Ratings and Reviews

Montrose Dog Beach [view the full listing]

Wilson Dr and N Simonds Dr
Chicago, IL 60659

Reviews


 
1posted: July 28th, 2008

montrose beach dog theft


BEWARE: There have been numerous reports about people having their dogs stolen at montrose dog beach. It is a huge place for the dogs to run and interact, which seems harmless and fun. Unfortunately for a few people, as the sun starts to set, they are left standing without the friend they came with! Along with warnings from friends I have also stumbled upon a couple craigslist adds that state these peoples dogs have been stolen, posting an add of lost/stolen dog on craigslist! It's a horrible thing to go thru, but it's better to be informed than to learn the hard way. I will never go there, it's now a place that's unsafe in my eyes. HERE ARE A COUPLE OF THE MONTROSE INNCIDENTS: http://chicago.craigslist.org/chc/pet/770015061.html http://chicago.craigslist.org/chc/pet/771089133.html BE SAFE WHEN YOU HIT THESE BEACHES UP AND HAVE A WATCHFUL EYE ON YOUR DOGS!!! GOOD LUCK

 

 
5posted: November 27th, 2007

our favorite spot!!


We're noon time regulars, year-round. There is a great group of folks that get together every day, rain or shine. Our favorite time is the fall and winter when the summer "picnic-ers" and unsocialized dogs are scarce. Mondog is the group that shares responsibility for the area with the city. You can find them at Mondog.org. This beach is one of the great things about living in the city. There's no greater joy than seeing a pack of dogs running free through the waves. Take advantage of it!

 

 
5posted: November 15th, 2007

Great Place


Well behaved dogs, clean, ample parking.

 

 
4edited: August 7th, 2007

Dog Friendly Area (DFA) Permits


We love this beach!!! It is pretty big and the fence does not extend completely to the water line. So if your dog likes to run or does not have a well established recall, it's a good idea to go with a buddy for the extra eyes. We also like to adhere to an alternative vaccination regimen in favor of yearly vaccines - as there is much evidence that some vaccinations last longer than 12 months. So if you have not vaccinated within the last 12 months and would like to avoid it but still go the beach, ask your vet about the titer test in order to determine if your dog demonstrates satisfactory levels of vaccine titers, and could therefore be considered sufficiently immune to the diseases mentioned below. WHAT ARE THE PERMIT REQUIREMENTS? Pursuant to regulations under the new Cook County Ordinance, dog owners must show proof of: a) Current dog license issued by the City of Chicago, or proof that the dog has a current rabies vaccination. b) Examination within the past year for any communicable diseases including an examination of a stool specimen for internal parasites. c) Current vaccination or titer if possible for Distemper, Hepatitis, Para-influenza, Parvovirus, and Bordatella (kennel cough) unless an exemption to this requirement has been granted by the Administrator upon the written recommendation from the Owner’s veterinarian.

posted: August 7th, 2007

1 pet found this review helpful

 

 
5posted: May 26th, 2007

Montrose Dog Beach


I Luvvvvv that beach. I run. I make new friends. I even get my owner to go into the water and fetch my ball when it's thrown too far for me....hee hee hee. I have loads of fun roaming free....ahhhhh roaming free....I give Montrose Dog Beach 4 paws & 2 thumbs up!!!

 

 
5posted: April 26th, 2007

poop free!


My favorite thing about this beach is how clean it is. Thanks for picking up your poop - it makes a cleaner place for all of us!

 

 
3posted: April 15th, 2007

dog beach


I have been here and I had alot of fun but people should know that there are risks involved. Your dog can get out of the area very easily and it is near busy roads. Visit the dog beach after attending the "Bark in the Park 2007". . . what a great time!

1 pet found this review helpful

 

 
4posted: March 6th, 2007

Montrose Dog Beach


The dog beach is better than any of Chicago's dinky, concrete dog parks. Regardless of whether your pooch ever goes into the water, there is a long stretch of sand for romping, digging, and rolling in. We especially like going during wet & rainy weather when the local parks and forests are full of mud and the beach is a cleaner alternative. The winter crowd is dedicated and well-behaved, but we are told that the beach can be overrun with less-socialized dogs in the summertime.

 

 
3edited: February 6th, 2007

Permits now required!


The Chicago Park District has recently started requiring permits for all dog-friendly areas (dog parks and beaches) in Chicago. If you go to Montrose Beach with no permit you will be fined, so be careful! You can get the permit from many Chicago vet offices (you need to get vaccinations and exam to get the permit!) and it is $5 per year per dog. If you are visiting Chicago you can still get a permit but you need to show proof of rabies vaccination. Montrose Dog Beach is the only legal off-leash beach for dogs inside Chicago. The dog beach is mostly fenced in, and recent additions have been made to improve access to the beach. Also please note that your dog must be on a leash in the areas surrounding the fenced-off dog beach area and that dogs are not allowed on the adjacent 'human' beach.

posted: February 6th, 2007

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Ratings

5