Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Furry Tales [view the full listing]

225-B King St.
San Francisco, CA 94107
(415) 618-0275

 
5posted: March 28th, 2008

Cute clothes!


Mommy loves bringing us here to check out the clothes. There are lots of cool toys there, too! And I got a nice haircut there once. We love this place!

 

Bark to Basics [view the full listing]

 
5posted: March 28th, 2008

We love daycare!


Lulu and I have been going to Bark to Basics for about 6 months now and we love it! Since we're both little and big dogs scare us sometimes, we appreciate being somewhere that all our doggie pals are our size! The yard and the indoor room have everything we need for fun as well as for resting and snuggling.

 

Costeaux French Bakery & Cafe [view the full listing]

417 Healdsburg Avenue
Healdsburg, CA 95448
(707) 433-1913

 
5posted: July 2nd, 2007

Fantastic find!


We had a wonderful brunch here while in Healdsburg. The food was delicious. The service is not what you expect from a casual place like this. The servers don't miss a beat and you're well taken care of. The covered patio is spacious and airy. Fans cool you off on warm days and heaters to warm you up on cold ones. Since it's covered, you can enjoy dining with your dog in the patio even in the rain.

 

Cafe La Scala [view the full listing]

1219 Burlingame Avenue
Burlingame, CA 94010

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007


I never thought it would be so difficult finding a place for brunch with Sophie on Burlingame Ave. At first, we stopped at Stacks. There are tables outside but there's no service. I was told that we can get the food to go and eat outside. No thanks. Then we crossed the street to Il Fornaio. I was told we can order from the counter and someone will bring the food out to us. What does a gal have to do to get some service around here? After walking up and down Burlingame Ave., we found Cafe La Scala. Finally, a place with table outside and provides service to those tables! We really enjoyed our meal there. The food was not out of this world, but delicious nonetheless. First, I love the garlic and spice infused olive oil served with the bread. Our lentil soup, free with entree, was like a tasty minestrone with lentil in it. It was good, but got much better when I added some of the garlic from the infused oil. Hubby ate every last bit of the two plump chicken cannelloni smothered in a tomato cream sauce. I enjoyed my penne with pancetta in a spicy marinara, which had a nice heat than got hotter with each bite. I, of course, had to add some more of that garlic to it. Our server was very friendly and attended to us well. He even apologized for not checking on us while we were enjoying our entrees. That was really no need to but it's a very nice gesture. Prices are definitely reasonable. 3 stars for the food and one more for great service. We won't be making a trip from SF just to eat there. However, if we're in the neighborhood, I think we will pay another visit.

 

Walter Haas Park and Playground [view the full listing]

Diamond Heights Boulevard and Addison
San Francisco, CA 94131

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


A little neighborhood park that has a little something for everyone. There's the really nice play area for kids. An enclosed dog play area for the pooches. An amazing view and nice grassy area for people who want to have a picnic and chill. Conveniently located and plenty of parking. The downside of this place: no bathroom.

 

Baker Beach [view the full listing]

25th Avenue and El Camino Del Mar
San Francisco, CA 94101
(415) 556-0560

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


The south (non-nude) end of Baker Beach is a nice place to walk your dog. With the Golden Gate Bridge in the background, it's also a nice place to take pictures. Bring a blanket to sit on, coffee to keep you warm and a stick to play fetch with your pup.

 

Seal Point Park [view the full listing]

1901 J. Hart Clinton Drive
San Mateo, CA 94401

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


Sophie had a ton of fun at this park today. She loves parks that are for small dogs only since she's been ran over by big dogs one too many times. The small dog space is a good size one where the wee ones can get plenty of exercise. It's quite a lot bigger than the small dog park in Foster City. There are benches in the shade if you want to stay out of the sun. The fire hydrants add a cool touch to the space. Humans can sit on them and the dogs can you-know-what on them. Poop bags are available by the gate from the parking lot if you forgot to bring your own. There are plenty of water bowls and water available. There is a much larger dog park next to the small dog area that is opened to dogs of all sizes. A clean bathroom (with toilet seat covers!) by the dog park is much appreciated. And on a hot day like today, the ice cream man provided the perfect cold treats.

 

Foster City Dog Park [view the full listing]

Foster City Blvd at Bounty Dr
Foster City, CA 94404

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


Enclosed dog park just for small dogs? We had to check it out when we're in the area. I'm indifferent about the astroturf. Sophie didn't seem to mind it at all. She had a great time running around and making friends with other pooches her size. I like that there are plenty of benches and chairs for people, both under the sun and under the shade. Water and poop bags are readily available. Since Sophie had such a great time there, it gets 5 paws, I mean stars.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Christopher's Playground [view the full listing]

5290 Diamond Heights Boulevard
San Francisco, CA 94131

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


We discovered this place recently and it's become Sophie's favorite place! There are lots of friendly dogs, many little ones, for her to play with. There is plenty of space for her to run around. It is NOT an off leash area. However, many dogs do run around leash free. There is a baseball diamond in the middle grassy area, so make sure your pup stays away from there when a game is on. For those who likes to hike, there is a trail that leads down to the Glen Canyon. When speaking to some people today, we're told that up on the playground, there are mostly small dogs. Down in the canyon, however, there are mainly big dogs. When you bring your pup, make sure s/he stays away from the children play area as dogs are not allowed. Love that we can get coffee at Creighton's before heading over to the playground, or grab a quick bite over at Choice Yakiniku. Do bring a jacket as it's usually windy there. FYI - Just found out that the police academy is right by the playground. So, the place is quite safe.

