Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Oat Hill Mine [view the full listing]

Silverado Trail and Route 29
Calistoga, CA 94515

 
5posted: November 30th, 2008

Great dog-friendly hike in prime wine country


Moxie had a great time on this hike. It keeps going and going. A great dog break on a wine country tour.

 

Solage Calistoga [view the full listing]

755 Silverado Trail
Calistoga, CA 94515
(866) 942-7442

 
5posted: November 30th, 2008

They really are happy you brought your dog


We brought Moxie and had a very nice time. There's LOTS of open space on the property for walks and playtime. The staff were all happy to see Moxie and we always felt extremely welcome. We learned a bit too late to keep Moxie on a leash. She got excited and ran into the wrong patio the first day. It's a spa so we made sure to keep her on leash and not interfere with anyone else's relaxation ;)

 

Chatz Coffee [view the full listing]

301 Arkansas St
San Francisco, CA 94107
(415) 206-0300

 
5posted: March 4th, 2008

OMD! I love this place


We go here almost every morning. We used to go to Thinkers Cafe, but the coffee and service are better here. They really love doggies and often have a biscuit bowl out, or the owners pulls them out. In fact I used to go inside all the time (they didn't mind) until my human got annoyed with my hovering for crumbs. There's benches out front and there's always another tethered doggie to sniff and play with while waiting.

 

Mission Creek Park [view the full listing]

4th St & Channel St
San Francisco, CA 94119

 
5posted: February 23rd, 2008

I LOVE IT!


There are always a bunch of good doggies to play with. There's room to run and still stay out of the way. I like checking out the waterline but I'm not much of a swimmer. It's not all that big, but we love it.

 

Potrero Hill Mini Park [view the full listing]

22nd Street and Arkansas Street
San Francisco, CA 94107

 
5posted: February 23rd, 2008

Go to the end of Connecticut St.


We spend most of our time where Connecticut St. dead ends (down the hill from the tennis courts). There's lot of room to run and it's usually quite calm. The views of the Bay are superb.

 

Heron's Head [view the full listing]

Jennings St. & Cargo Way
San Francisco, CA 94124

 
5posted: July 24th, 2007

I love this place


It's one of my favorites. It's in the middle of a city, but it feels wild. There's a protected cove or a long spit with water on all sides. There's lots of walkways and singular views of the city. Please note, it's near a weird part of town so I wouldn't go too early or late or leave the windows down in the car. But I've been dozens of times and there's never any problem.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Montara State Beach [view the full listing]

Hwy 1
Half Moon Bay, CA 94019

 
5edited: July 5th, 2007

George is right. It


We had a great time with Moxie at Montara. Lots of soft sand. Plenty of parking even on crowded days (though watch those No Parking Anytime signs). It is a leash-only beach and there are lifeguard on 4-wheelers so I bet they will give a ticket for major off-leash playing. The upside side is that you can sit and take in the sun, picnic, etc. and not have to worry about a frenzied dog pack running over your card game or sandwich. But yes, it is leash-only so it's only as fun as that offers... We also found there appears to be a middle walk down to the beach, at a easy slope. There's also a small natural river pond in the middle of the beach, good for exploring kids.

posted: July 5th, 2007

 

Shamrock Ranch Kennels [view the full listing]

Peralta Road
Pacifica, CA 94044
(650) 359-1627

 
5posted: July 1st, 2007

Great Facilities, Great Training


We took our Moxie here and she clearly had a great time. She also did a daily training regimen that was clearly done with a lot of love. She now obediently down stays, heels and other abilities we had a hard time teaching. Highly recommended.

 

Perfect Paws [view the full listing]

251 Sixth St.
San Francisco, CA 94103
(415) 550-8671

 
5posted: May 25th, 2007

Wonderful Puppy and Behavioral Training


This is where I took Puppy Training and it was great. A large safe place to practice. And David Roos, the owner, is a wonderful dog person. Any class they offer would be well worth it.

 

Dos Pinas [view the full listing]

251 Rhode Island St.
San Francisco, CA 94103
(415) 252-8220

 
5posted: May 14th, 2007

Outdoor Seating


Sometimes my biped will take me here when the Dogster/Catster HQ crew is having lunch. I can hangout outside while they order and sit with them at the outdoor tables. The food is pretty good. I know because there are ground scores to be had around the tables. (Note: my human does not think that is so great.) But it's great to be able to sit with them and get extra outdoors time with them!

2 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

Commodore Dog Park [view the full listing]

Commodore & Cherry Avenues
San Bruno, CA 94066

 
5posted: May 13th, 2007

A Nice Safe Place


I head been hearing about Commodore for a while. It's about 10mi south of San Francisco, but I'll be going back often. It's a large fenced in area, with areas for both large and small dogs. There's room enough to run, chase and play, water for quad and bipeds alike, and real friendly people. I give it a 5 paws all around.

 

Millerton Point [view the full listing]

Highway 1
Point Reyes Station, CA 94956
(415) 669-1140

 
5posted: April 30th, 2007

Great uncrowded dog friendly coast


Millerton offers great views of Tomales Bay, Point Reyes and Inverness. Walk the beach out to a point in the middle of the Bay or stay near the picnic benches, there is plenty of great space to run and play. Dogs will love it, so will people.

 

Mission Pet Hospital [view the full listing]

720 Valencia St
San Francisco, CA 94110
(415) 552-1969

 
5posted: April 22nd, 2007

Great city vet clinic


We take Moxie there and they've been very helpful. This is a great example of an urban vet clinic. They don't waste money on oversized rooms or fancy address, but have everything inside you need. They've been great with Moxie and have been helpful making copies, sending faxes along, etc. They also work well with VPI insurance.

 

Farley's Coffee [view the full listing]

1315 18th Street
San Francisco, CA 94107

 
5posted: April 6th, 2007

So many coffee shops, but only one Farley's


Farley's is perfect. A neighborhood vibe from top to bottom. Great big wondows, free games, magazines from around the world. I like to take Moxie and sit out front. Always friendly people. I like that they don't have wifi, so the human component is not lost to huddled laptoppers. The coffee is great and the pastries are yummy.

 

Bernal Beast [view the full listing]

509 Cortland Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94110
(415) 643-7800

 
5posted: April 2nd, 2007

Great local store


Nice people with great stuff, right on the heart of Cortland Street. Don't miss nearby Bernal Hill park.

 

Esprit Park [view the full listing]

Minnesota St. Between 19th & 20th
San Francisco, CA 94107

 
5edited: February 20th, 2007

A great neighborhood park


While not the kind of dog park you go out of your way to get to, it's great for the neighborhood and always worth a stop if you're ever near. Just be sure to go off-leash on the north side. The non-dog neighbors were very generous in allowing the policy change even though the city wanted to keep it all leash-only. It's sunniest from 10am until 4pm.

posted: February 17th, 2007

 

The San Francisco SPCA [view the full listing]

2500 16th Street
San Francisco, CA 94103-4213
(415) 554-3000

 
5posted: February 16th, 2007

Where we adopted our dog


We were so impressed with the SF SPCA. Everything was the perfect blend of profressional and caring. The facilities are airy, clean and there is always someone available to answer questions or make sure every dog and cat has everything they need. We were very impressed.

 

Ratings

Kite Hill Dog Park: 5 Moxie
Dawn Ranch Lodge: 5 Moxie
Russian River Canoes: 5 Moxie
Peninsula Humane Society & SPCA: 5 Moxie