Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Hampstead Britannia Hotel London [view the full listing]

Primrose Hill Road
London, GB NW3 3NA
UNITED KINGDOM

 
1posted: December 16th, 2007

Great location but no dogs allowed


Mom was looking into this hotel for our trip to England next spring and actually went to have a look during her last stay in London. Unfortunately, the only dogs allowed are service dogs so no holiday for me here. :( It's a pity really because it's just a five minute stroll away from Primrose Hill Park.

 

Pierre and Vacances Citi Aparthotel Montmartre [view the full listing]

10 Place Charles Dullin
Paris, FR 75018
FRANCE

 
5edited: December 9th, 2007

great location, clean and comfortable


This hotel is a great find in Paris. It's just a few seconds away from the steps of Montmartre (with Sacre Coeur, etc) and close to the Metro. Still, it's at the end of a small road and therefore relatively quiet (if you consider being in the middle of a big city). They have different sizes of apartments. We rented the one for four people which included a small kitchen area and big bathroom (by Paris standards). We also had a nice little balcony going out to the courtyard. The staff was very friendly and professional. There is a tiny convenience store around the corner but we suggest using the big supermarket close to the Metro station as that was MUCH cheaper. :)

posted: December 9th, 2007

 

Quality Inn & Suites [view the full listing]

225 Aurora Avenue North
Seattle, WA 98109
(206) 728-7666

 
3posted: December 7th, 2007

Nice, clean and central


The hotel is nice and clean and the rooms were comfortable. It's within walking distance from the Space Needle (which unfortunately didn't allow dogs though). The location does have its downsides though. Aurora Ave is a VERY busy street so there is some noise, etc. Breakfast was just a small variety of muffins to choose from. The staff was nice though and there was plenty of parking. I'd say it's good for a short overnight stay but nothing for longer visits to Seattle.

 

Three Dog Bakery [view the full listing]

24 Smith Aly,
Pasadena, CA 91016
(626) 440-0443

 
5posted: December 7th, 2007

Yummy, yummy, yummy treats


Mom brought me home some of their cookies and I LOVED them. The store is very cute and carries a lot of accessories as well. But the main thing is of course the food which comes in lots and lots of different varieties!

 

Petco [view the full listing]

925 Orange ave
Coronado, CA 92118
(619) 437-6557

 
2posted: December 7th, 2007

nothing special


This is pretty much your regular neighbourhood Petco. The staff wasn't really attentive to the customers when we visited though. Mom was browsing through the shelves forever and noone ever asked if she needed help.

 

Counting Sheep Inn [view the full listing]

8715 Eagle Road
Mission, BC V2V 4J1
Canada
(604) 826-4821

 
5posted: December 6th, 2007

Lovely Inn in quiet surrounding


We stayed at this lovely country inn for a whole week and loved it. Dogs are allowed in the "Carriage" room which is also the family friendly room. It has a small kitchen area, nice bathroom, queen-size bed, fold-out couch and a fireplace. This room has a private entrance and French doors that lead to a private little yard. Looking out of the window you see nothing but lush greens - wooferful. Right next to the house is a big field where dogs can run off leash (and in case you should play too hard, there's a vet right next door - BOL). This is a working farm with chickens, sheep, etc so it's really exciting. There is also a small farm shop that sells nice souvenirs. Oh, and the breakfast is country style and brought to your room every morning, including a nice chat with the inn's owner. :)

 

Petcetera [view the full listing]

1, Park Royal South
West Vancouver, BC V5M 3T7
Canada
(604) 913-1040

 
4posted: December 5th, 2007

Nice store but nothing too special


I visited this store with my mom and liked it. It's a lot like the other big retailers so it's nothing super-special but we found this store to be well organised. They also have a Doggie Daycare, a clinic, and a Photography Center. There's plenty of parking and the staff was very nice.

 

The Little Dog Laughed [view the full listing]

816 Main St.
Cambria, CA 93428
(805) 927-0857

 
5posted: December 5th, 2007

Wooferful store


I'm sad to hear that the store doesn't seem to exist anymore. I really loved to visit during our vacation in early 2004. The people were extremely friendly and mom bought a lot of great souvenirs.

