Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Del Mar Plaza [view the full listing]

1555 Camino Del Mar
Del Mar, CA 92014
(858) 792-1555

 
5posted: December 8th, 2007

Beautiful Place, Nice Stores and Restaurants


This beautiful plaza looks over the ocean and has lots of designer stores, boutiques and great restaurants. Dogs are allowed to walk around the plaza, sit on the observation deck that looks over the ocean and can dine with their owners at Pacific Breeze -- a wonderful cafe that is open for breakfast and lunch. Great place to hang out on a sunny day!

 

Grateful Dog [view the full listing]

802 N. Highway 101
Leucadia, CA 92024
(760) 943-9663

 
5posted: December 8th, 2007

Grooming and More


Situated on Highway 101 in Leucadia, this place offers grooming services for pooches as well as cool clothes, collars, gourmet treats and even doggie cupcakes! You can also find healthy foods and nutritious supplements to keep your pooch feeling fine! Friendly service and an all-round fun place!

 

Pacifica Breeze Cafe [view the full listing]

1555 Camino Del Mar
Del Mar, CA 92104
(858) 509-9147

 
5posted: December 8th, 2007

Love This Place!


This ocean-facing cafe at the Del Mar Plaza is open for breakfast and lunch. Most of the seating is outdoors, under big umbrellas, with a view of the ocean. The food is great (or so my mom says) and there are lots of healthy choices. The portions are a substantial size, delicous and flavorful. Leashed, well-behaved doggies are very welcome and there are usually lots of four-leggers around. Great place!

 

The Animal Keeper [view the full listing]

155 Saxony Road
Encinitas, CA 92024
(760) 753-9366

 
2posted: December 8th, 2007

Got Kennel Cough


I took Abby here once, when she was about 8 months old. They put her into a cage that was much smaller than the one they had shown me when I first went to look at the place. Also, after being there for 5 days, she came back with kennel cough. That was the first and last time she was ever kenneled, period.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Zinc Cafe [view the full listing]

132 S. Cedros
Solana Beach, CA 92075
(858) 793-5436

 
5posted: December 8th, 2007

Yummy Food, European Ambiance


Mom and I have stopped here on a few occasions for coffee and a pastry. This place has a European feel to it with its wonderful coffees, delicous pastries, outdoor patio and laid-back ambiance. I love watching the birds hop around as they try to pick up all the crumbs that people drop on the ground. There's a nice little fountain on the patio and it's very dog-friendly. Lots of canines come here with their peeps.

 

Muttropolis - La Jolla [view the full listing]

7755 Girard Ave.
San Diego, CA 92037
(858) 459-9663

 
5posted: December 7th, 2007

Five Paws all the Way!


I visit the Muttropolis store in Solana Beach at least twice a month because it is close to my house, but I've also visited the La Jolla store on a few occasions. Like all Muttropolis stores, the merchandise is pawsome -- gorgeous designer outfits, great toys, fabulous collars and leashes, and top quality food. The people who work here are so friendly and helpful -- and will make a real fuss of you too! Great experience all round!

 

Cafe 1134 [view the full listing]

1134 Orange Avenue
Coronado, CA 92118

 
4posted: December 5th, 2007

Nice, relaxing fun place to watch the world go by....


Mom and I have stopped here for coffee and pastries a few times. It's great to sit at the outdoor table and watch the people walking by and enjoy the wonderful, coastal ambiance of Coronado! We always try to stop here when we are in this part of town. I like having people stop and pet me!

 

Petco [view the full listing]

154 Encinitas Boulevard
Encinitas, CA 92024
(760) 632-6600

 
2posted: December 5th, 2007

Lousy Customer Service


We don't go to Petco or Petsmart if we can help it. There service is so inferior compared to some of the smaller doggy boutiques. Their prices are cheaper, but...you pay for what you get. The staff at Petco are hardly anywhere to be found, they don't know much about the products and there's usually a long line at the checkout. We MUCH prefer going to Dexter's Deli, Muttropolis or PetPeople. Those places are in a different league altogether. The Petco in Encinitas sells some premium and raw pet foods, which is why we gave it two stars instead of only one. The whole store seems a bit run-down, like it's in need of a really good cleaning.