 

Pawsarotti's [view the full listing]

4040 Sonoma Hwy
Santa Rosa, CA 95406
(707) 539-7297

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


A cool pet store with stuff for pets and humans. There is a good selection of high quality food and decent selections of toys and treat. Nice animal theme gifts for the home. Susan was very nice to us and our pup. It's a step above from your regular pet supply stores.

 

Lakewood Pets [view the full listing]

9084 Brooks Road
Windsor, CA 95492
(707) 838-2121

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


Cool pet supply store with good selection and good prices. Unlike lots of pet stores that tend to emphasize on dog and cat supplies, you can find a large selection of small animal and reptile supplies. Friendly staff is a plus.

 

Granary Feed Store [view the full listing]

19626 8th St E
Sonoma, CA 95476
(707) 938-8011

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


Granary Feed Store has a lot of supplies for livestocks. When we visited, there were also a bunch of chicks for sale. However, it also carries some really high quality food and treats for dogs. There is also a decent selection of toys.

 

Three Dog Bakery [view the full listing]

526 Broadway Avenue
Sonoma, CA 95476
(707) 933-9780

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


So, its a chain. But, this place produce some great treats for dogs, and even cats. (I also love the cookbooks!) Sophie got a sample of the carrot cake and she just loved it. We got her a slice along with some cookies, roasted coconut ice cream and a mini Easter Cake (she'll get to eat that tomorrow, Easter Sunday). So far, she likes everything we got her. Other than treats, there are also some nice clothing, toys and accessories. Prices are quite good. A toy I almost bought the day before for $12.95, was selling for $4.95 here!

 

Plaza De Paws [view the full listing]

1429 Burlingame Avenue
Burlingame, CA 94010

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


Doggie beer, anyone? This is a nice big store filled with lots of great stuff for your pets. I really love the large selection of doggie clothing. It carries wonderful jackets and sweaters, cute t-shirts, darling dresses and more. Lots of leash, collar and harness options available. There are also lots of toys, a puppy section, strollers and carriers, and even fancy cat trees. Other than a large selection of dog and cat supplies, they also have quite a lot of good stuff for small animals. Lots of high end products for everyone. There are even gifts for humans. If you spoil your pets, this is another great store for you.

 

Pets Delight [view the full listing]

390 State Street
Los Altos, CA 94022

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


We were in the neighborhood yesterday where Sophie met and played with a friendly German shepherd. Her owner told us about Pet's Delight so we decided to check it out. It's kind of a cross between your neighborhood pet supplies shop and a fou fou boutique. Though the store isn't very big, it does have a large selection of everything pets need. Lots of organic items. A great selection of raw food. Prices are average. One minor thing was annoying: no price tags on many items. We got some freeze dried peanut butter ice cream for dogs. It's the first time I've seen this product. It's not cheap - $5 for a 3/4 oz bag. But it's for Sophie. Turns out she really, really likes it. Sophie also loves the frozen lamb lollipops! We also saw some really nicely made pet steps that can be turn into ramps. It comes in 2 or 3 steps. The clerk was very nice in helping us measure them. We will most likely order one for the little one. We will definitely come back again. No doubt Sophie will want more ice cream.

 

Our Best Friends [view the full listing]

301 2nd Street
Petaluma, CA 94952
(707) 763-6560

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


This place is really more than a pet store. Not only will you find great toys, treats and clothings for your pets, there are also plenty for us humans. There are lots of gift items such as mugs, picture frames, figurines and clothing. Stephanie took time to give Sophie some love and chit chat with us about the new developments in the area. I totally see this place as a great neighborhood pet place.

 

My Furry Tails Dog Boutique [view the full listing]

309 N Santa Cruz Avenue
Los Gatos, CA 95030
(408) 399-3038

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


This is a cute, cute, cute little store, and I do mean little. The store itself is smaller than the outdoor walkway, which is lined with some really adorable dog and cat bowls. Though the place is small, it's filled with a good selection of toys, treats, accessories and clothing. The store is definitely geared toward the wee ones. Sophie found some darling little turtles to add to her toy collection. They were quite inexpensive so we got her two (total $7) and she just adores them. I had to use my will power to not get her the "tree huger" t-shirt (well, it was a little small for her....). If you have a spoiled little dog, this place is worth checking out.

 

Vineyard Dog [view the full listing]

1136 Main Street
Napa, CA 94559
(707) 226-5300

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


This is definitely a store for people who don't mind paying big bucks to spoil their pets. It carries the usual stuff you find at many fou fou dog boutiques. The "wine barrel" beds are just so very Napa. They are made out of actual wine barrels. Service is very friendly but prices aren't. I saw the exact same toys here that cost almost 3 times the price elsewhere. Not everything is way overpriced. Knowing generally how much what cost is going to help not spend way too much money on an item. Still, I'm a sucker for nice dog boutiques and will no doubt pay another visit when we're in the area.

