GO!

What's the problem with Beneful?

Discuss ways to improve the quality of your dog's life and longevity through proper nutrition; a place for all of your questions and answers about feeding your pooch!

Please keep discussions fun, friendly, and helpful at all times. Non-informative posts criticizing a particular brand or another poster’s choice of food are not allowed in this Forum. References to any brand of food as "junk," "garbage," or other harsh names will be removed.

(Page 1 of 17: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  
Brady Bleu

I don't care if- Lassie did it.

Barked: Sat Jun 2, '07 4:51pm PST 
People on here keep saying that Purina Beneful isn't a good dog chow to feed your dogs. But I've been feeding it to Brady for almost 3 years, and Shadow, about 2 years.
What, if anything, is it supposed to do that's bad?
[notify]
Boo

Life: Snack,- Snuggle, and- Sleep

Barked: Sat Jun 2, '07 5:14pm PST 
The best way to judge a dog food is simply to look at the ingredients listed. Dog food companies list their ingredients in the the most favorable light they legally can.

From their website:
Beneful Original Ingredients
Ground yellow corn, chicken by-product meal, corn gluten meal, whole wheat flour, beef tallow

2 of the first 3 ingredients is corn. Corn is a cheap filler. Dogs are carnivores and should eat MEAT. The only meat is chicken by-product meal. Note this is different from chicken meal which is inexpensive and low-quality. By-products are even less quality! This is not food a dog would eat if given a choice. They'd rather leave it for the scavengers and go after fresh whole prey.

See www.dogfoodproject.com for more information about these ingredients -- especially on beef tallow. It is that beef tallow that is probably causing the dogs to eat the food at all.