 

Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park [view the full listing]

3735 Capilano Road
North Vancouver, BC V7R 4J1
Canada
(604) 985-7474

 
5posted: December 5th, 2007

Lovely place and a must-see


I absolutely loved this place. The suspension bridge is a major attraction in Vancouver and definitely a must-see. It is a bit scary though if you're afraid of heights. An interesting fact is that scenes for a lot of movies and TV-shows have been filmed here.

 

Griffith Park Dog Park [view the full listing]

 
3posted: November 20th, 2007

Very hard to find and not spectacular


"A hidden park" describes this place well cause it took us forever to find it, even with directions. It's nothing too fancy but everyone and everypup there was nice and friendly. I've seen much nicer dog parks though, hence only three paws.

 

Cafe 1134 [view the full listing]

1134 Orange Avenue
Coronado, CA 92118

 
4posted: November 19th, 2007

Great breakfast


Mommy says that the breakfast here was delicious. I can't tell cause she didn't even give me a crump of her muffin. There are a few tables outside where you can people- and dogwatch. Sort of a trendy place on Coronado. :)

 

Pucci Petwear [view the full listing]

1 Horsted Square
Bellbrook Business Park
Uckfield, East Sussex TN22 1QG
UNITED KINGDOM

 
4posted: September 29th, 2007

Cool stuff but a little pricey


Mommy ordered two Christmas sweaters for me here last year. The quality of the sweaters is great and delivery was quick. We actually got everything delivered in a beautiful Pucci gift box. The clothes are a bit on the pricey side though which is why I'm giving this place only four paws.

 

Residence Inn Flagstaff [view the full listing]

3440 N Country Club Drive
Flagstaff, AZ 86004
19285265555

 
5edited: September 23rd, 2007

The best Residence Inn I


This is definitely the best Residence Inn I've visited so far. The others (see my other reviews) were great but this one was just outstanding. We sort of "stranded" there during a blizzard on our way to the Grand Canyon so we decided to cancel our hotel at the Canyon and check in here. It's located a little bit away from downtown Flagstaff and has a lot of nature around - great for walkies. The apartments were pawsome as there was a living room with open kitchen in the middle and two bedrooms with bathrooms going out from both sides of the living room. The doggie walking area of the hotel was nice but I didn't really need it with so much space around. The hotel is a great alternative to the Grand Canyon hotels as it's only a one-hour-drive away from the Canyon. The staff was extremely friendly and when mom asked them if they accepted dogs they immediately said "Well, of course!!" (how many hotel clerks are so enthusiastic about accepting pets). Sooooo: five paws for this one!!!

posted: September 23rd, 2007

 

Residence Inn Pasadena Arcadia [view the full listing]

321 East Huntington Drive
Arcadia, CA 91006
16264466500

 
5posted: September 22nd, 2007

great hotel in central location


The Residence Inn in Arcadia is centrally located to a lot of shops and restaurants and the freeway (takes you to all important L.A. destinations in a max of 45 minutes - if there is no traffic jam). I especially liked the doggie-walking area which isn't too huge but nice, green and definitely enough for a quick pee. :) The rooms are big and very cosy and we had a huge BBQ grill directly in front of our apartment. There is plenty of parking and the hotel is only a short drive away from Arcadia dog park. There is a 100 dollar sanitation fee when you travel with your bipeds but they seem to forget to charge that from time to time. ;)

 

Residence Inn Boulder [view the full listing]

3030 Center Green Drive
Boulder, CO 80301
13034495545

 
5posted: September 22nd, 2007

great hotel


This was the very first hotel I stayed at when we travelled the US and it was just great! The staff was very friendly and also very petfriendly. Our studio was huge and had all the amenities you could wish for. They even gave us a little magnet for the door that said "Pet in room" so that when the cleaner comes along, (s)he knows there is a dog in the room and doesn't just jank open the door. :) Mom also said that the breakfast was delicious.

 

Huntington Dog Beach [view the full listing]

100 Goldenwest St.
Huntington Beach, CA 92648

 
5posted: August 14th, 2007

Great beach


I really loved Huntington Dog Beach. It was great to play in the sand and water and as we went during the week it wasn't really crowded. Parking was a bit tricky but after a while we found a good spot. Pawsome place!