 

My Dog Bakery [view the full listing]

208 Davis Street
Santa Rosa, CA 95406
(707) 578-7297

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


My Dog Bakery is one of the two places in the Bay Area where I have been able to get freeze dried doggie ice cream. It's also a place where I can get doggie popcorn at a more reasonable price, $2.49 a pack instead of $3.99 I paid for elsewhere. Lots of clothing, toys, treats, beds, bags and gifts available here. There are also some "unique" treats here like cat poop cookies (presented on a bed of "cat litter") for your pooch and doggie dodo treats (in the shape of dodo, chocolate flavor) for humans. You can get custom cakes for your pooch here as well. Friendly service is another bonus.

 

Healdsburg Dog House [view the full listing]

212 Healdsburg Avenue
Healdsburg, CA 95448
(707) 431-1044

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


Natalie reminds me a lot of Allison at our neighborhood boutique, Citipets. She seems like she genuinely loves animal. She is also quite knowledgeable about the products. She was also very enthusiastic about the upcoming Healdsburg Canine Carnival (benefiting Healdsburg Animal Shelter) and invited us to come along. There is a good selection of toys, clothing and treats at reasonable prices. Sophie ended up with some salmon sushi that she loves. If we live in the area, no doubt we would visit this place on a regular basis.

 

Fideaux [view the full listing]

43 Healdsburg Ave
Healdsburg, CA 95448
(707) 967-9935

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007


I love fancy pet boutiques. I spend a lot of time and money at these places. Fideaux is one of those that just didn't do much for me. It's a nice big store with lots of fancy stuff. However, other than some really great pet arts (I was so tempted to get the print with the dog sleeping in the middle of this couple in bed - how art imitates life!), I didn't really find anything unique there. Prices are a bit high. I saw the same hand painted dog bowl at another store for $16 and it's $25 at Fideaux! A $9 difference on a $16 bowl is more than 50%, quite outrageous. I much prefer Healdsburg Dog House a few blocks away.

 

Happy Go Lucky Dog Boutique [view the full listing]

925 Blossom Hill Road
San Jose, CA 95123
(408) 360-0508

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


If you want clothes for your pooch, this place has THE largest selection in the Bay Area that I've seen. There are clothes, more clothes, and more clothes, filling up all corners of the store. Like many stores, the selection for the wee ones dominates. However, there are also lots to choose from for the big babies. We happened upon a great sale over the weekend. A whole lotta dog beds were on sale. We got a big round bed for Sophie (even though she can fit in the small one) for $20! I also almost bought her a fuzzy bunny outfit, complete with bunny ears, for half price. Hubby had to put his foot down on that one. There is no way he would be caught dead walking Sophie in that! (In the end, I won and now Sophie owns a bunny outfit!) Well, prices are good compare to other dog boutiques. Service was extremely friendly. Oscar, the resident pooch is just darling. No doubt we will return to pick up more summer clothes for Sophie.

 

George - Berkeley [view the full listing]

1844 4th Street
Berkeley, CA 94710
(510) 644-1033

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


George is another great pet store for high end pet products. There are lots of high quality treats for your darlings. This is where one of our friends got Sophie some doggie beer. This space is a little more roomy than the SF location.

 

Metro Pooch [view the full listing]

241 E. Campbell Ave.
Campbell, CA 95008
(408) 379-2275

 
2posted: June 29th, 2007


Out of all the pet boutiques, I have to say that this one is my least favorite. The person working there was very nice, but that was about it. There just aren't a lot of things to choice from in that store. Very limited selection of treats and accessories. The clothing selection is decent, but not great compare to other boutiques. I'm not sure how long this store will be at its current location. There is a "for lease" sign in the window with "do not disturb occupant" on it.

 

Gussied Up [view the full listing]

1310 Lincoln Ave
San Jose, CA 95125
(408) 289-9511

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


This is a really cute store. Clothing selection is good. Treat selection is great! I found some treats that I've not seen before. I got Sophie some carrot wrapped in chicken and she loves them! Other than carrot, you can also get apple, sweet potato and banana ones. She was spoiled that day and also got some truffles, which are carob covered cookies. She loves them, too.... Service was friendly but borderline pushy. We were browsing for clothes and the staff ended up showing us a bunch of clothes we already looked at (and passed over). I had to politely turned down half a dozen suggestions. Still, that didn't put me off too much as I know they were really just trying to be helpful. Prices are not that different than other dog boutiques. It may be a little higher for some products. All in all, a nice place for the spoiled pups.

