchair. It is sometimes diffciult for me to navigate my mommy through there even with just her and I, because I need to walk besides her to balance her...and it can get cramped in spots. If you are faced wit pysical callenges you will most likely need to have an able-bodied person shopping with you to manage here.

 

Build-a-bear Workshop [view the full listing]

7700 W. Arrowhead Towne Center
Glendale, AZ 85308
(623) 773-3964

 
5posted: November 13th, 2007

This is a fun place for pet lovers!


Though the name is Build-a-Bear...you can build so much more than just bears. We have cats, leopard, tiger, lion and all sorts of dogs that we have built there. This is also a great place to shop for accessories for the special pet in your life. We have found the most darling tiaras, handbags, hats and such for the kitties. You can stuff your new animal and outfit them from the tips of their ears to the tips of their tails. A great pick me up for kids of fall ages! The aisles are wide and it is easy to navigate with a wheelcair or a service dog.

 

Kitchen Collection [view the full listing]

4250 W. Anthem Way #820
Phoenix, AZ 85086
(623) 465-7563

 
4posted: November 12th, 2007

Looking for unusual kitchen items???


We have been able to find some unique items at this store. Dog and cat trivets, dog and cat towels, kitty bakeware, gadgets, mulling spices, etc. The prices are better than department stores and this was a great place when my human brother was setting up his first apartment. We also find great stocking stuffers here each year. At the very least, this is a fun place to stop and browse through.

 

Auntie Anne's Pretzels [view the full listing]

4250 W. Anthem Way #F90
Phoenix, AZ 85086
(623) 742-6463

 
5posted: November 12th, 2007

Pretzel Perfection!


These are my favorite pretzels in the world. When we come up here, I am always on my best behavior so that mommy will stop and get me a soft pretzel. They come in many flavors, but mommy always gets me a plain one with a little salt. We love to sit outside and eat them. They are always soft and warm...freshly made. We have never had a bad one in the batch! If you love pretzels then you must try these.

 

Big Dog Sportswear [view the full listing]

4250 W. Anthem Way #620
Phoenix, AZ 85086
(623) 465-7562

 
3posted: November 12th, 2007

If you love dogs...


Then you may enjoy looking around here. It is a bit pricy but there are some unique items. Some of the shirts are a bit racey for my taste, but most of those are the "guy" stuff. There are some warm and fuzzy stuff for kids and mommies, and some doggie toys. This is a clothing store for the most part. You can find some decent prices on the clearance racks.

 

Hartstrings Children's Clothing [view the full listing]

4250 W. Anthem Way #770
Phoenix, AZ 85086
(623) 465-9535

 
4posted: November 11th, 2007

Animal themed outfits for children


Best to start them out on the right foot, loving animals, while they are small! We found the most darling outdfits for our nieces here last few years. Lots of matcing pieces...one year we bought all the pieces with cats on them. Skirts, skorts, jumper, slacks, sweaters , tees and turtlenecks. Even coats, hair ties, socks and handbars that matched. Another year we bought an entire ensemble with dogs for them to mix and match. The clothes are a bit pricy but they are sturdy and wash well. If you are looking to hand down clothing from one sibling to the next, these will wear well. And the selection is wonderful...and the clothes are darling and a real cut above anything you will find in a department store.

 

Mikasa [view the full listing]

4250 W. Anthem Way #890
Phoenix, AZ 85086
(623) 465-9334

 
5posted: November 11th, 2007

Pet Lovers Paradise!


We love to shop here around the holidays because this store has a good selection of decorative tableware and giftware for the holidays. We found a great selection of items such as Santa by the fireplace with a dog, kitties in stockings, cat and dog ornaments, etc. For our family, this was a quick stop to get something special for the pet lovers in our family. We love this because you can add to the sets over the years as they come out with new pieces.

 

Lenox Outlet [view the full listing]

4250 W. Anthem Way #520
Phoenix, AZ 85086
(623) 742-7484

 
4posted: November 11th, 2007

Check out the collection of cat items.


