Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Petcetera [view the full listing]

3205 Magazine St
New Orleans, LA 70115
(504) 269-8711

 
5posted: July 10th, 2007

highly recommended


Petcetera came highly recommended to me by a local 5 star hotel. They come to your location to puppysit. :)

 

Dr Mikes Animal House [view the full listing]

1120 N Rampart St
New Orleans, LA 70116
(504) 523-4455

 
1posted: June 29th, 2007

Dr. Mike MURDERED dogs left in his care when he evacuated after Katrina


Dr. Mike needlessly murdered two dogs (maybe more - still being investigated) that were in his care when he evacuated for Katrina, after being told by the owners that he DID NOT have their permission to do this. They begged and pleaded with him not to murder their dogs. As a Vet he had/has an ethical and moral obligation to his "patients." He could have taken the dogs to any one of many emergency shelters set after Katrina, including SAF on Magazine St. These two beloved dogs were family members and their owners are devestated. Vets from all over North America WENT TO New Orleans immediatly after Katrina to help with rescue and provide care for the animals that had to be left behind, yet Dr. Mike left town and destroyed animals in his care. I can't believe this murderer still has a license to practice vet medicine in Louisiana or anywhere.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

PETCO [view the full listing]

7126 Winchester Road
Memphis, TN 38125
(901) 309-1186

 
3posted: May 25th, 2007


Pet store chain.

1 pet found this review unhelpful

 

PETCO [view the full listing]

5300 Tchoupitoulas Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
(504) 899-6122

 
3posted: May 25th, 2007


Pet store chain.

 

PETCO [view the full listing]

1651 Martin Luther King Jr.
Houma, LA 70360
(985) 851-3148

 
3posted: May 25th, 2007


Pet store chain.

 

PETCO [view the full listing]

3520 Veterans Memorial Boulevard
Kenner, LA 70065
(504) 469-1880

 
3posted: May 25th, 2007


Pet store chain.

 

PETCO [view the full listing]

1629 Westbank
Harvey, LA 70058
(504) 362-6711

 
3posted: May 25th, 2007


Pet store chain.

 

Lucys Dog House [view the full listing]

35 Summit Avenue
Swansea, MA 02777

 
5posted: February 26th, 2007

Pawsitively 5 Paws!!!


Very nice selection of collars/leashes and other standard doggie basics. They also offer literally HUNDREDS of articles relating to dogs. Anything and everything you ever wanted to know. Very helpful site, great customer service, owned by a fellow Dogster no less. What more can I ask :)

 

Rocket Dog Rescue [view the full listing]

P.O. Box 460826
San Francisco, CA 94146

 
5posted: February 23rd, 2007

Fantastic organization!


Rocket Dog Rescue places non-aggressive dogs into temporary foster homes where they are socialized, spayed/neutered, vaccinated, and treated for any medical or behavioral conditions limiting their adoptability. They run totally on donations, no one is ever paid. Check them out!

1 pet found this review helpful

 

The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui [view the full listing]

4100 Wailea Alanui Drive
Wailea, HI 96753
(808) 875-4100

 
5edited: February 22nd, 2007

Loved the private plunge pool for the pooch


Luc frowned the lei greeting, but especially loved his very own private plunge pool. I especially loved being away from the screaming kids at the regular pool. Pup having his own fenced-in villa to run around in was a welcome amenity too. A rather special treat was chef coming over to cook Poochie's own steak and lobster dinner. Aloooooha!

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

The Fairmont Empress [view the full listing]

721 Government Street
Victoria, BC V8W 1W5
Canada
(250) 384-8111

 
5edited: February 22nd, 2007

Attentive service, top notch cuisine


Our Luc enjoyed his stay at this hotel very much. Not only did the female staff give him special tickles, he loooved their room service steak too! They even packed a special lunch for him when we went out in the town to see the sights. How very thoughtful :) It's the little touches such as this that makes a decent hotel great!

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

Hotel Hana Maui [view the full listing]

5031 Hana Highway
Hana, HI 96713
(808) 248-8211

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Puppy gets a lei too!


You know a place rocks when not only you, but Poochie gets a lei upon arrival too. He might have thought it inconvenient, but it was really cute :) He especially liked riding on golf carts everywhere to get from one place to another, and Hamoa Beach is truly Luc's favorite from all in Maui.

