GO!

What I have learned about having a dog with chronic acid reflux...

Discuss ways to improve the quality of your dog's life and longevity through proper nutrition; a place for all of your questions and answers about feeding your pooch!

Please keep discussions fun, friendly, and helpful at all times. Non-informative posts criticizing a particular brand or another poster’s choice of food are not allowed in this Forum. References to any brand of food as "junk," "garbage," or other harsh names will be removed.

Jasper

an oodle of fun!

Barked: Fri Jul 23, '10 4:40pm PST 
Helloswave

I am not a medical professional, but I have learned so much about GERD in dogs that I thought this might be helpful to other dogs. Jasper's reflux is controlled by diet, but it is a chronic condition. We have changed foods so many times because we had no clue we had a dog with reflux until food allergies were ruled out. It is a relief when you finally get a diagnosis.

Please feel free to add info to this list I have created!

1. Kibble/food is most tolerated when it is lower protein/lower fat. Grain inclusive foods and LID foods work well for us.
2. Low fat and limited ingredient biscuits and treats seem to be the most digestible.
3. Tomatoes, acidic things, cheese, spicy things, fatty fish skin and oily table scraps can cause an instant flare up (we can't feed salmon oil at all anymore).
4. For us, a little plain nonfat yogurt/nonfat cottage cheese is a welcome and healthy treat.
5. A biscuit at bedtime keeps acid at bay.
6. A spoonful of canned pumpkin is tasty and seems to help as well.
7. Rotating foods keeps us interested in eating- Eating should be enjoyable and sometimes dogs with reflux forget that because eating can cause pain. We thought we just had a really picky pooch.
8. Let friends/family know your dog can't tolerate oily/fatty table scraps.
9. Feed smaller/frequent meals.
10. Limit playtime after meals (we have had lots of barf accidents after meals).