GO!

What's the best dry food? What's probiotics?

Discuss ways to improve the quality of your dog's life and longevity through proper nutrition; a place for all of your questions and answers about feeding your pooch!

Please keep discussions fun, friendly, and helpful at all times. Non-informative posts criticizing a particular brand or another poster’s choice of food are not allowed in this Forum. References to any brand of food as "junk," "garbage," or other harsh names will be removed.

(Page 1 of 3: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  
Zuzu

Head of squirrel- patrol

Barked: Tue Jan 8, '08 8:32am PST 
Hi there,
....dogster newbie here...

I have 2 dogs. My vet has recommended Science Diet Light for both. I found that kinda odd since Augie is 1 1/2 yrs; Zuzu just over 1 y/o. I thought 'light' meant less calories and protein. Do growing dogs need more protein & calories? I thought so, but maybe I am wrong??

Augie's breeder recommended Nutro, but that food always gave him the squirts. He does not have that problem with Science Diet, so I continue to give that to both him & Zuzu. Is there something better we should try?

Also, I've been reading the post on Dogster about probiotics. Isn't that some part of yogurt? Do my dogs need this for healthy digestion?

My greatest desire is to have happy & healthy dogs; I want to ensure I'm feeding them the right thing. Your wisdom and opinions are greatly welcomed!
[notify]
Nallah

*Retrieva Diva!*

Barked: Tue Jan 8, '08 8:47am PST 
Hey Augie & Zuzu!! Welcome to dogster! wave