 

The Ritz Carlton, San Francisco [view the full listing]

600 Stockton Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
(415) 296-7465

 
5edited: February 22nd, 2007

GREAT staff!


The most attentive staff is the top reason to stay at this hotel, besides the usual things you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. On day two, it seemed everyone knew our dog's name. Our name, that's customary. But the dog's name? Now that's service deserving of a big fat tip :)

posted: February 22nd, 2007

2 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

Sheraton Maui Resort [view the full listing]

2605 Kaanapali Parkway
Lahaina, HI 96761
(808) 661-0031

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Attentive staff


One of the perks of staying at their Alii Suites is that it comes with a butler who took care of our Precious while we enjoyed private time. Poochie also especially enjoyed their open-air suites and walking the grounds at night in search of little creatures. Very attentive staff will put your stay at a whole new level.

 

The Palace Hotel [view the full listing]

2 New Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 512-1111

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

High thread count Egyptian cotton sheets + down duvets as always


My dog really appreciates their high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets and down duvets. Weird, but this he figured out on his own. He's that kinda guy :) Anyhoo, he also liked seeing a bunch of other dogs at the elevators and lobby. Room service has a fantastic steak with bleu cheese he adored and Yerba Buena Gardens is nearby for doing his doggie business.

 

Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City [view the full listing]

15 West 200 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
(800) 805-1801

 
2posted: February 22nd, 2007

At least they allow dogs


The most encouraging thing we have to say about this hotel is that they allow dogs. Otherwise, you end up wondering how they ever got the 4 star rating, when they clearly only deserve 2 at the most. Moreover, you begin to want to bang your head on the wall at their lack of amenities and thank God you're only staying for the night. I don't even want to get started at the lack of selection with the room service menu, or the fact that our dog was thoroughly disgusted to sleep on the bed they provided. He slept on the FLOOR instead! He also didn't touch the treats they provided. I think you're getting the picture.

 

Renaissance Wailea Beach Resort [view the full listing]

3550 Wailea Alanui Drive
Wailea, HI 96753
(808) 879-4900

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Nice of the butler to babysit our dog while we goofed-off


One of the perks staying at their Mokapu oceanfront rooms is that you're provided a butler with the room. So when we wanted to go on an ocean voyage, eat dinner, yada yada, we were sure that our pup was amused and well taken care of. They're right on the beach too which is nice for snorkeling. So even though Wailea Beach is a bit more treacherous for the pup, Ulua is only a couple of steps away and the flat, sandy entry was a plus for the spoiled pooch :)

 

The Lodge at Sonoma, A Renaissance Resort & Spa [view the full listing]

1325 Broadway
Sonoma, CA 95476
(707) 935-6600

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Nice grounds for strolling with your pup


Nice sheets, marble everywhere, luxurious bath/fireplace set-up, yada yada. Besides the standard trappings you've come to expect from a high end resort, their cottages have a quiet seclusion we enjoy. Ala Greta Garbo - "I Vant to Be Alone". Walking your pup at night on the dimly lit paths is pretty cool too, especially when the spooky fog rolls by.

 

The Stanford Court, A Renaissance Hotel [view the full listing]

909 California Street
Nob Hill
San Francisco, CA 94108
(415) 989-3500

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

High thread count Egyptian cotton sheets + down duvets help


My dog thoroughly enjoyed jumping around his own queen bed with high thread count sheets and down comforters. As a matter of fact, he was asleep within 5 minutes of getting in the room. Nearby Chinatown was an enjoyable stroll too, at the cleaner areas, that is. Otherwise, no complaints. We had a very good time.

 

Pet Club [view the full listing]

2256 Westborough Blvd
South San Francisco, CA 94080
65058321

 
2posted: February 22nd, 2007

Low quality goods


Call me spoiled, but I was hoping for a little better quality when it came to doggie supplies. Granted I'm not paying designer prices, but I found the selection and pricing to be a little bit better at B&B in the city. Also, there's that pee problem once again. Watch your step because if you don't, you'll be stepping on it soon enough.

 

Serramonte Pet Shop [view the full listing]

44 Serramonte Center
Daly City, CA 94015
(650) 992-7890

 
1posted: February 22nd, 2007

Should be condemned.


A vast array of sick-looking animals are for sale here including puppies, bunnies, birds and hamsters. My friend visited yesterday and told me that there was even a dead fish floating on top of one of the tanks. Did I mention the store being smelly too? Topped off by high prices and a lack of selection of doggie goods, what's more to love right?

