Close X
GO!

balanced recipe? new to this

This is the place to share your best homemade dog food and treat recipes with each other! Remember to use caution if your pet has allergies and to make any diet changes gradually so that your dog's stomach can adjust to the new foods you are introducing.

Moose

Barked: Thu Feb 26, '15 4:44pm PST 
Hi. I'm new to homemade dog food. Moose recently had a mast cell tumor removed and I'm concerned about commercial dog foods and want to feed him nutritious food and help his immune system at the same time. He's kind of picky about the commercial food anyway, and we've tried quite a few from grocery store to high value. After a few weeks he'll turn his nose up at kibble. I made my first batch of homemade last week and he just loves it, but I'd like some feedback to see if this recipe is balanced? I found it online and changed it just a little. Thank you in advance!!

Moose is a 5 yr old Chesapeake Bay Retriever, currently 116 lbs (could prolly stand to lose 10 lbs)

10# raw hamburger
12 c pureed, cooked beans
1 dozen eggs
2c wheat germ
4c rolled oats
6c cooked brown rice
2c cooked sweet potato
8c water
4c cooked mashed vegetables (green beans, pumpkin, broccoli, carrots)
6 T. garlic powder
1 T. salt substitute – ‘No Salt’ for potassium chloride
6 T. kelp granules
3 T. parsley
3 T. turmeric

Mix together and bake 350* 1 hr

He gets 16 oz. of "meatloaf" twice a day which is about 2% of his body weight. I add 1/2 tsp. egg shell powder and 1 tbsp. ground flaxseed twice a day. Also he gets a tin of sardines per week.
The recipe lasts about 2 weeks.

I think maybe he should have some liver also for Vitamin A but not sure how much? I'm also not sure if I need to add something for vitamin E?

All recommendations are welcome! Thank you!

dog walk