 

Dog in Suds [view the full listing]


Encinitas, CA 92024

 
5posted: December 5th, 2007

Friendly & Efficient


Abby has never been groomed here, but we take her to Dogs in Suds to get her nails trimmed and her anal gland expressed. The people who work here are very friendly and professional. We just walk in and they help us right away. They also sell some premium dog foods and have a small collection of toys, leashes, collars and treats. I highly recommend this place!

 

Holiday Pet Hotel [view the full listing]


Encinitas, CA 92024

 
4posted: December 4th, 2007

Great Place for Cats


We boarded one of our cats here not too long ago and were very happy with the service, cleanliness and quality of the place. You can book a large "condo" for your cat or an entire suite that's decorated in a unique theme. I'd give it five stars for cat boarding, but maybe only three stars for dogs. The dog kennels were pretty average, nothing special, although they were very clean.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

St. Germain's Cafe [view the full listing]

1010 S. Coast Highway
Encinitas, CA 92024
(760) 753-5411

 
4posted: September 3rd, 2007

Yummy Food, Nice Ambiance


This place can get really busy on the weekend, so be prepared to wait. The breakfasts are substantial and tasty, and the outdoor patio is great for doggies who want to hang out with their owners while they enjoy some good, tasty food and watch the Encinitas street life along Highway 101.

 

Village Park Trail [view the full listing]

Mountain Vista Dr
Encinitas, CA 92024

 
3posted: September 2nd, 2007

Good But Not Great


Mom took me here several months ago. I liked it but wasn't wildly excited about it. We were put off by a guy on an off-road motorcycle that kept riding up and down the pathway. It was dangerous and mom had to keep me leashed to prevent me from getting ridden over. There were signs that said motorcyclists weren't allowed...but he didn't seem to care. There are much better (and safer) places to hang out, like the beach.

 

PetSmart Encinitas [view the full listing]

1034 North El Camino Real
Encinitas, CA 92024
(760) 436-1220

 
2edited: August 21st, 2007

The equivalent of Wal-Mart for pets


This gaint chain offers zero ambiance, unhelpful employees and long lines every time you try to check out. It is the equivalent of Wal-Mart for animals -- there's a lot of merchandise to choose from, but it just seems tacky and cheap, with terrible customer serivce. Another reason that I don't enjoy shopping here is that there are hardly any organic, raw or holistic food choices. Unless you feed your pet Science Diet, Nutro, Bil-Jac or Purina, your choices are extremely limited. It's an okay place to buy a toy, but that's about it. I won't buy anything else here.

posted: August 20th, 2007

 

The Daily Pet [view the full listing]

12845 El Camino Real
San Diego, CA 92130-2055
(858) 481-2065

 
4edited: August 20th, 2007

Nice variety of merchandise


This Del Mar/Carmel Valley pet store sells high quality products for grooming, sleeping, dressing up, traveling and of course eating. The staff is decent but not exceptional, and the prices can be pretty high, even for Del Mar. They have a monthly Yappy Hour for pets and their peeps and they also offer monthly puppy kindergarten classes. This is a well-stocked store with lots of merchandise. I particuarly like their wide range of premium and organic foods. Dexter's Deli is still my favorite though...the staff there seem more knowledgeable about food and pet health in general.

posted: August 20th, 2007

1 pet found this review unhelpful

 

En Fuego Cantina & Grill [view the full listing]

1342 Camino Del Mar
Del Mar, CA 92014
(858) 792-6551

 
5posted: August 14th, 2007

Great hangout, near the beach!


This is a great little Mexian restaurant in old town Del Mar, just blocks from the beach. Great food, wonderful ambiance and dogs are allowed in the open-air cantina, where you can order food from the restaurant menu. Prices are very reasonable, especially if you go at happy hour! A gem that's definitely worth a visit!