 

Linda Mar Pet Supply [view the full listing]

1315 Linda Mar Blvd
Pacifica, CA 94044

 
3edited: February 22nd, 2007

The salespeople were friendly enough...


once they found out I was buying something. Otherwise, even though the store is small, I was hoping on a larger array of selection. The several kinds of chews I bought that was recommended to me was rejected by my dog. Yes, I admit, he does have very high standards.

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

Pets in Need [view the full listing]

873 5th Avenue
Redwood City, CA 94063
(650) 367-1405

 
3edited: February 22nd, 2007

Uncool pawning-off a dog that clearly wasn't compatible with us.


We informed this animal shelter that this is our first time having a dog. Because we were absolute beginners, we needed a dog that's compatible with our situation. We instead were paired with was a beagle who clearly had been abused in the past and therefore had LOTS of issues. It was territorial and unfortunately quite hostile -- to the point of biting my husband's hand just because he attempted to clean the dog's ears. I honestly have no problem with caring for an abused animal. As a matter of fact, I wanted to make a less fortunate dog's life better, which is why I tried to adopt instead of buy. I did have a problem though, with the dog's needs being way beyond our capabilities. The shelter knew this and in their eagerness to adopt a dog, they overlooked our incompatibility. It resulted in us returning the dog, which then made the dog's life all the worse, being returned again, like an unwanted gift :(

posted: February 22nd, 2007

1 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

Drew's K-9 Corner [view the full listing]

3518 Geary Boulevard
San Francisco, CA 94118
(415) 221-0060

 
4edited: February 22nd, 2007

Holistic type foods


Drew's specializes in holistic type foods you won't find at the local chain. The man at the front desk was very helpful and offered a lot of advice. I was hoping to find a less-chemically flea med for my dog but they sadly didn't have any. Maybe one doesn't exist :(

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

Barry For Pets [view the full listing]

1840 Fillmore Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
(415) 346-8899

 
3posted: February 22nd, 2007

Small place, but more than average selection


The salesperson (I don't think it was Barry) was helpful in our search for the perfect dog toy. They have more goods than you'd expect too, which is a shocker. I'm sure you'll find all your basics at this place. Parking's no good, but that's to be expected at the Fillmore, isn't it?

 

Marina Pet Hospital [view the full listing]

2024 Lombard Street
San Francisco, CA 94123
(415) 921-0410

 
3posted: February 22nd, 2007

Great hours


Their work hours comes very handy on last minute occasions such as our need to get a health certificate for my Angel's last minute trip to Hawaii -- we were leaving the next day. Thank heavens they were open! Parking's a bit of a challenge and the front desk staff were a little on the indifferent side to other patients/owners, I noticed. Not to us though, so kinda weird eh?

 

Sunset Pet Supply [view the full listing]

2226 Taraval Street
San Francisco, CA 94116
(415) 661-4236

 
3edited: February 22nd, 2007

Small selection


Considering B & B can pack-in the merchandise at such a tiny store, I don't see how this store has so very little to offer. The fact that it's in Parkside and they call it Sunset is kinda freaky too. If you don't mind going to a neighborhood dive, then this place is it.

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

The Animal Connection [view the full listing]

2550 Judah Street
San Francisco, CA 94122
(415) 564-6482

 
1edited: February 22nd, 2007

Mini zoo in a BAD WAY


Upon entering the store, you'll be immediately overwhelmed by the stinkies. They're running a miniature zoo of sorts, with small animals begging to be let out of its cages. You'd think for a place this bad the prices would at least commensurate? Not! They're a bit on the pricey too. If I'm paying those prices, then I at least want the chic-chi surroundings to match. Go elsewhere. If you truly love animals, this place will surely break your heart.

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

Catnip & Bones [view the full listing]

2220 Chestnut Street
San Francisco, CA 94123
(415) 359-9100

 
3posted: February 22nd, 2007

Hit or miss -- always varies


Granted, if it wasn't for this place, I could never get my dog into any clothes. He's too macho for that, save for a couple of employees oohing and aahing at my Precious when I bought a brilliant yellow velvet duck outfit for him here at Halloween. I'm greatful for that :) Sometimes though, some other sales chick is at the helm and is completely stuck up. Coupled by the fact that the handmade puppy truffles are almost always stale, it's a wonder they get any people in there at all. Bella and Daisy's is a better bet.

