Postings by Bingley's Family

GO!

(Page 1 of 20: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  

Dog Health > question for vet technitians on this site...
Bingley

Barked: Tue Jul 10, '12 8:15pm PST 
If you were lying in a hospital bed would you want to be taken care of by someone who "called themselves" a nurse or by a registered nurse? I have a college degree in veterinary technology, I passed a difficult national exam and my state boards, I have to reregister every year and take continuing education courses every year. Do you think someone who has done none of that should be allowed to call themself a veterinary technician?

This is the AVMA policy on Veterinary Technicians and Veterinary Assistants:
http://www.avma.org/issues/policy/veterinary_technology .asp

This is the Wisconsin State Board definition of Veterinary Technicians:

"Veterinary technician means a person duly certified by the examining board to work under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian.
Unlicensed assistant means a person not holding a license, permit or certificate issued by the board."

I may not be paid a lot but I take pride in taking care of my patients and having a foundation of education and training upon which I can expand my skills.
[notify]
» There has since been 16 posts. Last posting by Luna, Jul 16 2:36 am

Dog Health > Post dental extraction
Bingley

Barked: Tue Jul 10, '12 7:15pm PST 
Yes, keep giving the tramadol. It isn't good to put up with pain whether you are a human or a dog. It takes a toll on the body and delays healing. The whining may just be from dysphoria which the drug can cause and should go away in a couple of days. You can talk to your vet about an NSAID. They can be given at the same time as tramadol.
[notify]
» There has since been 2 posts. Last posting by Rexy, Jul 11 12:38 am

Dog Health > question for vet technitians on this site...

Bingley

Barked: Mon Jul 9, '12 7:12pm PST