 

Fivepaw Bakery [view the full listing]

315 Main Street
Los Altos, CA 94022

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


It's a nice little store. It has a little of everything there, but you won't find a great selection of any one item. Prices range from being really good to a little overpriced. I once got Sophie a sweater here for $40 and saw it at another pet boutique in Palo Alto for $60+! The homemade treats are great. Sophie isn't really into biscuits anymore; she's too lazy to chew. But she still loves those soft oatmeal cookies. This is THE place for me to get yogurt chips from to frost my homemade blueberry muffins for Sophie. You can also get carob chips. I'm wary of them though since I burnt them the last time I tried frosting dog biscuits.... The owners are very nice people who obviously love animals. I find them to be friendly and helpful. It's not really a place to stock up on your basic supplies. But it's a great place to get to get your pooch a treat and/or accessories.

 

Bowlicious Pet Boutique [view the full listing]

345 Stanford Shopping Center
Palo Alto, CA 94304
(650) 321-8269

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


Bacon flavored popcorn? There's pepperoni, peanut butter and cheddar flavors as well. I couldn't help myself and got Sophie some. Of course, she loves it. What a cute store! It's really a store for the little dogs. A lot of cute clothing, many of them only come in small sizes. Sophie barely fits into a Large. Watch out for the prices though. I was at Five Paw Bakery in Los Altos right before heading to Standford and picked up a sweater for Sophie for $40. The exact sweater at Bowlicious is $60+! Ouch! Glad I went to Five Paw first.... However, not everything is way overpriced. I picked up a Bella Bean harness to check the price and it wasn't much of a difference than getting it from the Bella Bean store. I did pick up a cute t-shirt made to be decorated with fabric markers. One more thing, it does have a discount card. You get one sticker on the card for each $10. When the card is full, I believe 10 slots or so, you get 10% off of one item. Make sure to ask for it as the staff didn't really announce it. I just happened to pick up what I thought was a business card.

 

Bow Wowzer [view the full listing]

100 N Santa Cruz Ave
Los Gatos, CA 95030
(408) 395-2285

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


Clothes, clothes and more clothes! If you like to dress up your little one, you will love this place. Sophie got herself a cupcake t-shirt and some monkey fleece pajamas. Most of the clothes are for wee ones, but I think I saw some items for larger dogs. There are plenty of accessories to go along with those adorable outfits. This place carries some of the cutest dog cookies around. Those mini flip flop cookies are just darling. Other than cookies though, the treat selection is a little limited. Toys, beds, carriers, etc. You're sure to find something for your pooch. There are plenty also for human, from books to gift items. If you have a cat, check out the large selection of everything cat at the other end of the store (Purrsnickety).

 

Best Friends of the Napa Valley [view the full listing]

6525 Washington Street
Yountville, CA 94599
(707) 945-0125

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


A really cute store inside Vintage 1870. The place is small but has a good selection of stuff. Prices are reasonable from the stuff I checked out. It's not a place you get your regular supplies (i.e. food) from. It's more the cute clothing and fancy treat type store. Sophie couldn't help herself and grabbed a toy (and ran!) from a bin on the floor. Good thing the toy wasn't expensive.

 

Strings Italian Cafe [view the full listing]

511 Westlake Center
Daly City, CA 94016
(650) 756-3548

 
2posted: June 29th, 2007


We went there for lunch today because we were picking grocery at Westlake. We had Sophie with us so we asked to sit outside. When the server came out, she asked if we just want to tie Sophie outside instead. I gave her a very stern look and a very stern NO. (Sophie is so little and friendly, someone can easily snatch her up!) Not a good first impression at all. She came across as someone who would rather not be bother to clean the table and service us outside. Why the heck do you bother with having outdoor tables then? Anyway, she did managed to get a table set up for us and she was very friendly throughout the meal afterward. The food here is about average. Maybe a small step above Olive Garden in terms of taste and value. The minestrone soup (all entrees come with soup or salad) was one of the worst version, if not the worst, I've had. It was filled with a weird combination of vegetables. It had lots and lots of zucchini, some cabbage and 2 pieces of carrot. The zucchini was so overcooked that it looked like it's been in the broth for days! Yellow and mushy. The broth tasted nothing like vegetables, more like some strange seasoning blend. Thankfully, the entrees were better. Hubby had the Chicken Parmesan and Lasagna Pastry combo and I had the Chicken Lombardy. My chicken was not as tender as I like, but had a nice sauce of artichoke hearts, mushroom and marsala wine. It came with a side of spaghetti that seemed to have the same sauce as the chicken with maybe a little tomato paste added to it. It's strange but the spaghetti reminds me of the versions that you find at Hong Kong style cafes. I had small bites of hubby's food and thought both items were decent, but nothing special. Prices here are a little high. Yes, you do get soup or salad with your entree. And yes, portions are substantial. But, the quality isn't exactly stellar. And it's a chain, not a very good chain either. I believe the lunch specials are pretty good deals, but the weekend/holiday/evening menu (what we paid for today) is not great value.