 

Bella and Daisy [view the full listing]

1750 Union Street
San Francisco, CA 94123
(415) 440-7007

 
4posted: February 22nd, 2007

Yappy Hour on Fridays.


Friday night is "Yappy Hour" at Bella and Daisy's. You and your designer pooch can chat it up with fellow patrons over free wine and cheese. You get the picture! Yuppy puppy extraordinare blends in here, no problem. Juicy Couture, Bella Bean, yada yada designer goods, bling-studded collars, tutus for female dogs. Whew, need I say more?

 

Bow Wow Meow [view the full listing]

2150 Polk Street
San Francisco, CA 94109
(415) 440-2845

 
4edited: February 22nd, 2007

Very helpful staff


As opposed to don't even think of touching the merch if you're not buying it attitude, the people working at this store are the opposite. Their salesperson was more than glad to help me get the perfect fitting life jacket for my Precious because we were moving to Maui and who knows if he'll need one. (He never did, hee hee.) Anyway, it was very kind of the staff to be so helpful and they have a larger selection too compared to other neighborhood stores in the city.

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

Babies [view the full listing]

235 Gough Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
(415) 701-7387

 
4edited: February 22nd, 2007

Chi chi pet goods extraordinaire!


If you enjoy walking down Union Street with a Louis Vuitton purse and a designer dog in it, then this store is for you! Frou frou goods abound, with the standard no holds barred price tags to match. Oh well, gotta indulge the little guy. Not much for selection for larger dogs though - what can you do?

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

Cal's Pet Supply [view the full listing]

5950 California Street
San Francisco, CA 94121
(415) 386-1720

 
4posted: February 22nd, 2007

Dental Hygienist comes in once a month


What I like about this place is their great location, for one. If you have a sudden shopping attack for your beloved pooch, they're the only game around to carry halfway decent stuff. I also heard that once a month, a pet Dental Hygienist comes in and does teeth cleaning for pups for $80. That sounds like a good thing.

 

Best in Show [view the full listing]

300 Sanchez Street
San Francisco, CA 94114
(415) 863-7387

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Good selection on fashionable merch


Tasty pet treats, adorable coats, sweaters, designer bowls, chi chi collar/leash set -- check. You're getting the picture. Yep, this place is all that and a little bit more coochie coo to the pooch since his mommy's buying everything that isn't nailed down. That's what it's all about when shopping for this stuff right? The ever important coochie coo to the pooch :)

 

Pet Food Express San Francisco Stonestown [view the full listing]

3160 20th Avenue
Stonestown Galleria
San Francisco, CA 94132
(415) 759-7777

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Not half bad for a chain!


I buy my Precious' Innova Evo at this store. Because it's in my neighborhood and it's always fresh and never stale, compared to other places. Their selection is also not half-bad for a chain and you can always count on the personnel to offer a helping hand with the heavy bags. (Neighboring Petco NEVER does this!) You know how it is when you run out of Greenies and chews mid-week. Quelle terrible! (ala Audrey Hepburn, Breakfast at Tiffany's) This place is always handy and goodie, open late too.

 

Pet Food Express San Francisco Market St. [view the full listing]

1975 Market Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
(415) 431-4567

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

The very best pet supply chain store in the Bay Area


I honestly feel that Pet Food Express in the very best chain around here. Their employees have a smile on their face when serving customers and their selection isn't half bad considering they're a chain. The place is clean and non-smelly and this particular location has a lot more selection for the doggie fashionista. Great job!

 

Citipets [view the full listing]

183 West Portal Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94127
(415) 522-9730

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Newly opened and has already developed a loyal following.


It's a neighborhood place, so it's small and humble. What's big though are the hearts of the merchants. Unbelievable, right? Well, so far, the owners have received very high marks with us. Not just the phony coochie-coo, your dog is so beautiful stuff, but genuine kindness and excellent customer service. The kind you only get from a smaller store who truly cares about their clientele and reputation. Great job so far!

 

B & B Pet Supplies [view the full listing]

4820 Geary Boulevard
San Francisco, CA 94118
(415) 221-7711

 
3posted: February 22nd, 2007

Cheap and always crowded


Why always crowded? Because it's cheap. It's a good bet to buy basic supplies here, like a dog crate, cage, or some other name brand, standard thing. They also have more premium dog foods, which I never buy because I always figure it might be stale. Their dog treats are the same way, see? Greenies not as fresh and to other more exotic chews like salmon skin or cow parts, I always end up donating to the SPCA because my dog just turns his nose up when it comes to that stuff. Well, count on this place for the very basics at least.