This store sells fine Lenox collectibles at prices below that of department stores. They have a glass display case set up with Lenox cats, and I always take my mommy to see them whenever we are there. They also have a good selection of Christmas ornaments and tabletop decorations that have cats and dogs. You can find some wonderful items for home or for gifts here.

 

Target Superstore [view the full listing]

24890 N. Lake Pleasant Rd.
Peoria, AZ 85383
(623) 376-7300

 
5posted: November 11th, 2007

A great shopping experience for service dogs and their parents


This store is easy to navigate around, clean and well stocked. Te aisles are wide and it was not over-crowded. They have a large pet supply section and a good assortment of bedding and toys. They even had pink tennis balls in the sporting good section! The Christmas section had a good selection of cat and dog themed cards and ornaments. They even had cat and dog angel ornaments! Throughout the store...toys. clothes, etc, they had a good selection of merchandise that would appeal to pet lovers. We had a great time shopping there today and I will surely take my mommy there again.

 

Chilis [view the full listing]

10040 W. Happy Valley Rd.
Peoria, AZ 85382
(623) 572-0107

 
4posted: November 11th, 2007

Service Dog Friendly


This casual dining restaurant is accessible and friendly for service dogs. Today my mommy and I went there for lunch, and we were shown to a large comfortable table. When they needed to seat a large group next to us...they even helped move our table over just a bit first so that I would have extra room. The floors were clean, which I appreciate because I can't stand having to lay down in crumbs. The aisles were spacious and the restrooms were accessible and clean. I would take my mommy there again.

 

Sprouts [view the full listing]

8375 W. Thunderbird Rd.
Peoria, AZ 85381
(623) 334-1111

 
4posted: November 10th, 2007

Organic Dog Treats available here


This is a nice Farmers Market with a good selection. As a service dog, the wide aisles make it easy for mommy and I to shop. They have some organic doggie cookies and otehr treats. We get organic peanut butter here that mommy puts on bananas and apples as a treat for me. With all the problems with food recalls, natural treats are a healthy alternative. We can aso find carob chips here that mommy uses to make homemade treats for me. This is a nice place to shop.

 

Chompies Deli [view the full listing]

3202 E. Greenway Rd.
Phoenix, AZ 85032
(602) 971-8010

 
2posted: November 10th, 2007

Service dog tolerant (just barely)


I give this two paws for having the best bagels in AZ, but the service is not very good, at least for us. The service got a zero! Being a service dog, I notice that some businesses are good with mommy and I, and others are not. This one was not. They grudgingly told mommy where the bathroom was. We waited ona long line and they seemed to be unconcerned with her difficult standing in a long line. Wen we got up to the counter she had to repeat the order several times, and even then the young fellow got the order all wrong. When mommy informed him that the order was all wrong, he replied, "Oh, that's ok. It happens sometimes" and went about his business! She had to call him back. Finally they fixed up the mess, but it was really frustrating.

 

Chevy's Fresh Mex Restaurant [view the full listing]

7700 W Arrowhead Towne Cetner
Glendale, AZ 85308
(623) 979-0055

 
5posted: November 10th, 2007

Service dog friendly restaurant


We dined there recently with another service dog team. The staff was wonderful and found us a large table with lots of room for the dogs to rest underneath it. The music was not too loud, the floors were clean. The service was excellent, and the food was quite good. The waiter even asked if there was anything special we needed to accommodate our dogs. I would definitely go there again.

 

Cabela's Outdoor Sporting Store [view the full listing]

9380 W. Glendale ave
Glendale, AZ 85305
(623) 872-6700

 
5posted: September 6th, 2007

Great for certified service dogs or advanced SDIT's


We went here on a field trip with school late in our training. What a fabulous experience it was. There were elaborate areas with beautiful taxidermy displays. The scenes were life-like. This is a store with TONS of sensory stimulation and for a younger dog who is earlier on in their training I think that it would be too much. You will want to wait until later in the training to take your dog here, and then it will be an enjoyable experience. I learned so much that day about how to act when I see new animals, and how to navigate through crowded areas. And- mommy found some really neat stuff too!

