A new state law requires Maine pet owners to pay a $100 annual fee to obtain a special license for any dog who has been deemed dangerous by a court of law. To compare, a regular dog license for spayed or neutered dogs is just $6 ($12 for intact dogs).
Dogs requiring a dangerous-dog license will also have to wear a special tag. The new regulations, which took effect in August, are part of An Act to Strengthen the Law Regarding Dangerous Dogs and Nuisance Dogs, which was passed by the legislature.
Thumbnail: Photography ©kh_art | Getty Images.
Jackie Brown is a freelance writer from Southern California who specializes in the pet industry. Reach her at jackiebrownwriter.wordpress.com.
Editor’s note: This article first appeared in Dogster magazine. Have you seen the new Dogster print magazine in stores? Or in the waiting room of your vet’s office? Subscribe now to get Dogster magazine delivered straight to you!
1 thought on “Law Requires Dangerous Dogs in Maine to Get Special Licenses”
Pingback: Law Requires Dangerous Dogs in Maine to Get Special Licenses – Dog Couture Country