Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Integrative Pet Care [view the full listing]

2520 W Armitage
Chicago, IL 60647

 
5posted: April 25th, 2007

We're hooked!


I took my cat Allen to see Dr. Mayer for the first time yesterday. She's fantastic!! She spent over an hour talking about all of our pets, and then spent 1/2 an hour examining Allen (it was the first time he didn't hiss while being examined!) and another half hour talking about treatment for his interstitial cystitis. We discussed traditional and non traditional medicine, and decided to go with flower essences and herbs in place of his western medicine doctor's wishes for him to live on Predinsone. They also do titer tests, so I will definately be taking Parker and Jack. The price is steep for an initial exam- $150, but worth every penny. We'll be back!

 

Phydeaux [view the full listing]

400 S. Elliot Rd
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
(919) 960-3606

 
5posted: April 4th, 2007

Tons of food!


While we were toolin' around the Triangle we decided to take a trip to Carrboro. We were so impressed by the different food brands! They had just about every premium brand, along with a great selection of leashes, toys and treats. We'll be going back!

 

Petsmart Capital Blvd [view the full listing]

Capital Blvd
Raleigh, NC 27612

 
1posted: April 3rd, 2007

Rude people- and too few people!


We tried to take Parker and Jack for daycamp for the day. They had spent a loong time in the airport the day before and needed some running time. I called Petsmart, and they said to come right over. The first thing we notice- about 25 dogs in the tiny daycamp area. All sizes, all ages, ONE PERSON watching them. I was ready to leave then, but thought at least the dogs would be getting to play. I showed the staff the dogs records. They didn't believe Jack's was real. It came with him from the rescue. The records itself are from the shelter he was saved from. Then, they tell us, despite the fact that they had the 1 year Bordatella they needed to get it every 6 months. Does that make any sense!?!? It's obviously got immunity for 1 year (probably longer), why do I need to give it every 6 months then?? They were incredibly rude about it. They left us with a sour taste in our mouths, and we will be writing corporate a letter.

 

Oakwood Off-Leash Dog Park [view the full listing]

910 Brookside Dr
Raleigh, NC 27604

 
5posted: April 3rd, 2007

We're so jealous!


We wish we had a dog park this nice in Chicago!! My boys (along with Rondo and Gretta) spent hours there. Beautiful trees, places to sit, nice mulch. Not the cement that we have here! Trash by the fence was annoying, but I've seen that happen at alot of dog parks. We will definately be going there next time we're in Raleigh!

1 pet found this review helpful

 

The Royal Treatment Vet Spa [view the full listing]

4130 North Rockwell
Chicago, IL 60618
(773) 267-9966

 
5posted: March 13th, 2007

Fantastic facility!


Beautiful facililty- my guys will be taking part in the swimming while they're at Stay!

 

Stay Dog Hotel [view the full listing]

4130 North Rockwell
Chicago, IL 60618
(773) 509-0001

 
5edited: March 19th, 2007

We're staying at Stay!


I first went to Stay for the Open House. I was not only impressed by the facility, but by the staff and the owner, Michael. We visited Stay again yesterday to take Parker, Penny and Jack to be temperament tested. Michael agreed to let all 3 of them stay in one of their Suites, even though they usually only allow 2 dogs in them. Since Jack was in a pound at one point and we don't want him in a cage, and Michael agreed after seeing how well they did in the Suite. The staff was great, and they let the dogs spend time in the suite they will stay in next month while I did the paperwork. They weren't put off by the raw food (a big plus in my book) and have a freezer to keep the food in. They let us see every inch of the facility, even the "Restricted areas." During the day the dogs are in groups according to size, and there is always one person in with them, and one floater that goes between the groups. They have a 1 hour naptime, then play again until dinner. One of the BEST things about Stay is there aren't a ton of add ons- another place Parker and Penny stayed (Windy City K9) you had to pay for EVERYTHING. $6 for a walk, $4 for this, it all added up. At Stay it's one fee, dependent on the size of the kennel. You can buy Nature Walks or extra Cuddle time, though. We'll update after the dogs STAY at stay!

posted: March 13th, 2007

 

Great Cats Of Indiana Inc [view the full listing]

10471 E Us Highway 24
Idaville, IN 47950
(574) 943-3412

 
1edited: February 26th, 2007

Scary!


Not really a dog place but a Big Cat "rescue". Riiight. The facility is gross. They give tours, which my family was going to do, until we got there. Looked like the kind of place people get eaten. Seriously.

posted: February 26th, 2007

 

Delphi Veterinary Clinic [view the full listing]

924 S Washington St
Delphi, IN 46923
(765) 564-2606

 
5posted: February 26th, 2007

Really nice vet.