 

Carmel City Beach [view the full listing]

Ocean Avenue
Carmel, CA 93923

 
5posted: August 9th, 2007

I absolutely loved this beach


This was probably the best beach we visited on our trip and Carmel may well be the dog-friendliest city in California. The beach is beautiful with fine white sand and nice clear water (which can be quite cold though - brrrrr). What we found surprising was the fact that dogs are allowed ALL DAY and OFF LEASH as well. Wow!!! Even though there were a lot of people (many without dogs) everyone and everypup got along great and nobody complained even when a dog ran over their beach towel. Definitely a recommendation!!!!!!

 

Il Fornaio [view the full listing]

1333 First Street
Coronado, CA 92118
(619) 437-4911

 
5posted: August 9th, 2007

Great food and stunning view


The Il Fornaio offers a wide range of delicious Italian food. Dogs are allowed on the back patio as this is accesible from the street. The view over downtown San Diego is great but at night it's just stunning.

 

Coronado Veterinary Hospital [view the full listing]

150 Orange Ave
Coronado, CA 92118
(619) 800-7811

 
5posted: August 9th, 2007

Very nice vet


This is my pal Jake's "family vet" and as he isn't on Dogster, he asked me to tell you that these are very nice vets who are always very gentle and caring. They have made Jake feel better numerous times and he actually even likes going there (who can say that regarding the vet's office). So there is no need to be afraid, pups. :)

 

Crown City Inn [view the full listing]

520 Orange Avenue
Coronado, CA 92118
(800) 422-1173

 
5posted: August 9th, 2007

Loved it!


This is a great hotel and the location is pawsome, too. We really liked the rooms which were pretty spacious and even better was the fact that we could just walk everywhere. Five paws up!

 

Ocean Beach Dog Beach [view the full listing]

1950 Abbot Street
San Diego, CA 92127

 
5posted: August 9th, 2007

Gooooooooood beach!!!


I met lots of very friendly pups on this beach and I loved it. It's a very popular beach so it may get a bit crowded on weekends so if you can, come during the week.

 

Marina Motel on Lombard Street [view the full listing]

2576 Lombard St.
San Francisco, CA 94123
(800) 346-6118

 
3posted: August 9th, 2007

Good hotel but it looked nicer on the web


All friendly dogs are welcome at this hotel, regardless of size. The beach at the Marina is only about five blocks away, both the Presidio or the Palace of Fine Arts just two blocks. There are numerous outdoor dog-friendly cafes around the corner. The rooms are located around a courtyard which, however, looked much nicer and "flowery" on the internet. The staircase to our room was actually pretty smelly (don't know if it was a dog or homeless person who did their business there). :( The staff was very friendly though and even shocked my grandparents when they spoke some German. All rooms have refrigerators, coffee makers, irons and hair dryers. Some rooms have full size kitchens attached. No pet fee for stays of one week or longer otherwise there is a $10/night pet fee. Also, the hotel offers free garage parking.

 

PetSmart Boulder [view the full listing]

2982 Iris Avenue
Boulder, CO 80301
(303) 939-9033

 
4posted: August 8th, 2007

Petsmart


This was the very first petstore I went to when we travelled the US and we found it too be very well organised and clean and the staff was very friendly (they gave me a treat so I may be biased - BOL) and helpful.

 

Blue and Gold Fleet Bay Cruises [view the full listing]

PIER 39, The Embarcadero at Beach Street
San Francisco, CA 94133
(415) 705-8200

 
5posted: August 8th, 2007

Wow, this is so much fun


When you're in San Francisco, this is one fun thing to do. The famous one-hour Bay Cruise sails along the City’s waterfront, past the sea lions at Pier 39, under the Golden Gate Bridge, and around Alcatraz. Blue and Gold Fleet also offers a ferry service to Sausalito, Tiburon, Angel Island, Vallejo, Alameda and Oakland. However, dogs aren't allowed on all ferries, for example not on those to Angel Island or Alcatraz. But the Bay Cruise is great fun. You can either sit inside or go to the front of the boat and let the wind blow around your nose. :) Additionally, you and your bipeds can have your picture taken before you go on board. Well-behaved pooches are always welcome. Pawsome!!