 

Office Max [view the full listing]

13722 W. Bell Rd.
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 584-6211

 
5posted: September 6th, 2007

Ample room for wheelchairs and service dogs


This is a clean, spacious and well stocked store. The aisles are not cramped and one could easily navigate through the store with a wheelchair and a service dog. When we arrived a clerk who was stocking a display put aside his work and offered to come with us to help us shop. Many of the items we needed were on higher shelves so this was a big help. None of the staff did anything to pose a distraction while we worked. This would have been a great store to come to more often when I ad still been training as I would have been able to work on my tasks with no disruption. The staff was very accepting of me and made us understand that we were BOTH welcome there. I will definitely take my mommy here again.

 

Best Buy [view the full listing]

13711 W. Bell Rd.
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 546-3108

 
5posted: September 6th, 2007

Great for individuals with disabilities and service dogs


This store is not just accepting of service dogs like most businesses are...they seem to go out of their way to be helpful when I was there recently. I took mommy there for a computer monitor and a keyboard. Her disabilities necessitate that she has some special equipment. The sales associate mixed and matched components to create a good package for her. He did not leave her alone to shop and never let her do any lifting. He made certain that she was not left standing at a counter as this is hard for her. They even went out to the car with her to carry the items. Oh- I know that most places do this if you ask, but she did not have to ask...they offered. The associate even made a statement that he knew the rules about service dogs and would not ask to pet me. When some children tried to swoop down, he gently told them no and explained to them about what working dogs do! Yay for him. This was a pleasant shopping experience.

 

Panda Express [view the full listing]

13732 W. Bell Rd. Ste 16
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 556-4969

 
1posted: September 6th, 2007

Uneducated regarding service dogs and the law


I took mommy here once to eat while we were out in town. We were offered no assistance in getting to a table with the tray, nor assistance in finding a table as this is a "seat yourself" place. I had my vest on, and despite this one of the managers approached mommy and simply said, "You have to take that dog out of here"!!! Geez, she did not even ask "Is this a service dog" or anything appropriate. Mommy looked back at her and said "This is a certified service dog and she is allowed to accompany me as per the ADA Law". The manager just turned and walked away and did not say anything after that. Not even an apology or acknowledgement of what mommy had said. Boy- it takes all types!

 

Valle Luna Mexican Restaurant [view the full listing]

3336 W. Bell Rd.
Phoenix, AZ 85053
(602) 993-3108

 
5posted: September 6th, 2007

Wonderful with service dogs


We went here because the restaurant generously donated a gift certificate to our service dog program for our annual holiday party last December. When we arrived at the restaurant to use the certificate, we were treated like celebrities!!!! We were shown to a nice table and given any assistance we needed. The manager even came over to meet me and ask how I was doing with my training. The food was great and so was the service, and we would definitely go here if we were ever in this area again. This restaurant apparently has made a habit of donating to local groups at holiday time...they truly exemplify the spirit of good will.

 

Target [view the full listing]

13731 W. Bell Rd.
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 975-4122

 
4posted: September 5th, 2007

Service dog friendly


This store has wide aisles and it is easy to navigate with a service dog or a wheelchair...or both as is sometimes the case with us. There is a small pet section but in my experience it is not that well stocked. They have a limited number of brands of food and some toys...limited bedding. When I was still in training we got stopped frequently at the door and asked if I was a service dog, and that is appropriate. One of the downfalls here is that the staff appears very young and do not seem to fully understand the rules. We never seem to be able to get down 2 aisles without someone stopping us to ask a bunch of questions...out of curiosity, not necessity. The staff frequently asks to pet me and mommy always has to stop and say no and explain why not. Sometimes they just swoop down and start to call to me or try to pet me from behind while I am working and mommy has to explain about distractions. By the time she is explaining this to the 10th person (most of them staff), you can just imagine how exhausted she is from this. The store is clean and well stocked, and with some staff training this would be a really nice shopping experience.

