Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Rub A Dub Dog Inc [view the full listing]

6826 Greenwood Ave N
Seattle, WA 98103
(206) 789-5311

 
5posted: January 20th, 2008

Bath time isn't all that bad!


The staff are always friendly at Rub A Dub Dog and the treats are always available. Although who wants treats when you're soaking wet. Rub A Dub Dog has BIG tubs with pads in the bottom so we won't slip and pads on the floors so The Dads don't slide around when we splash water all over. Also, they have every kind of shampoo and conditioner a pup needs to be squeeky clean. There are special soaps for sensitive skin, soaps for oily coats and conditioners to make sure we don't dry out too much after our baths. The drying stations are easy for The Dads to get to and there are LOTS of towels available for drying off us and them... hehehehe... We like the people at Rub A Dub Dog and always leave feeling sharp and clean. It's no secret that my brother, Atlas, and I don't like bath time. But when you've got a great place like Rub A Dub Dog, it really isn't all that bad.

 

Norm's Eatery and Ale House [view the full listing]

460 N 36th St
Seattle, WA 98103
20654714

 
5posted: January 20th, 2008

Norm's RULES!!


Are you kidding me?? A pub where we can go WITH The Dads while they have good food and a beer? Count us in! This is definitely one of our favorite lunch spots with The Dads.

 

Urban Beast [view the full listing]

217 Yale Ave N
Seattle, WA 98109
(206) 324-440

 
4posted: January 20th, 2008

Smart!


When we first went to Urban Beast, we had some questions about raw diets. The people who worked there gave us the lowdown on everything from kibble to frozen items and what we could expect from them. While The Dads were talking about food, we met some new friends and got some YUMMY treats. Later, The Dads bought us our COOL carrier for the car. Urban Beast was the only place we could find the Pet Tube and we've used it for over a year now. Smart staff, located right by REI (smart location). If you're smart you'll check out Urban Beast.

 

Scraps [view the full listing]

2200 Westlake
Seattle, WA 98121
(206) 332-woof

 
5posted: January 20th, 2008

BIG SHIBAS!!


The first thing you'll notice about Scraps is the sign out front... it's a SHIBA!! WOOHOO!! Then, we couldn't belive our eyes when we walked up to the front door and looked inside. There, covering one whole wall of the shop, was the picture of two Shibas blown up larger than life! We were in Shiba heaven!! WOOF!! This shop has all of our food, treats, leashes, collars and toys we could ever need. At Scraps you can find everything from custom baked treats to supplies for raw diets and chew toys that can stand up to any amount of rough play my brother and I can give 'em. Plus, there are all kinds of fun specialty collars, leashes, tags and accessories. Everything the posh, urban pup could ask for. We always get lots of treats and lovin' from the guys who own the place and they always have something new to show The Dads. Treats, every type of food you can imagine, toys and more toys, great owners and BIG SHIBAS... what more could you ask for?? WOOF!!

 

Next to Nature [view the full listing]

4543 California Ave SW
Seattle, WA 98116
20693511

 
4posted: January 19th, 2008

Must-stop Shopping


This is another one of our neighborhood hang-outs. Besides our regular food, there are always new and interesting products for browsing through and every type of treat you can think of. The staff always have good answers to our questions and are at the ready with a treat just for my brother and I... even wheat-free ones like we have to have! WOOF! And, yes, there are plenty of goodies for our cat-sister, Hera. Heck, there are even a few cats hanging out around the place... one is just about as big as we are! And there are always a couple of cats there from the local rescue shelter waiting to go home with their new families. Even if we don't NEED anything, Next to Nature is a must-stop on our shopping trips through West Seattle.

 

Westcrest Dog Park [view the full listing]

9000 8th Ave. SW
Seattle, WA 98146

 
4posted: January 19th, 2008

Home Territory


Representing the West Seattle pups here, Apollo and Atlas are going to bark our praise for Westcrest Dog Park. We live just down the hill from Westcrest so we spend a lot of our play time there. The Dads don't let us into the BIG part of the park much... I think they are afraid that we'll just take off and they'll have to spend HOURS trying to catch us... oh... that actually happened. BOL!! The main part of the park is HUGE and well fenced to make sure none of us pups get too far from safety. There are hoses for water in the summer time and lots of shade for those days when it is sunny here in Seattle. The "Small & Shy" area is at the top of a hill in the park and has trees and picnic benches. LOTS of trees for running in and playing chase with my brother. We've met lots of our neighborhood pups here and The Dads run into their friends there sometimes too. We go to a lot of different parks in the Seattle area but this is our home territory and we love running up and down and all around Westcrest. WOOF!!

 

Wash Dog [view the full listing]

6400 California Ave Sw
Seattle, WA 98136
(206) 935-4546

 
3posted: January 19th, 2008

Bath Time


While I have to say that bath day is NOT our favorite outing by any stretch of the imagination, my brother and I like this place just fine. The Dads have two places they use when it's time for us to clean up. Wash Dog is definitely the closest to us. The facility is clean and the tubs are big and easy to use. The two downfalls are: 1. their products are limited. If you have sensitive skin or need a specific type of shampoo for oily fur types, you will have to bring it yourself. 2. the mats in the tub aren't always in the best of shape and your toes can get caught in them. Oh yeah... there are no mats on the floors for The Dads to stand on so if the concrete gets wet at all it can be a little slick. Good points: 1. Close to home for us pups in West Seattle 2. Comparable prices to the other self-wash facilities around the Seattle area 3. Tuesdays are 2-fer days. We can both take a bath in the same room for the price of one pup! All in all, this is an okay place is you have to submit to the indignity of bath time.

 

Capital Hill Animal Clinic [view the full listing]

501 15th Ave E
Seattle, WA 98112
(206) 322-5750

 
5posted: March 3rd, 2007

This is THE place to go!


Veterinary clinics seem to be a dime a dozen here in Seattle. That is both a blessing and a curse. While The Dads and I have had our share of run ins with curses, the Capitol Hill Animal Clinic is definitely a blessing. From the helpful, friendly people who work the front desk to the gentle, understanding veterinarians on staff, we love each and every one of them. We have been looking for a clinic for our pack that had the feel of a small town veterinary clinic with modern technological advances. We had just about given up until we tried the Capitol Hill Animal Clinic. They are kind and helpful and really LISTEN to your needs and concerns. They also diagnose and treat based on a broad range of information instead of just trying to shuffle you through the door so they can get on to their next paying customer. We're giving this place a full on 5 paws rating and have sent all of our pup pals, Shibas and otherwise, to the veterinarians at Capitol Hill Animal Clinic.

 

Broadway Veterinary Hospital [view the full listing]

1824 12th Ave
Seattle, WA 98122
(206) 322-5444

 
1posted: March 3rd, 2007


All I'm saying is this place was NOT my cup of tea. Having only dealt with snarky Shibas before, they insisted on putting a muzzle on me for even the most basic exams. After on particularly loud event, Daddy Shannon left and told the lady at the front desk that we would never be back again. Unfortunately, we really liked that lady. She was the best thing about this place. Rude doctors and snippy technicians all added up to more than a few bad experiences so my pack and I would not recommend this veterinary hospital.