 

Best Western Cavalier Oceanfront Resort [view the full listing]

9415 Hearst Drive
San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
(805) 927-4688

 
5posted: August 8th, 2007

Five paws for this hotel


The hotel is situated in San Simeon, only a short drive north from the gorgeous village of Cambria. The rooms are very spacious and there is a restaurant attached to the hotel which also offers room service (comes in handy when travelling with a dog). There is also a pool as well as a hot tub. But the best is definitely the hotel's location. Right behind the big lawn the cliffs begin and the beach access is only a thirty-second walk away. At night they light small fires on the lawn by which you can sit and listen to the waves or watch the signal from the nearby light house.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Vagabond's House Inn [view the full listing]

4th and Dolores
Carmel, CA 93921
(800) 262-1262

 
5edited: August 8th, 2007

Very pretty and nice B&B


The Vagabond's House Inn is a very pretty B&B in central Carmel and only a ten minute walk away from the beach. The rooms are decorated individually and are also very comfortable. I particularly liked the "stable" doors where you could close the bottom half and leave the upper half open. Breakfast is served on a tray in your room and in the afternoon they serve wine and cheese in the gorgeous courtyard. We found this place to be very pet-friendly though the pet rates were a tad bit high. In the parlor of the B&B, you will find a variety of collections, including original British lead soldiers, Big Little Books and toys from the '20s, '30s and '40s. All of this gives the place a very cosy and welcoming atmosphere.

posted: August 8th, 2007

 

The Forge in the Forest [view the full listing]

5th & Junipero
Carmel by the Sea, CA 93923
83162422

 
4edited: August 8th, 2007

Yummy food and nice atmosphere


I went to this restaurant during our trip through the States. We sat outside (obviously) near the fire pit which created a cosy atmosphere. Mommy loved her Caesar Salad and I got lots of yummy treats as well. I would give the place five paws if there was a little more room around the tables (it was a tad bit cramped).

posted: August 8th, 2007

 

Laurel Canyon Off-Leash Dog Park [view the full listing]

8260 Mulholland Drive
Studio City, CA 91604

 
5posted: August 8th, 2007

Great park


This park is actually really nice and if you are lucky you might be able to do some celebrity spotting as well. :) The park is a rather large fenced area with lots of grass, trees, benches, and a water "fountain". There is also a smaller area for little dogs but I rather went and ran with the big dogs. :)

 

North Beach Dog Run - Coronado [view the full listing]

100 Ocean Blvd.
Coronado, CA 92118
(619) 522-7342

 
5edited: August 8th, 2007

Pawsome beach


I absolutely loved this beach when I was in the San Diego area. Its not huge but very beautiful and clean. A poopie bag dispenser can be found right next to the side of the road where you can easily park your car. You're supposed to keep your dog on a leash until you are past the fence to the airbase and the beach becomes wider. Even though this place gets somewhat crowded on weekends, we've never had a problem as all the dogs were quite well-behaved. So my conclusion is: A great and beautiful beach where everypup can run around in their birthday suit. :)

posted: August 7th, 2007

 

Tryp Bochum Wattenscheid [view the full listing]

Josef Haumann Str 1
Bochum Wattenscheid, DE 44866
GERMANY

 
4posted: August 3rd, 2007

Nice and clean hotel


The Tryp Hotel is a nice hotel in the western part of Bochum. The rooms are nothing too fancy but clean and comfortable. The restaurant will usually allow your dog to join you during dinner as long as she/he is well-behaved. A few metres from the hotel is a nice area to take walks and even let your dog run around off leash, also a bigger local park (Stadtgarten) is only a ten minute walk away. Close to shops, the freeway (Autobahn) and public transportation.

 

Wag 'n' Tails [view the full listing]

945 Orange Avenue
Coronado, CA 92118
(619) 435-3513

 
5posted: April 16th, 2007

Great place


Mom took me to this store when we travelled the US and we both loved it. The Do-it-yourself doggie wash was actually the perfect place after a romp on Coronado's wonderful dog beach. They had all kinds of different shampoos available, etc and I got my own customer card plus a treat. :)