GO!

dark urine?

This forum is for dog lovers seeking everyday advice and suggestions on health-related issues. Remember, however, that advice on a public forum simply can't be a substitute for proper medical attention. Only your vet can say assuredly what is best for your dog.

Trixie Bean!

none so blind as- those that will- not see

Barked: Mon Oct 18, '10 12:02pm PST 
for the last few days Trixie's urine has appeared to be really dark.. Almost brown. She is drinking as much as usual, acting normal & not struggling to wee... She's acting completely the same as always, playful as ever and she's eating normally.

I was wondering at first whether there was something that had got mixed up with it, but then I was it in a different area of the yard, then my mum mentioned something about it. What could it be? I'm taking her to the vets on Thursday when my mum gets paid (I'm a full time college student- no money, and no access to my savings account at the moment)- if I had money, I'd take her sooner!

Shes had cystitis before but it wasn't like this and she was struggling to wee & also her urine was red tinged then (bloody) rather than dark, almost brown like it is now. The only thing I can thing of is a kidney problem confused
[notify]
Leah, CGC

All the Beauty- with none of the- Brains

Barked: Mon Oct 18, '10 1:41pm PST 
In general kidney problems will result in a low specific gravity meaning diluted urine or light colored urine NOT dark concentrated urine. The kidneys are a giant filter for the body. They are responsible for filtering the chemicals and nutrients out of the urine. As the body does this it results in the concentration of the urine because the body removes all usable water and electrolytes. If the kidneys are not working up to par or have suffered an assault of some sort they do a poor job filtering out the water so the urine becomes diluted becaues usable water is shed along with the urine.