Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Magnet Bar [view the full listing]

W Hotel
421 West B Street
San Diego, CA 92101
(619) 231-8220

 
4posted: December 22nd, 2007

Swanky!


There's a doggie happy hour on the W Hotel's Magnet Bar's side patio. It's the last Tuesday of every month from 5 - 7 pm. It's really fun - but super crowded. You have to get there early or it's standing room only. There's many more small dogs than big dogs that come, even Keeks was considered big at 30lbs. But, big dogs should still come - someone brought their St. Bernard's on the night I went and they were very popular! There's usually a dog-related event going on - small art show or treat promotion. I took one paw away because the patio's so small and the event gets very crowded - but otherwise, I would give it 5 paws up for the fun novelty and dressing up and having a cocktail - but getting to bring your dog!

 

Lucky Labradour Brewing Co. [view the full listing]

915 SE Hawthorne Blvd.
Portland, OR 97214
50323635

 
5edited: September 13th, 2007

So dog friendly!


My pawrents went to Portland without me :( - but they came back telling me all about this great pub that had a huge outside dog-friendly patio. They said the beer was great too! Try the Stout!

posted: September 13th, 2007

 

Nottingham's Restaurant [view the full listing]

40797 Lakeview Drive
Big Bear Lake, CA 92315

 
4posted: August 8th, 2007

Great food in Big Bear!


We went camping by Big Bear and went to this restaurant in town for lunch. Not only were they super nice about seating us on the patio with our (FOUR!) dogs, but the food was great! I recommend the Portobello Mushroom Sandwich. Yum! Also- the couple at the next table had two mini-poodles - the lucky dogs got to sit in chairs at the table while they ate! I've never seen a restaurant allow that before! The only negative about this place is that the patio dining is on the smaller side and during busy times (maybe on the weekends?), it might fill up fast. We went on a Monday afternoon, and there was one outside table left.

 

Rover [view the full listing]

8930 Lindblade St
Culver City, CA 90232
(310) 838-5599

 
4posted: May 11th, 2007

Stayed here for 4 days!


This is a great place for boarding - Keeks stayed here for 4 nights/days when we went on vacation. We had never boarded her before and really struggled to find a place we liked. The Rover facility is really nice and modern looking. And, although it looks like it would be really expensive, I thought prices were pretty good for LA. Dogs play in the big indoor daycare area all day and sleep in either private rooms ($) or suites ($$). I liked how the cost is per day, with no extra fees for extra playtime or attention - like other places. All boarded dogs get group daycare play, unless the request a private suite to be separate from the group. The staff was really friendly and personable. We called EVERY night to check up on Keeks and they were great about giving us honest and detailed reports of how she was doing. Like most places, you need to complete a interview process and a daycare visit to make sure your dog gets along with the other dogs. I really liked this place and only took one star off because I wished there could be an outside area for the dogs to play in. Also, there wasn't a webcam feature when we went, but the owner told us they were planning one for the future.

 

Town Center Dog Park - Otay Ranch [view the full listing]

2015 Birch Road
Chula Vista, CA 91915
(619) 656-9100

 
5edited: April 24th, 2007

Fun Park!


The park is small but rarely crowded. We don't live anywhere near here - but we drive to it, because it's so inviting (and fully fenced!) There is a small dog section - but everytime I go there, all dogs just play together. There is a water fountain and dog-bag provided (if you forget to bring your own) Also, the park is open late -until 11pm and is fully lit at night.

posted: April 24th, 2007

2 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

Park Bench Cafe [view the full listing]

17732 Goldenwest Street
Huntington Beach, CA 92647
(714) 842-0775

 
5posted: April 5th, 2007

Great food!!


The Park Bench is great! We went for lunch yesterday on route to LA from San Diego. The food is good - lunch menu included burgers, sandwiches and salads for humans and a doggie menu with ground turkey, chicken, and biscuits for dogs! The location is beautiful, right in the middle of Huntington Beach Central Park. The only drawback is that place is often crowded!

 

San Diego Humane Society and SPCA [view the full listing]

5500 Gaines Street
San Diego, CA 92110
(619) 299-7012

 
5posted: March 8th, 2007

Not only adoptions!


The SD Humane Society also has great training classes (fairly inexpensive) lectures on pet topics called "Happy Hours", and other events. Also the last Friday of the month they have an event called "Doggie Cafe" where dogs and people hang out at the outside cafe. We went to the Halloween and Xmas Doggie Cafes and they had costume contests, refreshments, and holiday themed photos availible. It was pretty fun! You can check out the website for a list of events - www.sdhumane.org

 

Silverlake Dog Park [view the full listing]

1850 W. SilverLake Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90066

 
3edited: March 6th, 2007

Silverlake Dog Park


Small fully fenced park - it was pretty crowded when we went on a Saturday afternoon. There are water fountains and a couple of picnic benches. It's divided into a small dog section and a big dog section. Overall - a neat place to go if you're in the Silverlake area!

posted: March 6th, 2007

 

Dusty Rhodes Off-Leash Dog Park [view the full listing]

Sunset Cliffs between Nimitz & W. Point Loma Blvds.
San Diego, CA 92109
(619) 221-8901

 
4posted: March 1st, 2007

Very Fun!


I love coming here! Good things about this park are that it's really big, with doggie water fountains and a full fence. Also it's right in Ocean Beach - which has a lot of dog-friendly cafes, businesses and (the famous!) Dog Beach. Bad things are that it's pretty much all dirt- not a lot of grass and it gets really crowded sometimes.

2 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

Nate’s Point Dog Park [view the full listing]

Balboa Dr. at El Prado S. of Cabrillo Bridge
San Diego, CA 92101
(619) 235-1100

 
5edited: March 1st, 2007

Fully fenced now!


This is a great dog park - and this past winter it got a new fence for both the canyon and the forest sides. Now it's fully protected! :) Great things about this park are that it's bigger than other fenced parks in SD and there are usually lots of nice dogs to play with! Bad things are that there aren't any water fountains (yet) or night lighting (yet). Nate's Point has a non-profit group that's raising the money for both of those and to make it compliant with ADA standards. Like any dog park, there might be some not-so-great dog owners, who don't watch their dogs. I come to Nate's Point a lot!! Hope to see you there :)

posted: March 1st, 2007

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Bow Wow Beauty Shoppe [view the full listing]

1735 University Ave
San Diego, CA 92103

 
4edited: April 6th, 2007

Bow Wow Beauty!


Great groomer! The main room was decorated in a 1950's Vargas girl style and was fun to hang out in. The staff was really nice and took the time to talk about my specific grooming needs. Even though I hate baths, they said I was very good and they even give you a little pink doggie report card afterwards. Also, I looked great and smelled really good for a week afterwards! And I got a cute bandana... One of the only negatives about Bow Wow is that they have very limited hours and are often full on the weekends.

posted: March 1st, 2007

 

South Bark Dog Wash [view the full listing]

2037 30th Street
San Diego, CA 92104
(619) 232-7387

 
5posted: February 26th, 2007

Dog Wash


This a great place to go for a self service dog wash. The employees are very nice and helpful, especially if you have a dog who hates baths! The blueberry facials small great and they have a good variety of shampoo and rinse types. Also - it's fairly cheap!

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Harmony Animal Hospital [view the full listing]

3994 Park Blvd
San Diego, CA 92103
(619) 293-7600

 
5posted: February 12th, 2007

Harmony Animal Hospital


This is a great vet! The staff is very nice and they go out of their way to make sure you understand procedures, options, costs, etc. Also - they have great treats for good doggies!