 

JC Penney 7750 W. Arrowhead Towne Ctr. [view the full listing]

7750 W. Arrowhead Towne Ctr.
Glendale, AZ 85382
(623) 412-2421

 
4posted: September 5th, 2007

Manageable with a service dog


This store is easier than most large chain stores to negotiate as there is more room in the aisles. Mommy and I can get through there with ease as long as she is not in her wheel chair...if she is, then there is not enough room. The staff is helpful and we are frequently stopped and asked if we need any assistance. They are not intrusive and do not try to pet me and ask a million questions. The staff is easier to locate wen you need assistance. This was also a great place to shop when I was still in training and learning how to be in stores because of the fact that the staff really seems to understand the rules and just lets us do our job without distraction. I like taking my mommy here.

 

Kohl's Department Store [view the full listing]

14020 W. Bell Rd.
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 544-6330

 
3posted: September 5th, 2007

Difficult to negotiate for service dogs


This is a clean and well stocked store, whose items are often difficult to reach as they are on high racks or shelves. Hey- I am good, but I am not THAT good! I don't retrieve from high places! The aisles are cramped and it is hard for mommy and I to get around clothing racks together as there is barely room for one. If she is in her wheelchair, that is impossible. On those days we can not even think about shopping here. The staff does not fuss about me coming into the store, but they have never stopped to offer us help either. I hate it when I come around an aisle and get a face full of clothing because there is no space! Whoever designed this store needs to be placed in a wheelchair for a full day and told to navigate their way around without assistance and shop...I am certain that this would give them a fresh perspective.

 

Miracle Mile Deli [view the full listing]

7700 W. Arrowhead Towne Center
Glendale, AZ 85382
(623) 979-3430

 
5posted: August 19th, 2007

Outstanding help for customers with service dogs


This is a fabulous deli where you can get a REAL NY Style sandwich. The food is excellent. We go there frequently and we never have to ask for assistance. Once they see that I am a service dog, someone always comes around teh counter without being asked to and carries the tray for mommy. The staff even helps us get a corner table where I can rest more comfortably. They stop by the table frequently and refill water and anything else necessary so that mommy will not have to keep getting up and going back to the counter. I love taking mommy here whenever we are in town, and recommend this to all my service dog friends!

 

Sweet Tomatoes Salad Buffet [view the full listing]

7565 W. Bell Rd.
Peoria, AZ 85382
(623) 487-0307

 
3posted: August 19th, 2007

Tolerant only of service dogs


This is a salad buffet restaurant that tolerates but does not welcome service dogs. The staff offers no assistance in carring a tray and navigating your way through a buffet line if you are carrying a tray and holding on to a dog. The aisles by the tables are narrow and at times difficult to negotiate. The area directly by the food is more spacious. Though no one says anything discourage you from coming here...the lack of any offer of assistance would discourage you from returning.

 

Cracker Barrel Family Restaurant [view the full listing]

16845 N. 84th Ave
Peoria, AZ 85382
(623) 875-1136

 
3posted: August 19th, 2007

Difficult to manage with a service dog


This is a family restaurant with consistently good food. The staff is friendly to service dogs, but the problem is the lay out of the country store and restaurant area. The aisles are narrow and the tables are small and close together. I wear a harness to help mommy walk, and it is hard to get under the small tables without the harness getting stuck on the table. The tables are close together and there is no room next to the table for me to lay down. I am afraid to lay in the aisle for fear someone would trip over me. For this reason, I took mommy there once but have not been back since.

 

Chili's Restaurant [view the full listing]

13765 W. Bell Rd.
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 975-1433

 
5posted: August 19th, 2007

Great with service dogs!


