Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Pamela Kuhn [view the full listing]

2706 N. Wilton Ave.
Chicago, IL 60614
(773) 510-2296

 
5posted: April 14th, 2009


We got to meet her at Camp Dogwood and I got some very good massages!

 

TLC First Animal Hospital [view the full listing]

6468 N. Milwaukee
Chicago, IL 60631
(773) 631-0706

 
5posted: October 13th, 2008


We followed our vet, Dr. Liszewski from our old clinic and are so glad we did... She is very knowledgeable, friendly, and caring. She goes above and beyond to make sure that we get the best care possible and we'd never choose another veterinarian! We can't say enough good things about our vet!

 

Parker's Pets [view the full listing]

1342 E 55th St
Chicago, IL 60615
(773) 643-PETS

 
5posted: October 7th, 2007

We love this store!


We went to Parker's Pets for their grand opening. It's a great store! They have all kinds of natural high-quality dog foods (we bought some Wellness CORE) and cat foods. They have lots of really good quality grooming products, pet toys, dog clothes, harnesses, collars, leashes, jewelry/charms, bowls, feeders, treats, and more! One thing we really like about Parker's Pets is that they don't only carry items in sizes for small dogs like many stores do-- they actually have clothes and other gear for medium and large dogs (like Ginger) as well as the small/toy breeds which we think is great. The owner is very helpful and friendly, and Parker the Pomeranian who the store is named after is a great host and greeter as well.

2 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

Touhy Animal Hospital [view the full listing]

2311 W. Touhy Ave.
Park Ridge, IL 60068
(847) 698-3123

 
5edited: April 10th, 2009

We love our vet Dr. Liszewski!


We just love our veterinarian at Touhy Animal Hospital, Dr. Liszewski. The staff at the hospital are nice as well. We followed our vet, Dr. Lisewski to Touhy Animal Hospital from our old clinic and are so glad we did... She is very knowledgeable, friendly, and caring. She goes above and beyond to make sure that we get the best care possible and we'd never choose another veterinarian! We can't say enough good things about our Dr. Liszewski!

posted: September 2nd, 2007

2 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

Lincolnwood Dog Training Club [view the full listing]

Dearlove & Central Rds
Glenview, IL 60025
(847) 299-7273

 
4posted: September 2nd, 2007

Good classes


Lincolnwood Dog Training Club is primarily a club for German Shepherd Dogs-- many of their events are for Shepherds only. However, they offer training classes (obedience, rally and agility) which accept all breeds. If your dog is not a German Shepherd you cannot join the club, but you can take training classes with them. The classes are held outdoors, so they are only available during the warmer months. Lincolnwood Training Club has a 2-acre fenced field where the classes are held. I took an agility class here with Ginger a number of years ago. The instructors were very good and overall it was a great class. That was my first agility class ever and it was a great introduction to the sport. As it is a Shepherd club, many of the dogs in the class were German Shepherds.

 

Kiss My K9 [view the full listing]

1640 Orrington
Evanston, IL 60201
(847) 424-0517

 
4posted: September 2nd, 2007

Good selection of products


I have not used Kiss My K9's pet care services, but I have been to their store many times. They carry products which are very difficult to find elsewhere, such as By Nature brand food and treats and many other high-quality pet food brands. They also carry good quality treats and many supplements as well. I've found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

 

Barrington Dog Bakery and Boutique [view the full listing]

110 Barrington Commons Court
Barrington, IL 60010
(847) 381-3420

 
5posted: September 2nd, 2007

Awesome place!


I found the Barrington Dog Bakery by accident. I was coming home from a party when I saw it and just had to stop. I believe they may have changed locations since I've been there so the set up may be a little different now... When I went in, I was greeted by the friendly owner. They had many great dog stuff in the store such as clothing and costumes, fancy collars and leashes, high-quality dog food and treats and of course the bakery goods! The shop included a seating area where you can sit and eat with your dog and a small fenced dog socializing area. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and my dogs loved the bakery treats. I really wish I lived closer to Barrington so I could visit this shop a lot more often! They also have regular events for dogs and people-- past events have included a doggie ice cream social and events where they feature dogs from different rescue organizations.

 

Happy Tails Inc [view the full listing]

5416 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60640
(773) 907-0305

 
1posted: September 1st, 2007

Not so good


We took our previous dog to this groomer. They were not the friendliest place around and did not do an especially good job on our dog. Then we heard a number of stories from other pet owners of problems with their staff and the treatment of the dogs being groomed. This combined with the so-so grooming job made us decide to not use Happy Tails any longer.

 

Ruff n Stuff [view the full listing]

5430 N. Clark st
Chicago, IL 60640
(773) 275-5999

 
4posted: September 1st, 2007

Nice place


Ruff n Stuff is a fairly large non-chain pet supply store in Andersonville. They sell pet supplies for many animals, not just dogs and cats (or at least they did when I last visited.) Ruff n Stuff carries some good high-quality pet food brands as well as other food, treats, toys and other supplies.

 

Sam and Willy's [view the full listing]

3405 North Paulina Street
Chicago, IL 60657
(773) 404-0400

 
4posted: September 1st, 2007

Great store!


