GO!

Wheat Flour vs. white Flour

This is the place to share your best homemade dog food and treat recipes with each other! Remember to use caution if your pet has allergies and to make any diet changes gradually so that your dog's stomach can adjust to the new foods you are introducing.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Spencer

I am a REAL boy!

Barked: Tue Apr 29, '08 5:39pm PST 
I was going to bake some treats for my 3 tonight and I don't have wheat flour in the house...is white flour really bad for them?

I am really new to baking for the dogs...I now know to keep wheat flour on hand.
[notify]
Harley, SD,- CGC, TDI

Super Service- Boy!

Barked: Tue Apr 29, '08 5:57pm PST 
White flour is bleached wheat. Personally, I wouldn't use either (OK, I can't use either...Im allergic to it) but wheat is one of the top allergens in dogs and isn't good for them.
[notify]
Lily

Whose bed?? Why- would YOU think- that?

Barked: Tue Apr 29, '08 7:06pm PST 
Wheat, along with corn and soy is a major allergen for dogs. It can cause skin, ear, feet problems + many more.
That being said, you can substitute white flour for whole wheat- it's all wheat. I would hope yours is unbleached. One less chemical for your family, including the dog.
You can grind some oatmeal into flour, but your product may have trouble holding together without the gluten - another allergen. Try adding an extra egg and less liquid.
[notify]

Hershey

I'm sticking my- tongue out at- you!

Barked: Wed Apr 30, '08 5:46pm PST 
There is actually some debate as to whether or not oats have gluten in them. I am, however, the master at baking without gluten. You can use alternate flours (found at whole foods or health food stores) such as garbanzo bean flour, buckwheat flour (not wheat, but actually a grass), almond flour, etc... and use Xantan gum. Xanthan gum acts as a binder. Generally, you use two - three teaspoons depending on the size of the recipe.
[notify]
Newman