GO!

New to Akitas.

This is a forum for bonding with your fellow Dogsters about the traits, quirks and idiosyncrasies of your favorite breed. Please remember that there are absolutely no animal sales or requests for studding or breeding allowed on our sites. All posts and interactions should be in the spirit of Dogster's Community Guidelines and should be fun, friendly and informational. Enjoy!

Winn

Baby polar bears- aren't even this- cute!

Barked: Fri Sep 23, '11 4:49am PST 
Hi there all you lucky Akita pawrents. I am new to the world of Akitas and wondered if anyone had any super secret Akita-only tips to share.
I'm currently fostering, will probably be adopting, a young female Akita, maybe a mix?, we just aren't sure. I've done a ton of reading about them in the past week and they sure seem like, and she certainly backs this up, fantastic dogs! Not totally dissimilar to the Siberian Huskies that I know and love. I was just wondering if anyone could share some little quirks or insights that you may have into the breed as a whole.
I'll tell you a little about my specific questions.
First off I'm wondering if anyone else thinks she may be mixed breed, or if she's just young and doesn't look quite right yet.
Also if anyone has a guess as to age that might be helpful as far as feeding and training are concerned. The rescue was guessing around 2 or 3, but I think she might be even younger and not quite done growing. I haven't had her weighed yet, but I'm ballparking around 75-85 lbs, also her hind legs are a little longer than the front and a groomer friend of mine who loves the breed said she thinks she will "even out" after she finishes growing.
On that same front, what supplements do you all use for joint health? I have read a lot about the health concerns and joints seem to be a big issue especially for the bigger guys.