Mommy and I recently stopped her to eat with another service dog friend and her mommy. The staff was really nice to us...they offered us a big table so we would be comfortable. The staff even offered to help mommy read the menu. Everyone who worked there seemed to understand the rules that govern service dogs and they did not interfere in any way. They did not mind that there were two of us...in fact they said we were welcome there and complimented us on how beautiful we are! We would definitely take our mommies there again. This was a good dining experience.

 

Cheesecake Factory [view the full listing]

16134 N. 83rd Ave.
Peoria, AZ 85382
(623) 773-2233

 
5posted: August 19th, 2007

Service Dog Friendly


This is a wonderful restaurant that goes out of its way to accommodate patrons with physical handicaps and their service dogs. They always give us a big table so that Emma can lay down comfortably. The staff is friendly and helpful. The lighting is good and there is ample space to walk maneuver around. The restrooms are clean and spacious. We have come with a group of service dogs in past and were met with a warm reception. We highly recommend this restaurant.

 

PetSmart [view the full listing]

N. Lake Pleasant Rd
Peoria, AZ 85382

 
5posted: August 19th, 2007

New Location


This store just opened up in the Summer of 2007 and is clean, friendly and well stocked. There was a good supply of pet food and toys for both dogs and cats. They also carry pet condos, strollers and some specialty items. It is easy access to Lake Pleasant Rd. and in an outdoor shopping mall with a good selection of other stores. The aisles are uncluttered and the lighting is good. Five paws to this location.

 

JB's Family Restaurant [view the full listing]

1818 W. Montebello Ave.
Phoenix, AZ 85015

 
5posted: August 14th, 2007

Service Dogs in training welcome here


It doesn't seem to matter how many dogs we have brought in there at a time...they welcome us with open arms each time. Once, we were in there with 6 dogs. The manager greeted us with a huge grin and said "Wow! This place has really gone to the dogs today!" and showed us to a large table where we could all be seated comfortably. The service is always great. The staff understands how to behave around dogs in training and it makes it so easy for us, especially when we are first introducing our dogs to public restaurants. Three cheers and five paws to JB's.

 

PetSmart [view the full listing]

1745 W. Bethany Home Rd.
Phoenix, AZ 85015

 
3posted: August 14th, 2007

Retail pet store


This store has a fair selection of products but in my experience is not as clean as most of the stores. The aisles are more cluttered and at times difficult to manage. I had a photo taken of my dog with Santa at Christmas at this store...and when the photo came back they had cut off half of Santa's head! I try not to stop at this store unless I am right there and really pressed for time.

 

Costco [view the full listing]

83rd Ave and Union Hills
Peoria, AZ 85382

 
3edited: August 10th, 2007

Service Dog Tolerant


This store get a mixed review. When I was in training they gave mommy a hard time letting me into the store to shop with her, despite identification that I had already passed the public access test. Once, she had to call the manager outside, but he did back her. Once they demanded to see the program papers (the law does not provide for this) and finally mommy told the manager that since her diagnosis was on the papers that this would be a HIPPA violation. On a third occasion they demanded that mommy go out to "any store" and buy me a vest before they would allow me inside (the law does not require this, and I wear a harness). After much frustration, they have stopped bothering us and have gotten to know me. These days they do not give me a hard time, but I am already certified now and have my vest. So- they are bad when you are in training, but tolerate it well afterwards. It is noted that AZ law grants full priviliges to service dogs in training, the same as certified dogs. You can get some nice doggie items here, my bed, large bags of treats and some neat toys.

posted: August 10th, 2007

 

Chevron Gas Station [view the full listing]

N. Tegner St
Wickenburg, AZ 85358

 
1posted: August 10th, 2007

Who doesn't like service dogs?