 

Burgermeister [view the full listing]

507 Westlake Center
Daly City, CA 94014
(650) 755-1941

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007


We went to grab lunch there once and found out why there aren't too many outdoor dining places in Daly City. There were heaters except that they were out of gas. How we suffer for our pup Sophie. For a chain, the food this place is quite good. I got a bowl of chili along with some roasted garlic fries while hubby got a Philly cheese steak with onion rings. The chili was average. Taste like Wendy's and had more beans than I like. The fries, though, was really good. There was plenty of mellow roasted garlic, perfect for a garlic lover like myself. The cheese steak had lots of beef and pretty good flavor. The onion rings were really good. The batter is light and crispy. Service was friendly, attentive and efficient. Prices aren't cheap but not outrageous. If you're in the area, it is a good choice to grab a quick bite.

 

Daphne's Greek Cafe [view the full listing]

344 Westlake Center
Daly City, CA 94015

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007


For a fast food chain, Daphne's isn't so bad. We've been there several times and like the food. The lemon chicken has a nice flavor and it's moist. The kabobs are decent, though they can be on the dry side. Gyros pita is another good choice. Fries are mediocre. Soup, salad and rice pilaf are all decent. Prices are decent but I wouldn't call this place cheap eats. Service has been friendly and efficient. This is definitely one of those places you eat at out of convenience. Don't make a special trip here.

 

Serramonte Pet Shop [view the full listing]

44 Serramonte Center
Daly City, CA 94015
(650) 992-7890

 
2posted: June 29th, 2007


This is a hard one. The store itself isn't that great. The selection there isn't great and the prices are high. BUT, that's where we got our baby Sophie. She was sitting quietly in one of those tiny cages looking out at us begging to be taken home. After visiting her a few times and much contemplating (since we usually adopt pets), she's just too darling to say no. We still go to the store when we're at Serramonte so we can pat the bunnies and visit the two-headed turtle. But we hardly ever buy anything there.

 

Bow Wow Meow [view the full listing]

737 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


I like this branch of Bow Wow Meow better than the San Francisco one. Again, lots of "spoiled pet" products to choose from there. It has a good variety of treats, clothing, toys, etc. However, prices are higher than I like. I can get the same treat for much less at another store. Customer service is a little chaotic there. I think the main problem is that people who are dropping off their pets for grooming are lumped together at the same counter. We decided to have Sophie's behind shaved while we shop. Even though we didn't have an appointment, she was taken care of right away and it only took 5 minutes. Waiting in line to pay for her treats took double the time....

 

Sunset Pet Supply [view the full listing]

2226 Taraval Street
San Francisco, CA 94116
(415) 661-4236

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007


After reading some raving reviews, I decided to stop by and check out this place. Treat, toy, clothing and small animal supply selections here are decent, but not great. I wasn't able to find the beef tendons that Sophie likes, which most pet stores carry. I walked by the food isles and there seems to be a good selection. Compare to B&B, where I shop regularly, prices are higher. Flossies are $3.99 here and $2.79 at B&B. A can of freeze dried liver treat (same brand and size) is $9+ here and $6.99 at B&B. To be fair, B&B has always been one of the cheapest shops around. Prices at Sunset Pet Supply may be comparable to many other pet stores in the city. I think it's great that the owners are active in organizing adoption and community events. The person helping us today may not be the most knowledgeable, but she was very friendly.

 

Puppy Haven [view the full listing]

772 Stanyan Street
San Francisco, CA 94117
(415) 751-7387

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007


Puppy Haven is nothing more than a neighborhood pet store. It carries a good selection of high quality food and an average selection of toys and treats. The man at the counter was friendly. There is grooming available. It's one of those places where you get your usual pet supplies from, if it's convenient. Not really a store to truck across town for.

 

Pet Source [view the full listing]

2900 Geary Boulevard
San Francisco, CA 94118
(415) 831-8688

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007


A pet store with carpet? Not sure what the owner is thinking but we all know that's not a good idea....Anyway, we visited fr the first time today while searching for a new cage for our chinchilla. There were only a few small cages so we passed on it. The interesting thing was that the guy who showed us the cage kept saying that those cages are really big for chinchillas. I mean, I would not put more than 2 rats in one of those cages. Maybe I just believe in giving my pets a lot of room. Anyway, we did walk around the store and found that it carries a large selection of food, toys and treats for dogs. Some of the treats I really haven't seen at other places. Sophie got herself some chicken on pork rib bones today along with some salmon sushi and a toy. Prices are high and it's not a place where I will shop at regularly. The staff members were all really nice to Sophie and gave her treats. Though friendly, I'm not sure how knowledgeable they are.

 

Critter Fritters Pet Foods & Supplies [view the full listing]

670 Chenery Street
San Francisco, CA 94131
(415) 239-7387

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007


I finally went into Critter Fritters today. My friend just got a chihuahua pup and I wanted to get the little one a sweater. No luck finding anything at Critter. No sweaters at all. And all the clothes for little dogs were made for girls, mostly pink. Alright, what about a toy instead? There just weren't a lot to choose from. Nothing really for a wee one. I gave up on finding a gift there. Maybe something for my Sophie? Couldn't find anything for her either. Not much in the treats department. Maybe it's alright as a neighborhood place to pick up the basics. But it's not a place for our spoiled one.

