GO!

Problems with prey model

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your dog's diet, please contact your vet!

Barked: Tue Jun 19, '12 1:48am PST 
So I've been feeding prey model for a few years now, and what I do is the same as the instructions on here but I'm having problems.

In the summer when the berries and veggies are in season, the dogs keep picking them and eating them. Um, not exactly biologically appropriate so I don't get why they're doing this.

I've tried giving them more of their food but they still browse the plants and have even been eating less of their food since they seem to fill up on the veggies and berries. They do this every summer like clock work.

I can't just fence it off because I don't own the property.

Another problem is that two of my dogs had to under go surgery for impacted bones and the other one for an intestinal perforation.

I've been feeding them whole bones, smaller bones for their meals and weight bearing for dental cleaning. I read that I can grind the bones but this doesn't make sense to me, it's not natural. Wolves don't eat ground bones, they eat whole bones.
[notify]
Jackson Tan

Lad about town

Barked: Tue Jun 19, '12 3:46am PST 
Weight bearing bones are notorious for causing blockages. I met a lab once that had three surgeries because of beef femurs. Not many raw feeders feed them nor recommend them: at the very least they can chip teeth. I would drop the big bones. I pretty much exclusively feed chicken bones and my dog has nice clean teeth.