 

Avenues Pet Hospital [view the full listing]

2221 Taraval Street
San Francisco, CA 94116
(415) 681-4343

 
2posted: February 22nd, 2007

Misdiagnosis is never a good thing.


My Angel has been going to Avenues ever since I got him as a puppy. Over 4-1/2 years of average service and expensive vet bills. What should be the last straw is when my dog was misdiagnosed with glaucoma, which had me reeling for 2 weeks, until a specialist I sought on my own confirmed it was allergies instead. It's just that Avenues is in my neighborhood, which I feel could come in handy if there's ever an emergency. Moreover, we travel a whole heck of a lot and it's convenient to have his records handy at just one central location. Honestly, if I could get a recommendation of another, truly decent vet, I would switch. Just feel kinda trapped into this for now :(

 

Veterinary Vision [view the full listing]

210 Industrial Rd
Suite 100
San Carlos, CA 94070
(650) 551-1115

 
5edited: February 22nd, 2007

Dr. Cook is absolutely FANTASTIC!!!


My Precious was misdiagnosed by his regular vet with glaucoma, at such an early age of 4-1/2 no less. I was given a wait and see diagnosis of after two months, things should develop further and we may be referred to a specialist at that point. Hearing this sent me on an agonizing guilt/panic fest for over 2 weeks! After doing research on the internet, I found Dr. Cook to be a highly recommended specialist. We were given a rush appointment and were told that huskies have an eye condition that is inborn, which might give the impression of glaucoma to the untrained eye. The glaucoma turned out to be allergies. Thank God for Dr. Cook. Brava!

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

All Animals Emergency Hospital [view the full listing]

1333 9th Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94122
(415) 566-0531

 
3edited: February 22nd, 2007

Spotty service, at least they


Every time we go to this hospital, their small, dismal waiting room is almost always filled with pet owners who have grim looks in their faces. It's to be expected I guess, if you're there in the middle of the night -- it's always never the good thing. One uncool thing though is their spotty service. Sometimes it's great and compassionate, sometimes the complete opposite - cold and indifferent. At least they're open all hours and weekends when most vets aren't. At least they're reliable, which is much more than I can say for other hospitals who claim they're open and ready to serve, yet not. (Please see my review re. White Ivie Pet Hosp in San Bruno, CA.)

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

White Ivie Pet Hospital [view the full listing]

1111 El Camino Real
San Bruno, CA 94066
(650) 583-5039

 
1edited: February 22nd, 2007

Stay away for your dog


They are proud to advertise their hours as 7:30am-6pm on weekdays -- why then when I waited a full 30 minutes for their office to open at 7:30am did I get a gruff receptionist who turned away my bleeding dog. Yes, bleeding! The end of his tail accidentally got caught in a sliding glass door and he was bleeding and they said that there were no doctors there to attend to him. I was told that the type of doctor needed for that situation only comes in twice a week. Why are they open then if there are no doctors in the first place? Why would they call themselves a pet hospital? If your own dog was bleeding and you were turned away, you'd be really mad too. Please keep this scenario in mind if you ever consider going to this place.

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

PetSmart Daly City [view the full listing]

315 Gellert Blvd
Daly City, CA 94015
65099703

 
1posted: February 22nd, 2007

Lousy selection, and yes, you will find pee on the floor


It seems outrageous isn't it? But it is true, somehow, dogs like peeing here. Even my own Precious who never does that in a store was tempted to do it. I had to stop him. Maybe because there's so much of it around already, dogs want to "re-mark" the area? Moreover, the training classes right smack in the middle of the store makes the poor people who pay for them look as if they're performing for the crowd of gawkers. Lousy selection of dog food and treats top things off.

 

Petco [view the full listing]

1591 Sloat Boulevard
San Francisco, CA 94132
(415) 665-3700

 
1posted: February 22nd, 2007

Serious shortage of staff and selection


Everytime I am forced to go to this store (like if we need a quick supply of greenies), I am forced to wait in line for a very long time. It doesn't help that the cashier has to schlep their PALS Program to each and every customer. Like there's a line of 8 people waiting, common courtesy dictates to try and speed things up at least. Moreover, their dog food selection is absolutely mediocre. What's left to like?

