Postings by Laika

GO!

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  

Other Barks & Woofs > Unhappy With Other Owners in my Complex
Laika

Ninja Kisser

Barked: Fri Nov 8, '13 3:50pm PST 
This year I was super excited to move into an apartment, as I'm a college student and this would mean I could finally bring my dogs along with me.

And here comes the rant:
The other dog owners in this complex are terrible, the majority(there are a few really fantastic ones). They don't clean up after their dogs, they don't pay attention to them when they're out, some don't even bother leashing their dogs when they take them out.

Even worse, on two separate occassions(the most recent being a little less than half an hour ago) I've seen two people hit their dogs for responding when mine pass.

The first was a tiny Chihuahua, off leash, who charged at my two dogs(respectively 15 and 45 pounds). It wasn't a big deal to me, my dogs are well behaved and didn't acknowledge him with more than a glance. His owner however felt the need to grab the poor little guy and hit him on the head. I bit back a comment and just kept walking, getting my dogs away from him.

Tonight, I passed a man with two dogs checking his mail. As soon as she saw us the little one started pulling and jumping. Pure excitement, no aggression whatsoever. He just turned around, hit her once, then two more times as she kept pulling. Then, his other dog started pulling in the opposite direction(probably to get away from the angry vibes) so he turned around and hit her too! Again, I resisted the urge to ask if he hits his kids too. No need to antagonize the situation.

I honestly don't understand it. It's really upsetting, but I don't know if there is anything I can do. My complex doesn't even check to make sure all of the dogs have their shots.

Maybe it's just the happy-go lucky "everything's awesome!" college mindset that had me expecting owners to be at least decent. I don't live in a bad area...