 

The Animal Connection [view the full listing]

2550 Judah Street
San Francisco, CA 94122
(415) 564-6482

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007


We used to shop at Animal Connections, until we discovered B & B.... The upside of this place is that you can get live feeds and such. Large selection of exotic pet supplies. We actually got our chinchilla Pooki and our late hamster Teddy there. The staff are generally knowledgeable. The downside is that the prices. They're not unreasonable, I can just get them cheaper elsewhere. Also, I've found bugs quite a few times in the bunny and hamster feeds.

 

Peche Mignon [view the full listing]

147 Clement Street
San Francisco, CA 94118
(415) 221-6000

 
4edited: June 29th, 2007


Oo-La-La! This place is just adorable! DO NOT GO IF YOU DON'T HAVE SELF CONTROL! I could easily blow my paycheck buying stuff for home and gifts for friends. Lots of things caught my eyes that day. I was so tempted to get the dishes with those darn cute cats on them. Alas, it's tax season and we owe this year....I had to be good, even though I wanted to be so bad....Be warn, items come with hefty price tags here. But that's to be expected for high quality French imports. Oh yeah, dogs are welcomed.

posted: June 29th, 2007

 

Happy Pet [view the full listing]

709 Taraval Street
San Francisco, CA 94116
(415) 566-2952

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


Not much of pet supplies there except for lots of yummy, healthy treats for you dogs and cats. This is actually the storefront for Canine Confections. Sophie seems to enjoy the treats and they are reasonably priced. A great place to pick up gifts for the holiday for yours and your friends' pets.

 

Cal's Pet Supply [view the full listing]

5950 California Street
San Francisco, CA 94121
(415) 386-1720

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


On the search for a new chinchilla cage, we stopped by at Cal's to see if can find one. Nope, not a whole lot of small animal supplies. I saw a good selection of food and treats for dogs and cats. Love that there are bags of free food sample available, as well as some treat samples to for your pooch to try out at the store. We asked the owner about cages and he recommended a company he got his cage from for his chinchilla. He's very nice and a great resource.

 

Osso & Co. [view the full listing]

501 Broderick Street
San Francisco, CA 94117
(415) 447-8543

 
5edited: June 29th, 2007


Right from the window displays, I knew this would be a place Sophie will get spoiled in. I have to say that this place is definitely dog centered. There are stuff for other pets, but the selections are quite limited. But for the pooch, it's heaven. Bins of toys, a wall dedicated to collars and leashes, another wall is covered with food bowls and dining accessories, unique beds, houses, and carriers, and loads of clothing. It has the most soccer jackets we have seen anywhere. We were told that the soccer jackets are designed for Osso & Co. and that they get them first before they are distributed to other stores. Hubby is excited to learn that the next batch will include an England one, which is due out in April. He always wanted Sophie to have an England jacket to match his. Anyway, we ended up with a new harness/leash combo for Sophie today. And of course, a new poop bag holder to match. Though it cost almost $100, it would be about the same price getting the same items elsewhere. I checked out the clothes and the prices are also competitive. The person who helped us was very friendly and just adored Sophie. He was very helpful and knowledgeable. Needless to say, we will be back!

posted: June 29th, 2007

 

North Beach Pet Supply [view the full listing]

801 Greenwich Street
San Francisco, CA 94133
(415) 885-0550

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


We were there once a very long time ago and thought this place was really expensive. This was before we got a dog. We stopped by again and found that the prices here weren't bad after all, comparing to other similar pet stores in the city. It has a really good selection of clothing, toys and treats. The woman at the store was very helpful. I assume she's the owner as she was talking about having ordered too much winter clothing that she need to sell them before getting spring/summer attire for the store. There was a really nice sale going on for most of the clothing there, mostly sweaters and jackets. Sophie ended up with a nice little dress, which is her very first dress. No doubt we will be visiting here again.

 

Bella Bean Couture [view the full listing]

1826 Divisadero Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
(415) 474-1205

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


I've been a fan of Bella Bean Couture before it opened its flagship store. Even though you can get Bella Bean at many pet boutiques, it is worth visiting the store for the exclusives. We got Sophie a store exclusive pink collar (comes in blue as well) that has poodles and schnauzers on it, perfect for schnoodles! There are also some unique dog bags, food/water bowls, toys, accessories and gifts for humans.

 

B 44 [view the full listing]

44 Belden Place
San Francisco, CA 94104
(415) 986-6287

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


Though we've only been there twice, this is definitely one of our favorite restaurants in San Francisco. The food is divine and service always great. My favorite dish is the Fideua Negra, noodle paella with squid ink. There is a large, heated outdoor space that is dog friendly. It's a great place to get some really good food with your wee one.

 

Palomino [view the full listing]

345 Spear
san Francisco, CA 94105

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007


After not being able to get dinner at Americano, we needed another restaurant with outdoor seating. Palomino is not too far away, maybe we'll have better luck. We did. Found a parking spot right outside the building. I walked inside to find someone about getting a table outside and was told that I can pick a table of my choice. After we got a table, a server came out with the menu within a few minutes. Service continued to be attentive throughout our meal, which is not always the case when dining outdoor. I guess the weakest part of the restaurant was the food. The food was just average. The bread is decent and came with a tasty tomato/basil/garlic/feta mixture. We shared the fried calamari for appetizer. The crust was really crispy. But many of the pieces were so small that there was more crust than calamari. I had the spaghetti with Kobe meatball and hubby got the baked 4 cheese penne. The penne was good and the spaghetti just ok. We also got a side order of grill chicken for Sophie. It was a little overcooked as the grill marks tasted quite bitter. I had to remove those parts before giving the chicken to Sophie. But I was really surprised that we were only charged $4 for the side of chicken. Prices were quite reasonable overall.

