GO!

Hand stripping?

Good grooming practices are essential for maintaining health and happiness for you and your dog. This is a forum to exchange tips and advice for proper care of your dog's hygiene needs.

Skipper- a.k.a Skip

Terror terrier

Barked: Thu Mar 14, '13 5:13am PST 
Hi all puppy

I was just wondering about Skip's coat... He's only ten weeks at the minute but he's a broken coated Parson Russell Terrier.

The breeder told me to leave his coat as long as possible before I do anything with it but, how long is that?

Does anyone have experience with terriers and their rough fur?

There is no way I'm going to be stripping his coat myself (terrifying) but I was just wondering what age is best to start?

Obviously if it's not too long through the summer, I'll leave it long through next winter but like I said, I'm curious puppy

Thanks for any advice, in advance x
[notify]
Maxwell

I'm triple- superior MAD- now!

Barked: Fri Mar 15, '13 12:08am PST 
I am no pro but I stripped Raymond, an extra large JRT. I strip Maxwell, a 13 year old spaniel mix, well really card because I am mostly removing undercoat but the undercoat is on top which is ugly and needs to be gone. Carding is removing undercoat, stripping is removing the hard top coat.

The reason your breeder told you to wait is only old hair is pulled out. It really doesn't hurt if done when the hair is ready to go. You are simply taking it out before it falls out on its own.

Since I don't have experience with a wire coated pup I cannot be sure but just keep your pup brushed out often in preparation for whatever finishing touches you decide to do and when you are seeing a lot of long hairs coming out it may be time to start working on the coat.

It will cost a lot of money to have your pup done properly as it is time consuming and not many groomers are willing to tire their hands to do this. It may not need to be done as often as clipping a poodle though.