 

Fog City Dogs Daycare & Lodge [view the full listing]

2280 Shafter Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94124
(415) 642-DOGS

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Best in the City!!!


I am incredibly choosy when it comes to caring for my Precious. For several years starting in 2003, we traveled a lot and had to be away from the little guy for days at a time. We trust only Fog City to be able to care for him like we could. Their staff are all well trained and when you visit the place and meet with the personnel, you'll quickly learn that they're not just about the money. They honestly like their jobs, are themselves dog owners, and genuine love dogs. That is what it's all about!

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Scott Anderson Dvm [view the full listing]

2221 Taraval St
San Francisco, CA 94116
(415) 592-7109

 
2posted: February 22nd, 2007

He almost never smiles.


What's the deal with that? Moreover, my Precious had tummy problems in the past and Dr. Anderson ordered 3 days worth of testing on him, several $$ thousand dollars $$ worth, and in the end never found the reason for it. There has got to be better vets out there, right?

 

Westborough Pet Hospital Inc [view the full listing]

2228 Westborough Blvd
South San Francisco, CA 94080
(650) 588-1195

 
5posted: February 8th, 2007

Conscientious doctors. Very nice staff.


No complaints about this company. The vets have always demonstrated a genuine love for animals and really conscientious too! Great company all around. 5 paws waaay up :)

 

Banfield Pet Hospital [view the full listing]

315 Gellert Blvd
Daly City, CA 94015
(650) 758-4915

 
1posted: February 8th, 2007

My credit card info was STOLEN!!!


I bought Advantage from this place just once. Why just once? Well, about 2 weeks after my purchasing the overpriced flea product, I received a letter saying that my personal and credit card information has been compromised and that I should now try to monitor my credit information for IDENTITY THEFT. Thank you very much! I will not be back. Ever!

 

George [view the full listing]

2411 California Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
(415) 441-0564

 
2posted: February 8th, 2007

Lousy selection!


I don't mind paying high prices for goods when it comes to my Precious, but it's ridiculous to expect a customer to be happy with high prices, lousy selection and grumpy staff. Go to Catnip + Bones instead on Chestnut. Much better selection, and a staff who aren't afraid to smile once in a while.

 

Fog City Doggie Day Care [view the full listing]

1488 Lombard St
San Francisco, CA 94123
(415) 409-3647

 
5edited: February 8th, 2007

Your search stops here. This place is the VERY BEST!


We've tried at least 7 other daycares before discovering Fog City. The search was well worth it because this place is the very best as far as we're concerned. No, they don't have the biggest or the fanciest facilities (they have 2 locations). But what they have are a truly concerned, well trained staff, who all know your dog by first name. The owners are experienced from working/volunteering with the SPCA before opening Fog City, so you knooow they're not just in it for the money. Isn't this the most important thing? To have peace of mind knowing your dog is safe and having fun if you can't care for him for the day? Yeah, that's what's important! BTW, my pup has been going there since 2003, at least 3x a month, usually more. No complaints to date and that's a big thing considering we're VERY PARTICULAR when it comes to our Precious :)

posted: February 8th, 2007

 

Vavadog [view the full listing]

1701 Page St Ste 1
San Francisco, CA 94117
(415) 425-2509

 
5posted: February 8th, 2007

Quality merchandise


I bought dog clothes and leashes for a friend's dog from Vavadog. 5 paw rating all the way. Great selection and the quality of the goods were top notch! We're very picky about doggie fashions, so you won't be disappointed from this place.

 

Pets Unlimited [view the full listing]

2343 Fillmore St
San Francisco, CA 94115
(415) 563-6700

 
1posted: February 8th, 2007

Came back after grooming STILL WET and with a BLOODY nail :(


Ok, my dog is a husky and he has a very thick, double coat. This is no excuse though after they have him for vittually 8 hours, to come back still wet. Even worse, he had his nails cut and one of the nails was still bleeding. I didn't notice this off course, until he got into the car and I saw the blood path. Absolutely horrible! They just didn't care.

 

Canine To Five [view the full listing]

90 Welsh St
San Francisco, CA 94107
(415) 227-4729

 
1posted: February 8th, 2007

My dog came back smelling like PEE!!!


We tried about 6 other daycares before this one, so we're used to daycares. We know that one has to exercise a bit of patience when pup comes back -- he's bound to smell a little bit. This is ridiculous though. My dog smelled soooo badly after 1 day at this facility. NEVER again!