GO!

Sport breeder suggestions (Border Collies)

If you are wondering what is the right dog for you, this is the place to be. In this introductory forum we talk about topics such as breed vs. mix, size, age, grooming, breeders, shelters, rescues as well as requirements for exercise, space and care. No question is too silly here. This particular forum is for getting and giving helpful, nice advice. It is definitely not a forum for criticizing someone else's opinion, knowledge or advice. This forum is all about tail wagging and learning.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Calamity- Jane

Barked: Wed Jan 23, '13 12:06pm PST 
So, if I do decide on a Border Collie (and I'm strongly leaning towards it), it sounds like a sport bred Border may be my best choice in fitting with my wants and needs. But, I'm very new to finding breeders (I've always done rescue in the past), so how would I find a good sport breeder? Anyone have any suggestions on some reputable breeders?
[notify]
Cohen CD RE- ADC SGDC- FDCh CGN

The Monster

Barked: Wed Jan 23, '13 1:45pm PST 
Get out to sporting events (ideally sports you're interested in) and meet dogs, chat up owners and get a feel for who's producing what. I'm in the midst of doing the same thing. I feel that you really need to go out and get your hands on these dogs to make the best decision.

E: I also think that, if this is your first sports dog, that getting a sporter collie from a sport breeder is likely overkill and you may find yourself overdogged very quickly.

Edited by author Wed Jan 23, '13 1:49pm PST

[notify]
Calamity- Jane

Barked: Thu Jan 24, '13 9:27am PST 
Alright. I'll try to get to as many events as I can.

And yes, this will be my first real competitive sporting dog. Do you really think I'll be over my head with a sport bred Border Collie? If so, do you think I should start with a show or working Border instead, or a completely different breed?
[notify]

The Monster