GO!

Help Finding the Right Dog

If you are wondering what is the right dog for you, this is the place to be. In this introductory forum we talk about topics such as breed vs. mix, size, age, grooming, breeders, shelters, rescues as well as requirements for exercise, space and care. No question is too silly here. This particular forum is for getting and giving helpful, nice advice. It is definitely not a forum for criticizing someone else's opinion, knowledge or advice. This forum is all about tail wagging and learning.

Barked: Sun Jul 22, '12 9:15pm PST 
Hi there! I am a 25-year old graduate student who plans to get a dog within the next two months. I am looking for advice regarding a breed that would work well given my lifestyle.

I am looking for a dog that:
- Is a good jogging/hiking companion
- Will not become depressed if I am school for long hours
- Is relatively low maintenance (doesn't shed; doesn't need daily baths)
- Will be okay living in a smaller space without a yard-- e.g. apartment
- Friendly; Not a hunter
- Is a good traveler
[notify]
Happy

The Boy Wonder

Barked: Mon Jul 23, '12 2:02pm PST 
I'll take a hand at giving you my thoughts on what you have on your list and what you don't.

First -

-Any healthy dog of a decent size (and many smaller dogs) can make a good lite jogging and hiking partner. Some of your more active breeds are going to make better jogging/hiking dogs, However with increased activity requires more diligence to make sure the dog is getting enough exercise

- As a rule most dogs don't like being left alone all day, some breeds are quieter in the house than others. But being that you won't have time to do the raising I'm going to recommend you go with an adult rescue who can be fit closest to your lifestyle.

- All dogs shed to some degree, however if you don't want to do a lot of brushing and want a dog that is more wash and wear you're looking at smooth coated dogs.