This is a great place. They sell very high-quality pet foods such as Timberwolf, Wellness, Evangers, Merrick, and more. They also sell some very good supplements and treats as well as many interesting pet products including Ruffwear brand products, Silverfoot collars, Happy Tails Spa and many others. I go here on a regular basis to buy pet food and the staff is always helpful and friendly. Definitely a great place!

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Camp Dogwood [view the full listing]

3501 N. Southport Ave.
Chicago, IL 60618
(312) 458-9549

 
4posted: September 1st, 2007

Lots of fun!


Camp Dogwood is a very fun camp for people and dogs. I have not been to their facility but rather went to the shorter camps they held during the winter for several years. They offered many different activities for the dogs/owners and we all had lots of fun. I think it is a great way to find out what sort of acitivities your dog may be interested so you can pursue those, and also just a fun and active getaway. I met a lot of great people and dogs there as well.

 

Rainbow Animal Assisted Therapy [view the full listing]

6042 Oakton Street
Morton Grove, IL 60053
(773) 283-1129

 
5posted: September 1st, 2007

Great classes for potential therapy dogs!


I've taken Rainbow's beginner's therapy dog class as well as the drop-in class and they were both wonderful and very helpful for a potential therapy dog and handler. I also took a flyball class with them which was also very good. I highly recommend their therapy dog classes to anyone interested in doing animal-assisted therapy with their dog.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Pooch Park [view the full listing]

3220 Oakton
Skokie, IL 60077

 
4posted: February 9th, 2007

Nice alternative to Chicago's dog parks


Please note that you must have a permit to use this park. Pooch Park is a very nice dog park and had many advantages over the Chicago "dog friendly areas" nearby within the city limits. Pooch Park has a lot of space, a nice grassy surface (rather than the hard cement of the Chicago dog parks) and a separate fenced area for agility as well as one for puppies and small dogs. The agility field includes a dogwalk, table, tunnel, tire, and jumps. These are mostly full-height obstacles so are not good for a dog who has not done it before to learn agility, but they are great to practice or for fun for a dog who already knows the obstacles. The park is accessible on two sides: there is a parking lot at the boating center on Oakton Ave. which is not very visible from the street but there is a "Pooch Park" sign there. The other entrance is from Main St. through the shopping plaza (the dog park is near Sam's Club when you get inside the parking lot.) Please note that their website states that you can register for as many dogs as your city's ordinances allow but when I went to Skokie's Oakton Community Center to buy the permits, I was told I could only purchase 2 even though I live in Chicago where there is no dog limit. If you have more than 2 dogs you may have better luck purchasing your Pooch Park permit from one of the Evanston locations. If you live in Chicago or in a nearby suburb that does not have its own dog park and you have active dogs and are planning on visiting the park at least a few times a week, I think the $70 non-resident permit is worth it. I chose Pooch Park because my dogs cannot use the Chicago "dog friendly areas" due to them all being paved, which is much too hard on my dogs' joints and bones.

 

Montrose Dog Beach [view the full listing]

Wilson Dr and N Simonds Dr
Chicago, IL 60659

 
3edited: February 6th, 2007

Permits now required!


The Chicago Park District has recently started requiring permits for all dog-friendly areas (dog parks and beaches) in Chicago. If you go to Montrose Beach with no permit you will be fined, so be careful! You can get the permit from many Chicago vet offices (you need to get vaccinations and exam to get the permit!) and it is $5 per year per dog. If you are visiting Chicago you can still get a permit but you need to show proof of rabies vaccination. Montrose Dog Beach is the only legal off-leash beach for dogs inside Chicago. The dog beach is mostly fenced in, and recent additions have been made to improve access to the beach. Also please note that your dog must be on a leash in the areas surrounding the fenced-off dog beach area and that dogs are not allowed on the adjacent 'human' beach.

posted: February 6th, 2007

1 pet found this review helpful

 

PAWS Chicago [view the full listing]

1110 W 35th St
Chicago, IL 60609
(773) 843-7812

 
5posted: February 6th, 2007

Wonderful organization


PAWS Chicago is a wonderful animal rescue organization. They take in dogs and cats and they also have programs for the community including a free or low-cost spay/neuter and vaccination clinic, community outreach and humane education programs and more. They also always looking for volunteers for their shelter locations as well as the spay/neuter clinic so if you are able to help please contact them! Their website is www.pawschicago.org

 

Windy City K 9 Club Inc [view the full listing]

1628 N Elston Ave
Chicago, IL 60622
(773) 384-5959

 
3posted: February 5th, 2007

Nice clean facility


Windy City K9 Club is now known as Best Friends Pet Care. Windy City provides clean facilities and many different services in one location including training classes, daycare, boarding, and grooming.

2 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

Family Pet Animal Hospital Pc [view the full listing]

1401 W Webster Ave
Chicago, IL 60614
(773) 935-2311

 
4posted: February 5th, 2007

Very nice clinic


Family Pet is a very nice clinic with wonderful caring staff. We went there to see Dr. Royal for acupuncture and always felt welcomed by the staff here.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Of Mutt And Men [view the full listing]

2149 W Belmont Ave
Chicago, IL 60618
(773) 477-7171

 
3posted: February 5th, 2007

Nice indoor dog exercise facility


This is a fee-based indoor dog "club" where you can go and hang out with your dog and where your dog can play off-leash with other dogs. It's a nice place to go if you don't have anywhere you can let your dog off leash or if you live in a small house or apartment where your dog can't run and play much, but it is fairly small.

