Help new Beagle mom with Questions

Mr. Jake the- Beagle

I am Murphy's- Law Embodied! <3- Me!

Barked: Wed Oct 26, '11 11:51am PST 
Hi, I'm new to dogster and have recently come into the ownership of my first dog and he's a 3 year old tri color beagle with a white spot on his butt. he was rescued from the county shelter after his prior owner surrendered him. My vet believes he's a pure beagle. he weights about 27lbs and seems happy and content.

Here's the questions I have or rather problems I need help solving.

1) I believe he has separation anxiety. he's slowly getting over it as we're working on desensitizing him to me leaving the house and the jingling of my keys or the door chain. But due to this separation anxiety he's extremely destructive. He's already tore through a door, taken the insulation out of the garage (we put him there because it was raining and usually he stays in our fenced backyard) which he now has a dog house. But he's started digging as if to escape our yard. So my friends suggested a dog run.

Is a dog run alright for a beagle? At the moment we're using a long tie down but he's started to pull that up since the earth is soft were we live. And I don't want anything to happen to him.

2) My beagle barks in greeting at anything he sees once he's eyes come in contact with them. This dog does not bark otherwise. it's odd. When i first got him everyone asked if he had been debarked. He didn't bark for the first time till i took him to petsmart the day after i got him and he saw a Newfoundland -_-;;. He scared me and the other dog. (only because he'd not barked prior to this. I have other hound dogs in the family including a 12 year beagle from an abusive family my grandpa rescued and a 6 year old German Shepard bassist hound mix. so i knew what i was getting into.) Not to mention it echos in petsmart. And he pulls like no other to get at them.