 

Dexter's Deli [view the full listing]

2508 El Camino Real
Suite B-2
Carlsbad, CA 92008
(760) 720-7507

 
5posted: August 13th, 2007

Five Paws for Dexter's Deli


We usually visit the Dexter's Deli in Del Mar, but have been to the Carlsbad store too. The Dexter's staff are extremely knowledgable about dog and cat nutrition and will provide plenty of good advice. They carry only premium foods, as well as raw foods too. They have a great line of toys, treats, collars, clothing, doggy beds -- anything your pooch could possibly want. Oh, and they give yummy treats to the dogs (and sometimes the humans too!) We love this place!

 

TAG [view the full listing]

142 University Avenue
Suite D
San Diego, CA 92103
(619) 497-0180

 
5posted: August 12th, 2007

Awesome store -- great selection of merchandise


I visited TAG for the first time this week. I loved the wonderful selection of merchandise -- everything from cool collars and leashes to doggy beds, toys and premium foods. The owners are super-duper nice and friendly, and so helpful and eager to help. They are extremely knowledgable about dog nutrition! The store is big, airy and clean -- mom and I wished we could have spent all day there! Definitely will visit again in the near future!

 

Board and Brew [view the full listing]

1212 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar
Del Mar, CA 92014
(858) 481-1021

 
5posted: August 11th, 2007

Great Sandwiches!


The Board and Brew is located on Camino Del Mar (Highway 101) about three blocks from the beach. It's a great setting -- good for people watching -- with tables set under umbrellas along the sidewalk. Dogs are very welcome in the outdoor seating area. They serve great lunchtime sandwiches at excellent prices. Very laid-back with a surfer-type vibe, in a wonderful area of San Diego.

 

VCA North Coast Animal Hospital [view the full listing]

414 Encinitas Boulevard
Encinitas, CA 92024
(760) 487-7322

 
3posted: August 11th, 2007

Okay for Emergencies...


Abby has been to see the vet here a total of maybe three times and I have never been too impressed by the quality of care. Each time we went, we saw a different vet and they had to read her file to learn about her. Not very personal. If it's an emergency and you need immediate assistance then fine...but otherwise, I would advise you to go elsewhere.

 

Roxy Restaurant & Ice Cream Bar [view the full listing]

517 S. Coast Highway 101
Encinitas, CA 92024
(760) 436-5001

 
5posted: August 11th, 2007

Yummy Vegetarian Food


Great place to hang out with your doggy (at the outdoor tables) while enjoying tasty, fresh and very creative vegetarian dishes. Great prices and a lovely ambiance in the heart of downtown Encinitas.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Stratford Court Cafe [view the full listing]

1307 Stratford Ct.
Del Mar, CA 92014
(858) 792-7433

 
5edited: August 11th, 2007

Great Location, Fun Place to Hang Out!


This little gem, tucked away in a residential section of Del Mar is a fabulous escape! It's a block from 101 and about two blocks to the beach. All seating is outdoors, mostly under big umbrellas! There are probably more people who come here with dogs than without! Very laid-back atmosphere, hearty breakfasts, lots of healthy food too. Highly recommend!

posted: August 11th, 2007

 

The Potato Shack [view the full listing]

120 West I Street
Encinitas, CA 92024
76043612

 
5edited: August 11th, 2007

Love This Place!


We go here often and love the food, the ambiance and the dog-friendliness, of course! Dogs aren't allowed inside, but there are plenty of tables along the sidewalk under umbrellas, where dogs are more than welcome. I prefer the outdoor seating, anyway. Abby always gets her own chair at the table and is made a huge fuss of by the waitresses and other customers too! Wonderful place for a lazy Sunday brunch! Get the pancakes....so yummy!

posted: August 11th, 2007

1 pet found this review helpful

 

North County Humane Society & S.P.C.A. [view the full listing]

2481 Palomar Airport Road
Carlsbad, CA 92009
(760) 438-2312

 
3posted: August 11th, 2007

Super-Clean, Well-Run...Staff Needs Some Work


A state-of-the-art facility. You could eat off the floors here. It is a kill shelter, which is sad. We went to see a bully at this shelter about a year ago, and the staff tried to tell us he was "unadoptable". Pit Bull Rescue finally saved him and he turned into an amazing, loving doggy. Jsut shows...the shelter people are not the authorities they think they are.