This station...that's who. Last time I went there with my mommy we stepped inside to pay for gas. The clerk started yelling at mommy saying, "You get THAT dog out of here right now". Mommy quietly told her I am a service dog and was legally allowed to be there with her. The clerk replied, "I don't care, you get that dog out of here NOW". I didn't do anything wrong, all I did was sit there by mommy. We didn't go there again and have asked our friends not to as well. This store wins the booby prize for the worst and most disrespectful treatment of a service dog team that I have ever witnessed. Since there is no category for zero paws, I give it a one...and that is overly generous for this business.

 

Family Dollar Store [view the full listing]

26645 S. Hwy 89
Congress, AZ 85332
(928) 427-6207

 
5posted: August 9th, 2007

A little store with a big heart


What a great find, this place is an oasis in the middle of a desert. The manager, Shelly, got to know me personally and took a personal interest in helping out with my training when I was in school. She always told mommy that if she needed to practice with me in a store, that we could come there anytime, and indeed we did. When I took my final certification test, she made us promise to let her know because she was as nervous as we were! She makes sure that she keeps in stock the tennis balls I like the best in my favorite colors, and I can get them 3 for a dollar! Some stores just tolerate my presence, this store looks forward to my arrival. This is one of my favorite places to go with my mommy because of a warm and caring manager.

 

Safeway Food and Drug [view the full listing]

1999 W. Wickenburg Way
Wickenburg, AZ 85358
(928) 684-2999

 
5posted: August 9th, 2007

Service Dog Friendly


Though the law requires that businesses allow service dogs on the premises, this store goes above and beyond. When I was still training, the store clerks and managers learned my name and greeted me each time I was in there. They always asked about my training. They continually offer mommy help shopping and have learned all the rules that pertain to service dogs...and help to enforce them. When it was time to take our final test, this is where we took the public part. Some of the clerks were even asked to participate for parts that required public involvement! Everyone was so excited when I passed and they all congratulated me. Not once have we ever been made to feel unwelcomed. There is another service dog who shops there also and she and her mom have had good experiences as well. I love to shop there because they never interfere with me doing my job and always go out of their way to make me feel welcomed.

 

Arizona Humane Society Sunny Slope (Main AZHS Facility) [view the full listing]

9226 N. 13th Avenue (13th Avenue and Hatcher Road)
Phoenix, AZ 85021
60299775

 
1posted: August 9th, 2007

What a fate


When mommy was looking for a doggie to train she stopped by here to look at the doggies. The inside areas were not sufficient to house all the dogs and there were many in rows of cages outside. Heaven forbid that there was a monsoon, what would the poor outside doggies do? The dogs were all in cages, little or no toys in sight and we did not witness any socialization ongoing that day. There were no decorations and the place looked pretty stark. That was all my mommy really needed tosee in order to make her turn around and leave. She was afraid of getting a doggie with a sickness from living under those conditions.

 

Desert Hills Animal Hospital [view the full listing]

13811 N 7th St
Phoenix, AZ 85022
(602) 993-5430

 
1posted: August 9th, 2007

Bad experience


We used to go there and all was well until one day. My sister had a procedure and then developed an infection. Dr. Cellars took her to the back room and wouldn't let mommy go with her. He lanced the infection without giving her anything for pain, and mommy said she could hear my sister crying and screaming all the way out in front. When he came out he told mommy that she purred all the way through the procedure. Mommy was so upset that she collected all our records and found a new vet. She never went back there again.

 

Sherrys Pampered Pets Llc [view the full listing]

18440 N 7th St Ste 8
Phoenix, AZ 85022
(602) 866-3811

 
4posted: August 9th, 2007

We toured this facility


Sherry is a nice lady who has a love for pets and turned this into a business. She started in a smaller storefront and expanded into the space next door as the business grew. The place was clean and free from foul odors. It is not a fancy resort type day care, but she has a caring staff on board and all the animals appeared well cared for. We were not able to view the cat area as this was in the back and we were not allowed access to this. The dog area, however, was clean. She does have groomers on site for those clients who want to treat their baby to a grooming while they are away.