A few years ago my cat George (who has since passed away) started coughing while we were at our lake house in Monticello. We called them up and they took him as soon as we got there. Really nice vet spent alot of time looking at George's medical records (he had hypertropic cardiomyopathy, so it was alot of records) and figuring out what was wrong. I'd take one of my guys back there in a second.

 

Petsmart [view the full listing]

2665 N Elston
Chicago, IL 60647

 
1posted: February 26th, 2007

Don't get your dog groomed there!


I thought I'd found a great groomer at Petsmart. She did a fantastic job of hand scissoring Parker and Jack, and their store policy (as was reiterated to me many times) was not NOT PUT SMALL DOGS IN CAGE DRYERS. Well, I found out the hard way THEY DO. I dropped off my neighbor's Pom Izzie to get groomed, and got back a little early. The groomer said "He's not ready, he's getting dried." Oh, okay, I thought. I looked around the room- No Izzie. I said "Where is he?" "He's in the back," she replied. I've been in the back. I know that the only place to get dried back there was a CAGE DRYER. I stormed back there and found 7lb Izzie, hot as all get out, in a cage dryer. I grabbed him out of there and asked to speak to a manager. She claimed that since they were so busy (with 2 other dogs and many stylists sitting around doing nothing) they had to put him in there. NO NO NO! We will NEVER EVER be back there again!!! Also, I'm not claiming that all Petsmart Grooming salons do this, but this one does!

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Pocket Puppies [view the full listing]

2479 N. Clark
Chicago, IL 60614
(773) 857-1519

 
1posted: February 26th, 2007

Don't go there!!!


Disgusting. I hate to even give this puppy selling pet store one paw. Overpriced Hunte Corporation puppies. Avoid!

 

Dogster HQ [view the full listing]

De Haro St and 18th St
San Francisco, CA 94115

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

I woof HQ!


My pack WOOFS you HQ!

 

Barker and Meowsky [view the full listing]

1003 W. Armitage
Chicago, IL 60614
(773) 868-0200

 
1edited: February 24th, 2008

...


....

posted: February 24th, 2007

 

The Ritz Carlton [view the full listing]

300 Towne Center Drive
Dearborn, MI 48126

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Our Favorite Hotel!!


The Ritz in Dearborn is by far our favorite hotel. We've probably been there 10+ times just since we've had the dogs. I even found Parker on his breeder's website when I was there! When they call to confirm your reservation, they ask your pets name, and the entire staff then knows their name at check in. Parker thinks he runs the place! Dogs are allowed absolutely everywhere- including on the furniture in the lobby. Last time we were there the ballrooms were empty, and the bellman let Parker and Jack run around them! Their own private indoor doggy park! If you need to leave your pet behind, the bellman will take your dogs on walks. Last time we were there it was Jack's first time at a hotel. The front desk person heard this, and directed us to one of the sales managers who is also a dog trainer! She (for a fee) stayed with Parker and Jack for 5 hours while we were out to dinner and a concert. She walked them so much they were pooped when we got back! They have a room service pet menu, and the Chefs made Parker and Jack breakfast and dinner every day- extra rare! They even have a "Pampered Paws Retreat" Package which includes alot of ammenities. Our pack LOVES this hotel and will be back again and again!

 

Sheraton Raleigh Hotel [view the full listing]

421 N Salisbury St
Raleigh, NC 27601

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Great hotel!


We LOVE the Sheraton Raleigh Hotel! Every time we're in town we make sure we book there. The staff is great to the dogs, and it's in a great location.

 

Kriser's Feeding Pets For Life [view the full listing]

2037 N Clybourn
Chicago, IL 60611
(773) 871-3663

 
1edited: February 24th, 2008

..


..

posted: February 24th, 2007

 

Dog House Of Beauty Grooming and Boarding [view the full listing]

3200 w 66th
Chicago, IL 60629
(773) 588-8586

 
5posted: February 21st, 2007

We love it!


After searching around for just the right groomer, Ginger and her Mom lead us to Brandy at the Dog House of Beauty. Parker and Jack's first appointment went great! Brandy asked if I could stay while she did their hair to make sure she did them "just right." She spent a total of 4 hours on them! She'd brush and bathe one, then the other for everything. Brandy was really patient with Jack's fears and sight impairments. They look absolutely fantastic. They smell great and were happy the whole time. We'll be going back!

 

Citizen Canine [view the full listing]

2274 N Clybourn Ave
Chicago, IL 60614
(773) 935-3853

 
3edited: April 4th, 2007

Not my favorite...


