GO!

Dog speedometer

Running, catching, leaping; this is the forum to discuss dog sports and agility training with other active pups!

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Olive

Barked: Tue Feb 23, '10 9:09am PST 
Hi! I am new to Dogster! I am writing because my sister and I are looking into getting into the dog collar gps business. We have whippets and have been looking for a way to track their speed while having fun at the park. The speedometer we are thinking of developing would use gps technology to record your dogs top and average speed. This is meant to be used for fun, and to help owners keep track of their dogs fitness level. Your dog runs at his own will, and the device is small and light weight. I think it would be great fun for anyone with a dog who loves running. GPS technology is not cheap however, and we are concerned that not enough people would be interested in just tracking speed. Wondering if anyone interested would be willing to give us some feedback, would you consider buying a unit like this? How much would you expect to pay? Thanks for your time!
[notify]
Lola

Poodle, not- doodle!

Barked: Wed Feb 24, '10 4:55am PST 
I know that, at least in the agility circles I run in, Yards per second is a big deal. So if it could calculate that, it would be awesomebig grin
[notify]
Cobain ADC,- SGDC, CGN

More Bored- Collies

Barked: Wed Feb 24, '10 5:52am PST 
big laugh It's funny you mention this. Just the other day, I wanted to see how much exercise it took to tire out my Border Collie (or at least how far he runs in the hour and a half walk we take laugh out loud)
So I tied an old GPS system to his collar. Needless to say, it really didn't work out all that well. The GPS was hanging low on his neck and swung back and fourth - which stopped him from running as he usually does.
So I was thinking about how great it would be to have a device sort of like this.