 

Noe Valley Pet Company [view the full listing]

1451 Church Street
San Francisco, CA 94131

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


This is a nice neighborhood place. It just has a very homey feel. There is a good selection of toys and some nice clothing. Lots of food and treats to choose from. Staff has always been friendly and helpful to us. Prices seem to be reasonable. The only downside is that it doesn't carry small animal supplies, not even the basics. If you're like me, have dog, cat and small animals, this won't be a one stop shop for you.

 

Jeffrey's Natural Pet Foods and Supplies [view the full listing]

3809 18th Street
San Francisco, CA 94114
(415) 864-1414

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


Though the place isn't big, there seems to be a little of everything in there. The first thing hubby noticed was the soccer jackets. He went through the pile and found an Italia one. Since we're going to North Beach later that day, he thought it would be great having Sophie in it. Other than the jacket, we also got a frisbee. There are some really cute water and food bowls as well as tons of treats. It's a nice little store.

 

Catnip & Bones [view the full listing]

2220 Chestnut Street
San Francisco, CA 94123
(415) 359-9100

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


We got Sophie the cutest monkey pajamas. She also got a beautiful purple sweater from there. The store is filled with cute clothes and yummy treats. It's not a place that I would get the regular supplies (i.e. food) from. But it's definitely a great place to get nice gifts for the pups you love.

 

Bow Wow Meow [view the full listing]

2150 Polk Street
San Francisco, CA 94109
(415) 440-2845

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007


Though it has a good selection of high end products, customer service is hit or miss. The first time we're there, the person helping us couldn't really help us. The last time we were there though, the person helping us was able to answer all our questions. Prices also seem to be very high there. The last time we were there, I checked the price of one of Sophie's usual treats. It's almost double of what I usually pay for! For one reason or another, we're just not really into this store.

 

Best in Show [view the full listing]

300 Sanchez Street
San Francisco, CA 94114
(415) 863-7387

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


Everyone at the store just adores Sophie. She is showered with affections every time we are there. The staff are knowledgeable and always helpful. Yes, it's another one of those "for spoiled pets" places that we frequent. It's really hard to walk out of the store without finding something I want to get for our pup. We also enjoy the activities they have at the store. We had fun at the Autumn Fest. Doesn't hurt that Sophie won for best costume!

 

Best in Show - Castro [view the full listing]

545 Castro Street
San Francisco, CA 94199
(415) 864-7387

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


We love both locations of Best in Show. This space is a little more open than the Sanchez store, which is perfect for the pooches to meet and greet. The main difference seems to be that this location has a larger selection of clothing while the other ones has more food items, at least on display. Lots of toys and treats to choose from. Like all the other fou fou boutiques, some of the prices are high, while others are quite competitive. Service is always excellent. The knowledgeable staff is always there to answer our questions. I love that this store works with local animal rescue organizations.

 

Bella and Daisy [view the full listing]

1750 Union Street
San Francisco, CA 94123
(415) 440-7007

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


This is why Sophie loves Bella & Daisy's *Yappy hours (free!) every Friday. *The place to get Juicy Couture for pooches. *Great selection of clothing, from formal to costumes to raincoats. *Lots of wonderful accessories. *Yummy treats! *People who works there are all dog lovers. *Toys, toys and more toys!

 

Babies [view the full listing]

235 Gough Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
(415) 701-7387

 
5edited: June 29th, 2007


Babies is a place for your spoiled one. It has a really great selection of dog bags, clothings, toys, accessories and treats. Prices are high, but that's because of the high end items it carries. You'll find that the prices are comparable to other boutiques on those high end stuff. Believe it or not, Babies does guarantee low prices. I saw a sign in the window that said it'll bet competitors' price by 10%! Dogs sure appreciate the bowls of water and treats by the door.

posted: June 29th, 2007

 

Wag Hotels [view the full listing]

25 14th Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
(415) 876-0700

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007

It's a fancy kennel.


Come on people. It's no hotel. It's a kennel that comes with lots of bells and whistles, which you would get charged a lot for. For the standard rate, you dog will spend 22 hours a day in that little kennel. If you dog required more attention, like "business walks", you will be charged for. So will some one on one time. You easily spend over $100 a night if you get your pup the best suite and some extra TLC. Definitely take a tour if you think you may broad your dog there. By the way, the suites don't look anywhere as nice as they do on the website. The good things, there are a few. The webcam is a nice touch, if you must put your pup there. The store carries some really cute items for you and your pup. Be prepare to pay boutique prices though. The big thing is that there is a community room that Wag allows local animal rescue groups to use for free.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Sirius Dog Training [view the full listing]

SF Hound Lounge
2825 Mariposa Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
(415) 864-1374

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007


Fawn and Tammy are great people and dog trainers. Through puppy class, Sophie blossomed from a shy little thing into a playful pup.