 

Emergency Animal Clinic [view the full listing]

9875 W Peoria Ave
Peoria, AZ 85345
(623) 974-1520

 
3posted: August 9th, 2007

Emergency Care


This is where mommy took Buster one day. It was a holiday and later at night, and he scratched his cornea while playing. They were very nice to him and gave him good care. We did not like that they did not let mommy go back with him, the tech came out to the front and got Buster and took him to the back. That would be the only suggestion is that they would allow the parent(s) to accompany the animals. They did call the next day to see how he was doing, and we also got a call from our own vet to say that the Emergency Care had contacted him to make him aware of the situation. So- the follow-up was excellent.

 

Petsmart [view the full listing]

13764 W Bell Rd
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 546-8500

 
4posted: August 9th, 2007

Review


This PetSmart is one where I shop frequently. What I like is that the staff is helpful. When I was younger and needed my halti, they would always help mommy to size it properly. They took the time to talk to her about shoes for me and nutrition. What I don\'t like is the training area. In this location it is in the middle of the store, and it creates too many distractions during class. It\'s hard, when you are trying to learn new skills, and shoppers and leaning over and staring at you and calling out \"Oh, how cute\" all the time. I just wish that they had a room for training like they did for the day care doggies. They have a good selection of treats and bedding, and I have even picked some nice goodies out for my kitty sisters while I am there. The prices on some items, such as the shoes, are higher than you can get them for on line. You just need to know your prices. They do have a good selection of grooming supplies.

 

Sun City Animal Rescue [view the full listing]

7150 N. 110th Ave.
Glendale, AZ 85307
(623) 872-7941

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Kitty City


Mommy still tells the story of how she found our calico, Ginger Belle, at the Sun City Animal Rescue. There was a big room called Kitty City, and that is where they met. Ginger says that the people there took good care of her and she does not know what she would have done without those caring humans. Ginger was rescued along with her sister, and both were found loving \"forever homes\". The cats were all clean and seemingly well cared for. Mommy was given lots of information about the adoption process, veterinary care, microchips, and just about anything she needed to know to ensure that Ginger Belle would get the best care when she came home. If you are looking to take a dog or cat into your heart and home, then please check out this wonderful organization.

 

Muleshoe Animal Clinic [view the full listing]

19261 Route 89
Peeples Valley, AZ 86332
(928) 427-3855

 
5posted: February 23rd, 2007

Friendly Staff


When I moved here and had to get my new tags, we went to the clinic and the staff was so nice to me. They took care of my tags the same day, not like the last place where I had to mail off the paperwork and wait to get the tags back. This is a small town clinic and the people are friendly and seem to care about the humans and animals.

 

Happy Tails Service Dog Program [view the full listing]

1 W. Sequoia Dr.
Phoenix, AZ 85027
(623) 580-0946

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Forever Grateful


Words can not describe our affection and appreciation for all the wonderful folks at Happy Tails Service Dog Program. We received our training there and will soon be a certified service dog team. Because of the dedication of our teachers, my mommy will be able to remain independent and I will be able to help her out. Our training was excellent, every detail of our training was attended to. We have made lifelong friends.

 

Noahs Ark Animal Rescue [view the full listing]

4919 W Paradise Ln
Glendale, AZ 85306
(602) 298-9108

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

We love Marni!!!


My brother Buster came from Noah\\\'s Ark Animal Rescue, as did my niece and nephew, Doppler and Pi. They are all cats, but I love them anyhow. Marni from Noah\\\'s Ark helped us with the adoptions and was so nice to our family. All the cats who came from Noah\\\'s Ark are friendly and were obviously well-cared for before we adopted them. I am glad that Marni and the folks at Noah\\\'s Ark are out there to help dogs and cats find a good forever home.