 

Pet Nutrition Center [view the full listing]

23 N El Camino Real
Suite G
Encinitas, CA 92024
760436

 
5posted: February 26th, 2007

Good Variety of Food and Toys


This friendly neighborhood pet store offers a wide selection of premium, raw and organic foods. Nice selection of dog and cat toys too. It's small, but has a good selection of merchandise. Also offers holistic products for skin allergies.

 

Poway Dog Park [view the full listing]

13094 Bowron Road
Poway, CA 92064

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Award-Winning Dog Park


Poway Dog Park is an award-winning fenced-in, lighted, off-leash area for dogs within the City of Poway. Poway Community Park is open from sunrise to sunset daily. Lights in the dog park off-leash area extend evening hours to 9:30 p.m. Between 50 and 150 dogs visit the park each day with their owners. Great place for dogs to play, sniff, run and socialize.

 

Rancho Coastal Humane Society [view the full listing]

389 Requeza Street
Encinitas, CA 92024

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Clean and Organized


Friendly personnel, a pleasant, clean facility. Well run, efficient, organized.

 

Animal Keeper The Inc [view the full listing]

155 Saxony Rd
Encinitas, CA 92024
(760) 753-9366

 
1posted: February 24th, 2007

Not Too Impressed


I boarded Abby here about 3 years ago. Things might have changed since then. When I first went to look at the place, I asked them to show me where she would be boarded. They showed me a very nice size doggy run. I was impressed and proceeded to book her in there. However, the day I dropped her off, they promptly put her into a small cage that's no bigger than the ones they have at the vet's office. I was so upset, but we were on our way to the airport and I didn't have time to make a scene. She's never gone back.

 

Viewpoint Park [view the full listing]

D Street and Cornish Drive
Encinitas, CA 92024

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Great Neighborhood Park


Encinitas has two parks that allow dogs to be off-leash for restricted hours (Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays) during the week. There's Orpheus and Viewpoint. Orpheus is the bigger of the two and tends to get more crowded. Viewpoint is quieter and smaller. It's surrounded by trees on three sides, and while there is a small fence that runs along the road, it's not totally enclosed. We always have a fun time at this park. The grass can get a bit soggy after heavy rains, but the dogs seem to enjoy it even more when it's like that!

 

Orpheus Park [view the full listing]

Orpheus Ave. at Union Street
Encinitas, CA 92024

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Large, Grassy Park


This park has limited off-leash dog hours. You can take your dog there on-leash anytime, but off-leash has specific time periods. It's a large, slopey, park with picnic benches, a children's play area, water fountain and doggy bags. It is open to the road on one side so if you have a dog that likes to dash off, this might not be the best place for them.

 

North Beach Dog Run - Coronado [view the full listing]

100 Ocean Blvd.
Coronado, CA 92118
(619) 522-7342

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Wide, sandy beach! Love it.


This is a beautiful, wide sandy beach. The beach itself isn't very long, but if you have a dog that loves to chase a ball (like Abby does), there is more than enough beach for running and playing. Lots of doggy bag dispensers and overall very clean. Great location, right near the famous Hotel Del Coronado.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Del Mar Dog Beach [view the full listing]

29th Street
Del Mar, CA 92014

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Beautiful Beach for Dogs and Dog Lovers


Del Mar Dog Beach is open from mid-September through mid-June. It is off-limits for three months during the summer. It's a wonderful, expansive stretch of beach, nestled against rugged cliffs. It's best to go at low-tide, which allows for a wider stretch of beach to run and play on. Lots of rock pools filled with crabs and crawly critters. Great place.

 

Helen Woodward Animal Center [view the full listing]

6461 El Apajo Road
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
(858) 756-4117

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Excellent Animal Shelter


A very well-run no-kill animal shelter. Clean, organized, friendly, set in beautiful of Rancho Santa Fe. We adopted Vincent, our big beautiful ginger boy from Helen Woodward.