 

Pooch Chicago [view the full listing]

2307 W Belmont Ave
Chicago, IL 60618
(773) 525-4006

 
4edited: February 18th, 2007

Nice facilities


Very nice facilities. The place seems very clean and well-cared-for. They have some neat amenities such as a pool for dogs to swim. I cannot review the service because I have not used it for boarding, but I have seen the facility including where the boarding dogs are held because I took training classes here which are held in the back and the place looks very nice.

posted: February 5th, 2007

 

Mccormick Animal Hospital Inc [view the full listing]

8260 Mccormick Blvd
Skokie, IL 60076
(847) 676-2444

 
4posted: February 5th, 2007

Very good vet


We saw Dr. Roberts many times at McCormick Animal Hospital, and he is a very good vet. He helped us a lot and through him we finally got the correct diagnosis of my terrier's hip dysplasia (2 other vets at a different facility mis-diagnosed it as a luxating patella.) Dr. Roberts is a kind and caring vet who knows his stuff, and his staff is wonderful as well.

3 out of 3 pets found this review helpful

 

Soggy Paws [view the full listing]

4715 N Racine Ave
Chicago, IL 60640
(773) 334-7663

 
4posted: February 5th, 2007

Good store and grooming


Soggy Paws has a very nice pet boutique with natural pet foods, treats, grooming products and fashion products. They also have full-service as well as self-wash grooming with many different natural grooming products available. Overall it's a very nice facility with good retail goods as well as grooming.

 

Dogs Life A [view the full listing]

4810 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60640
(773) 271-5577

 
4posted: February 5th, 2007

A Dogs Life has many foods and supplements


A Dog's Life's store has good choices of natural pet foods and also many natural and holistic supplements. The staff is knowledgeable on the items they sell as well and very helpful.

 

VCA Misner Holley Animal Hospital [view the full listing]

1545 W Devon Ave
Chicago, IL 60660
(773) 888-4226

 
2edited: April 14th, 2009

Went downhill since VCA took over


Misener Holley is now called VCA Misener Holley Animal Hospital. Our family went to them for over 20 years, but we found the service went downhill in the last few years and especially since they were bought by VCA. Even before they were VCA though, we had problems with them. It was so convenient and there were a few vets I really liked so we stayed. For example they always made us wait 45 min to 1 hour before taking us in even if we had arrived on time/early for an appointment. Once, I brought a ferret in as a walk-in/emergency because he was acting very sick, and they told us we'd have to wait after barely glancing at the ferret. When we went to sit down in the waiting room, another ferret owner who was waiting for their appointment took one look at my ferret and immediately went to the front desk and told them to take us first (because of how sick he was.) The ferret ended up being put on oxygen! A lot of vets left in the past 5 years or so and it seemed like almost every time we visited we had to pick a new vet. Due to these issues we ended up switching and instead we followed one of the vets who used to work there to her new clinic (TLC First Animal Hospital), where we are now very happy.

posted: February 5th, 2007

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Mickeys Pet Salon [view the full listing]

2805 W Touhy Ave
Chicago, IL 60645
(773) 338-9753

 
2posted: February 5th, 2007

It's ok


Not the best but they do ok grooming. We do not like that they sell puppies from the grooming shop and have them in cages at the front of the shop, though...

1 pet found this review helpful

 

The Royal Treatment Vet Spa [view the full listing]

4130 North Rockwell
Chicago, IL 60618
(773) 267-9966

 
5edited: February 8th, 2007

New facility is gorgeous!


The Royal Treatment Vet Spa has a beautiful, large new facility located inside Stay Dog Hotel, and it's fantastic! They have two new water treadmills with special features and according to the staff they are working it out with Stay to be able to use their lap pool as well for clients. In addition to hydrotherapy they offer acupuncture, physical therapy exercises, nutritional supplements and counselling, massage, and other treatments.

posted: February 5th, 2007

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Dog House Of Beauty Grooming and Boarding [view the full listing]

3200 w 66th
Chicago, IL 60629
(773) 588-8586

 
5edited: February 5th, 2007

We love the Dog House!


The Dog House of Beauty is a wonderful grooming salon with a great, caring owner. The owner of the Dog House cares about dogs and is always gentle and patient. Dogs at the Dog House are never stuck in a cage to dry, they are fluff-dried by hand air dryer. Dogs are also not left in a cage all day while waiting for their turn to be groomed, they are treated more like a family member when they visit the Dog House of Beauty! I refuse to take my pups anywhere else. NOTE: You can visit the Dog House's website here: www.doghouseofbeauty.com

posted: February 5th, 2007

 

Ratings

Tucker Pups Llc: 3 Ginger DSA ThD TT CGC &hearts
Dogster HQ: 5 Ginger DSA ThD TT CGC &hearts