 

Park Chalet [view the full listing]

1000 Great Highway
San Francisco, CA 94121
(415) 386-8439

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007


Atmosphere and dog friendliness, this place is top-notch. Food, though, isn't. And prices are quite high for the quality and quantity. Service varies from really good to barely there. When you go for brunch, do know that there are 2 different menus. One is served inside and on the paved patio, the other is for the lawn - they are very different and you can only order from the menu where you're sat.

 

South Paw BathHouse & Feed Co. [view the full listing]

199 Brannan Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
(415) 882-7297

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007


For some reason, I like Pawtrero much better than South Paw. I think South Paw tries too hard to be a fou fou store while Pawtrero is that comfy, homey, neighborhood place. I've been there several times and ended up walking out empty handed except for once. That's saying a lot, since Sophie gets something 99.9% of the time when we go to pet stores, even when she visits 5 different stores in a day!

 

Pawtrero Hill Bathouse & Feed [view the full listing]

199 Mississippi St
San Francisco, CA 94107
(415) 863-7297

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007


It's a nice neighborhood supply place. Lots of high quality food to choose from. I find it lacking in the treats department though. Prices aren't the best, but not ridiculous.

 

Park Chow [view the full listing]

1238 9th Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94122
(415) 665-9912

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007

Great for rainy days!


I'm personally not a fan of the food here. But, this is one of the few, if not only, places in San Francisco to take your dog when it's raining outside. The heated, covered patio in front is just perfect for that.

 

George [view the full listing]

2411 California Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
(415) 441-0564

 
4posted: June 29th, 2007

Nice boutique.


What can I say about George? Yes, prices are high, but that's to be expected for a boutique. You don't really want to get your everyday supplies at places like this. But, you can find some nice gifts and treats for your spoiled ones.

 

Bernal Heights Park [view the full listing]

Bernal Heights BLVD & Folsom St
San Francisco, CA 94115

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007

It's a great big hill!


It's a nice area for pups to run around off leash. There aren't any bells and whistles about this place. It's just a lot of open space. It does have a great view of the city though.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

B & B Pet Supplies [view the full listing]

4820 Geary Boulevard
San Francisco, CA 94118
(415) 221-7711

 
3posted: June 29th, 2007

Missing the old owners.


This place is just not the same anymore since the new owners took over. Even with restructuring the store, adding new computer checkouts, and double the amount of staff, it is taking longer to get assistance and to pay for your stuff. You can have only 2 people in front of you in line and it's still a 10 minutes wait. Some prices are still the lowest in town, but I think the owners may have raised some prices. As for selections, you will find a wide variety of food, treats, toys, grooming supplies and small animals/fish supplies.

 

Irving Pet Hospital [view the full listing]

1434 Irving St
San Francisco, CA 94122
(415) 664-0191

 
5posted: June 29th, 2007

Best vets around!


We've been clients of Irving Street for the past 8 years. They have taken extremely good care of all our babies, past and present. Other than dogs and cats, they also work with other small animals. They have treated our bunnies, rats, hamsters and chinchilla. All the vets, techs and front desk staff are great with animals. If you have more than one pet, bring them in together if you're going for annual exams, nail trims, etc. because you'll get a multi-pet discount.

 

Citipets [view the full listing]

183 West Portal Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94127
(415) 522-9730

 
5posted: June 28th, 2007

Sophie's favorite!


Finally, a nice pet store in the neighborhood! Allison and Barbara (owners) are just the biggest animal lovers around. They are also very knowledgeable and very accommodating to your pet's needs. Sophie is usually there every weekend to visit them. She loves Barbara and is crazy for Allison. Why? Because Allison gets on the floor and plays with her whenever she gets a chance! Oh yeah, the owners are usually there on weekends only because they are dog walkers during the week. Lots of good stuff and reasonable prices (comparable to Pet Food Express). If you're looking for top quality food and treats, you'll find plenty there.

 

Vintage Inn [view the full listing]

6541 Washington Street
Yountville, CA 94599
(707) 944-1112

 
5posted: June 28th, 2007

My first hotel stay!


Sophie had a great time at this dog friendly hotel. There is a $40 pet fee, which gets you a goodie bag on arrival. Be careful with the treats though as there are some cookies made from wine included. Since grape is toxic for dogs, I didn't take a chance and threw them out. There are plenty of dog friendly restaurants and a great pet store within walking distance. For the humans, you get a bottle of free wine on arrival, free tea service as well as breakfast (both are yummy!). It is pricey but well worth it!

 

Zazie [view the full listing]

941 Cole Street
San Francisco, CA 94101

 
3posted: June 28th, 2007

Nice patio!


Pups are allowed on the heated patio on Monday nights only! The rest of the time, there are tables outside the restaurant on the sidewalk that are dog friendly. Would give 5 paws for meeting other doggies. But it's only getting 3 paws because the food isn't very good and service generally slow.