 

Banfield Pet Hospital [view the full listing]

1034 N El Camino Real
Encinitas, CA 92024
(760) 436-1013

 
3posted: February 24th, 2007

Just Okay


If you're "inbetween" vets or looking around, this place is okay as an interim solution. However, I wouldn't use them long-term. You see a different vet each time you go, and the one-on-one, personal attention is lacking. They aren't bad...but not great either.

 

Animal & Bird Hosp Of Del Mar [view the full listing]

2132 Jimmy Durante Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
(858) 755-9351

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Two Thumbs Way, Way Up


After spending more than a year looking for a good vet, I stumbled upon this place and have thanked my lucky stars every day since then. They provide compassionate care, personalized service, a friendly, down-to-earth ambiance and the best medical attention possible. I won't trust Abby's health to anyone else.

 

Lax Johnathan Dvm [view the full listing]

6955 El Camino Real 101
Carlsbad, CA 92009
(760) 931-8431

 
2posted: February 24th, 2007

Condescending Vet


I liked this vet initially, until he failed to give Abby her required bordatella shot. We boarded her for a few days when we went out of town-- she caught bordatella -- and when I called the vet to ask him why she had not been vaccinated, he tried to make me feel guilty for boarding her, instead of accepting any responsibility for his oversight. We had no other choice. We had to go out of town and we had nobody to housesit for us. That was the end of my relationship with his practice. I have since found a MUCH more caring, compassionate, likeable vet.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

PetPeople [view the full listing]

260 N. El Camino Real
Encinitas, CA 92024
(760) 633-4663

 
4posted: February 24th, 2007

Good Selection of Merchandise


This place is a little too sterile for our taste compared to some of the other cozy, more intimate doggy stores we frequent, but they do have a great selection of higher end foods. Everything from Wellness to Merricks to Natural Balance. Staff is friendly and they always have lots of treats on hand (a big plus for Abby!)

 

Dog In Suds [view the full listing]

382 N El Camino Real
Encinitas, CA 92024
(760) 943-0653

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Friendly, Prompt Service


A very friendly grooming service that also sells premium food, toys, collars. We take Abby there about every six weeks to get her anal gland extracted (she would be so embarrassed if she knew I was telling this to the world!!). We don't make an appointment, yet they always take her right away and the glands get done in a matter of minutes. Friendly, professional service.

 

Dogster HQ [view the full listing]

De Haro St and 18th St
San Francisco, CA 94115

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Five Paws to Dogster


Thank you for creating the best social networking site on the Internet!! Dogster has changed our lives and given us the chance to meet so many wonderful friends from all corners of the world and to share great experiences with like-minded dog lovers. Thank you for all you do to make Dogster the entertaining, friendly, informative, fun-filled place that it is.

 

Muttropolis - Solana Beach [view the full listing]

227 South Cedros Avenue
Solana Beach, CA 92075
(858) 755-3647

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Pricey but Fabulous!


If you want to find a gift for the dog that's got everything, this is the place to shop!! The toys range from squeaky "Sniffany & Co" gift boxes to "Chewy Vuitton" squeaky purses to "Jimmy Chew" toy shoes! Plus, they have a great range of food for dogs and cats, beautiful designer collars, leashes and clothes and lots of yummy treats in jars -- like rabbit ears, pork twists, rawhides and more. We also like the fact that they have happy hours here once a month on a Thursday evening -- where dogs and dog lovers alike can mingle and check out the latest merchandise. A fun place that you and your dog will both enjoy visiting.

 

Dexter's Deli [view the full listing]

1229 Camino Del Mar
Del Mar, CA 92014

 
5edited: February 26th, 2007

Love Going to Dexter's Deli


This is one of our favorite pet stores. Excellent variety of raw and alternative diets, cozy ambiance, very knowledgeable staff. Ask them anything about pet nutrition, and they have answers. Another plus is the human treats they often have available (for free) to their customers -- homemade brownies, cookies, etc. Oh, and they always make a big, big fuss of Abby -- so that scores points with us too. They have a wonderful assortment of doggy treats too, as well as the cutest outfits, beautiful collars and leashes, designer bowls, fun toys -- you name it, they've got it. We have a blast every time we go there.

posted: February 23rd, 2007

3 out of 3 pets found this review helpful