 

Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory Inc. [view the full listing]

4250 W. Anthem Way
Phoenix, AZ 85086
(623) 465-9500

 
3posted: February 22nd, 2007

Yummy Treats


Sometimes when we are at the mall together, my mommy stops here just to get me that "special" treat for being a good girl. My favorite treat is the large gournet doggie cookie that is dipped in either yogurt or carob...I'm content with either. The staff is friendly to service dogs like me so that makes it extra nice. I would recommend this to my friends for a special outing.

 

Ryans Pet Supplies [view the full listing]

1805 E Mcdowell Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85006
(602) 255-0900

 
4posted: February 22nd, 2007

On line supplies


This is a good place to get discounted pet supplies on line. You can request a catalog from them. Mommy likes this because she and he r friends place one big order and get Halti's cheaper! Less money spent on eqiupment means more available for toys and treats! Woof! That is my kind of place!

 

Bridgeport Equipment [view the full listing]

231 Morrison Road
Columbus, OH 43213
(800) 678-7353

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Love my harness!


Our service dog program recommended this business to us for the purchase of a support and balance harness for Emma. The narness was cost effective, definitely a savings over that of other harnesses we loked at, and better built. The weight is evenly distributed across the dogs shoulders, and the inside is lined with lamb's wool for comfort. The handle is rigid and easy to manage. The harness has been a blessing for me, I can go out in public with little fear of falling now that I have a harness for my Emma. Emma adapted well to it, appears to be comfortable wearing it and does not pull or chew or demonstrate other behaviors that might indicate that the harness was not a good fit. You can speak with a real person on the phone, not a voice menu system, and this person will help you determine the proper size if you need help. I would recommend this business for others who were seriously interested in purchasing a specialized harness or piece of quality training equipment for their dog.

 

Arrow Animal Hospital Plc [view the full listing]

5144 W Thunderbird Rd
Glendale, AZ 85306
(602) 644-1928

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Great Care!


I have taken my service dog Emma, as well as all 5 of my cats to Arrow Animal Hospital for many years, and have been thrilled with the excellent care they have received. I have my kids seen by Dr. Prater and they adore him, but in an emergency they have been seen by others in the practice, and my experiences have been uniformly superb. They have a full range of veterinary care, and also offer laser procedures for surgery, leading to less discomfort for the animals and faster healing time. Prescriptions can be filled on site. In times of crisis, they can always be counted on to get the animals in fast and get them cared for...they have an excellent triage system. I have 2 special needs pets who are on medications and attribute their good health to the excellent follow-up. I also like the fact that after any sick visits, I have always received a phone call from the doctor the next day to see how they are doing. I have recommended many people to take their pets there and they have all been happy.

 

PetSmart [view the full listing]

7920 W. Bell Rd.
Glendale, AZ 85308
(623) 334-3600

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Emma's favorite store


This PetSmart branch is Emma's favorite store to go to. We took our obedience training and preparation for her Canine Good Citizen Test at this store. The staff were helpful and our instructor took a personal interest and even contacted the service program in advance to ensure that the training was consistent with the wishes of the service program. Our trainer often invited us back to the store for extra sessions and for socialization in preparation for the test. The staff knows Emma by name and always asks how she is doing. I feel like the staff of the store truly care about Emma and how she is doing, and their concern goes beyond that of just "doing their job". Any time I need equipment for her, the staff takes the time to fit and adjust equipment to ensure he rcomfort. We are happy PetSmart customers!

 

Puppies N Love [view the full listing]

7700 W Arrowhead Towne Centre
#2040
Glendale, AZ 85308

 
4posted: February 22nd, 2007

Puppies N Love


I met my darling Emma here while searching for the right dog to train as a service dog. They got Emma from a breeder in Missouri and introduced us, and it was love at first site. The folks there were helpful in assisting me in determining the temperament of the dog, and boy, where they right on target with her! That was 15 months ago, and today she is getting ready to take her final certification test. She has done exceptionally well and the trainers at our program have commented that she has the \"perfect temperament\" to be a service dog. We will forever appreciate the asssitance and the support of the staff at the store.