Ratings and Reviews

Dumb Friends League [view the full listing]

2080 South Quebec Street
Denver, CO 80231
(303) 751-5772

Reviews


 
5edited: December 21st, 2007

DDFL does a great job!


I am an alumnus of another shelter, but Denver Dumb Friends League is really great. They have an excellent facility, good policies and do a such a good job of getting dogs adopted. We would not hesitate to recommend DDFL to anyone in need of shelter services.

posted: December 21st, 2007

 

 
5posted: December 3rd, 2007

Great Place!


This is where I got my cutie pie and he's the best puppy! They were friendly and fast and they make sure the puppy is healthy otherwise they'll pay for needed care.

 

 
5edited: October 8th, 2007

What a beautiful facility!


So clean, so convenient and suitable for animals and human alike. The animals are treated very well. Dudley was clean, groomed, and well taken care of even though he was scared and didn't know what was happening to him. We had a private counselor and a private room to get acquainted in. I was able to take him outdoors to a grassy area to play. That's when I knew I wanted to take him home. He had to stay one more day to be neutered. They never release an animal that hasn't been neutered or spayed and micro-chipped. All that was done for free. There is a gift shop in the facility where you can buy necessities and gifts for your new animal. Also, they give you a free bag of food. Afterward they follow up on the animals that are adopted to make sure they are in a good home. They have to be treated well, have seen a vet (first visit is free), are happy and well established or they go back to the facility. There is a help line in case you have any problems and they offer training classes. What a wonderful dog I got! I am so thankful for my Dudley!

posted: October 8th, 2007

 

 
5posted: August 21st, 2007

Alumni of the DDFL


This is a truly awesome shelter and cares for thousands of animals every year in the Denver Metro area. The shelter is clean and the animals are very well cared for. The professional staff has the animal's well-being at heart and take the time to find the perfect match for the pet seeker. It is a comfortable atmosphere (although sometimes a bit busy) and there is no sense of rushing as you go through the adoption process. Computer kiosks help you figure out what kind of animal might be best suited to your lifestyle. The DDFL has reasonable adoption fees that include spay/neuter, microchipping, various shots, your first vet visit and resources to use down the road, including a behavior helpline. I am so grateful to the DDFL for taking such good care of my little boy until I found him and he joined my family.

 

 
5posted: August 19th, 2007


This is where I got my boy. Dumb Friends is a wonderful place and I will definitely go back for another one (or ten!) :)

 

 
5posted: July 8th, 2007

Great place for a dog to find a loving home


The Denver Dumb Friends' League does everything possible to encourage dog adoptions. The place is clean, cheerful, and attractive. The dogs are presented in glass-fronted kennels, not cages. There are counselors to help people find the right dog or puppy in an unhurried atmosphere. When I (Flannery) went there to pick my new friend (Gibson), the counselor let us play together in a fenced yard to see how we got along. Gibson got some obedience training while he was there, which is a good thing because he is very strong!

 

 
5posted: February 24th, 2007

Great organization!


I think the Denver Dumb Friends League is a great organization. The Rocky Mountain Chinese Crested Rescue is always contacted when there are Chinese cresteds in the shelter. That way, we can get them placed quickly. Also, every year, I like to participate in the Buddy Center walk. Lots of fun for dogs and everyone treats me so well when I do the walk. My next door neighbor "Belle" was adopted from DDFL. She's a great dog and her owner is very happy with how nicely the DDFL treated her and treated Belle, when she was there.

 

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Nice place


As far as animal shelters go, the Denver Dumb Friends League is a very cheerful place. The animals are well cared for and often receive some training during their stay at the DFL. All dogs and cats are microchipped and spayed or neutered before they are allowed to go home with their new families. The Dumb Friends League is also a leader in our region in humane education and animal welfare. It's not a "no kill" shelter, but they have been known to keep animals for several months while they wait to be adopted.