GO!

mucous poo on raw diet

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your dog's diet, please contact your vet!

Barked: Mon Nov 12, '12 4:38pm PST 
I'm pretty new to the raw diet, but I've noticed my dog have been having mucous poo for a while now. It seems to be just the first part of the poo, but it's fairly mucous. Otherwise he seems pretty normal... maybe his poo is a bit looser than I'd like (but he's a very active puppy and hard to keep weight on and so gets more fat, in the form of marrow bones, than the average dog).

My first thought was hookworms, but I've wormed him and it didn't seem to help at all. I'd take him to the vet for it, but as he seems healthy overall (and I've recently moved and money is very tight) I'd rather not, and the vet will probably blame it on the raw diet anyway.

Is this at all normal on a raw diet? Has anyone else experienced it? Should I be concerned?
[notify]
Duke

I'm king of the- world!

Barked: Mon Nov 12, '12 6:07pm PST 
Duke used to get loose, mucousy, inconsistent stools, too. Then I upped his bone intake, and voile, no more mucous or looseness! And here I thought the problem was irritation from too much bone. shrug Turned out to be just the opposite.

You could try a quality, daily probiotic. A good one is Nutrigest.

Fatty marrow will cause nasty poop issues, too. Maybe increase calories with a bit of extra meat instead of so much extra fat?

Edited by author Mon Nov 12, '12 6:09pm PST

[notify]
Maxwell

I'm triple- superior MAD- now!

Barked: Mon Nov 12, '12 7:13pm PST 
The exact same thing happened with Max early on.