GO!

Been on raw for 5 months, still confused.

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your dog's diet, please contact your vet!

Barked: Sun Nov 24, '13 12:16pm PST 
Hi everyone, my name is Remy im new to dogster and i have some questions about raw food.

I have a 7 month old goldendoodle and i have fed her commercial raw for 5 months (ever since i got her).

Im really confused about allergies and poop...

Luna (my goldendoodle) has had ear build up of wax and yeast for a long time now. I tried an elimination diet and only fed lamb for a month, still had a lot of build up. no other symptoms so im wondering if it is in fact an allergic reaction or if its just bcz she has floppy ears and were always down by the beach and she is always getting wet. any advice or experience?

I am now varying her food and for the last 4 days i have been feeding her 1lb lamb neck in the morning and a lamb and tripe patty in the evening (by carnivora) and she has been having mucusy poop, not on every poop, but for some of them. also there was a big yellow poop and i havent been feeding her any chicken. there is no blood in the mucus, and this morning after a lamb neck she had really runny wet poop. Im thinking not enough bone, any other ideas?

also supplementation? does anyone add in things like fish oil, multi vit, msm, joint formulations, greens or veg, or diatomaceous earth?

and lastly, pet insurance... I don't have it and im trying to put money away, but i need advice. Im a student and dont have lots of money but at the same time i want to do whats best for my pup!