I'm not quite sure why Citizen Canine keeps getting called one of the best by Chicagoland Tails. It's really dark, and definately not for small dogs- at least not mine. No cages boarding seems like a good idea, but it didn't seem like they had enough space for all the dogs there to find their own space. They also only allow credit card charging for $200 or more. I find that inconvenient- I don't like to carry alot of cash around. There's better around for the same price point.

posted: February 21st, 2007

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Pets & Vets As Partners [view the full listing]

1220 Montgomery St
Lafayette, IN 47906
(765) 463-7877

 
3posted: February 6th, 2007

Just OK


This is the first vet I took Parker too after I got him. I didn't realize that Purdue students were allowed at the Purdue small animal hospital. The Doctors were very nice. My next experience with them was after Parker's patella surgery. They are one of 2 hospitals in Indiana who have an underwater treadmill. The doctors were great rehabing him after the surgery. My problem with them? I called about my cat Allen, who hadn't urinated in a day. The kept him for a day, and when he didn't urinate sent him home, no medicine, nothing. Went to Purdue (when I realized I could!) and they diagnosed him with cysitis and he spent 2 days at their hospital. Never went back to Pets and Vets again.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Arboretum View Animal Hosp Pc [view the full listing]

2551 Warrenville Rd
Downers Grove, IL 60515
(630) 598-4072

 
5posted: February 6th, 2007


This is where Parker had his surgery for double luxating patellas. They saw him 2 days after I called, as opposed to other places I called that wouldn't see him for 2 months. The surgeon was great, understood that my family is involved in people orthopedics and didn't talk down to us. They did the surgery a week later. When we had scheduling conflicts when it came to picking Parker up (my school, my Mom's work) they kept Parker an extra night, no problem. He's been happy and luxation free since!

1 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

Cat Hospital Of Chicago Pc [view the full listing]

2851 W Irving Park Rd
Chicago, IL 60618
(773) 539-9080

 
5posted: February 6th, 2007


We LOVE LOVE LOVE the Cat Hospital! We've had cystitis problems with 3 of our cats and they got it all fixed up. Thorough exams. The docs are willing to spend alot of time with clients, dont' rush you in and rush you out. Great feline specific vet!

 

Chicago Vet Emergency Svcs [view the full listing]

3123 N Clybourn Ave
Chicago, IL 60618
(773) 281-7110

 
5edited: February 6th, 2007


We've used CVES three times now, with 2 different pets. Parker went in when he had pancreatitis. Spent the night and got excellent care. The other two times we've used it have been with our cat, MickeyBadCat. He blocked his urethra. The first time with MBC we transferred him from the Chicago Cat Hospital to spend the night. The second time was a true emergency. He had blocked again on the weekend and we couldn't get ahold of any vets. They promptly took him in, catheterized him and made arrangements for him to go to a surgical center the next day for an operation. The doctors were all nice, knowledgeable and spent time listening to us. The facility is fantastic. Dr. Hahn, MBC's doctor even suggested we go to the back and see him before we left for the night. The tech's were incredible. Can't say enough good things about CVES. Hopefully we won't have to use it again, but if we do, we know our animals are in good hands.

posted: February 6th, 2007

 

Hyde Park Animal Clinic Pc [view the full listing]

5210 S Harper Ave
Chicago, IL 60615
(773) 324-4484

 
5posted: February 6th, 2007


My family has been going to see Dr. Wake since before I was born 24 years ago. It's a great small clinic. Isn't the most technilogically up to date, and Dr. Wake and Dr. Baily know their limitations and know when to send you somewhere else. We've been through it all with them, and wouldn't go anywhere else. Last year when Parker came down with pancreatitis they came in early and stayed late to help him, and absolutely saved his life. Then, Dr. Wake personally took Parker to the emergency hospital where he stayed for the night and stayed with him. I can't say enough good things about them!!

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Canis Sapiens Dog Training [view the full listing]

5223 S Dorchester Ave
Chicago, IL 60615
(773) 324-8728

 
5posted: February 6th, 2007

We love them!


Jane has been training Parker and Jack for awhile now. We LOVE her! She uses positive reinforcement only. Jack has come such a long way! Parker is getting ready for his CGC and TDI thanks to Jane! 5 Paws up from his happy pack!!

2 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

Windy City K 9 Club Inc [view the full listing]

1628 N Elston Ave
Chicago, IL 60622
(773) 384-5959

 
4posted: February 6th, 2007


Great place for classes. Extremely nice, friendly staff. We've used it for boarding once. There are nicer facilities, but the friendly staff makes up for it.

1 pet found this review helpful