Harry Potter Nerds?!

(Page 4 of 8: Viewing entries 31 to 40)  
1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  
Risa- W-FDM/MF RE- RL1 CA CGC

Awesome Dog

Barked: Thu Feb 15, '07 12:55pm PST 
To summarize my animation professor: "Everything has been done before. You just have to do your own take on it." My coworker, who also went to CalArts ends the quote a bit differently: "So steal from the best!" Still, it's the same basic idea. big grin

There are no new ideas. As has been stated. wink
Snowy

A Doggie Scholar

Barked: Thu Feb 15, '07 3:12pm PST 
Of course I'm not a professional writer... (and my writing style sucks actually), but IMO, JK Rowling isn't the BEST writer I have seen. She has interesting ideas, wonderful imagination, and she is awesome at story telling... but I don't think her writing style moves me.

There have been books where I read and re-read certain sentences or paragraphs because they are written so beautifully... and you can tell just by reading those sentences that only those who have that stroke of genius can come up with a description as elegant or beautiful. It's hard to describe... but someone can write down what this one person did for the span of 5 minutes.. and it might be something as mundane as lighting up a cigarette .. but by describing how exactly this person exercised this mundane activity, you can tell that that this person is nice, evil, or short tempered, trustworty, etc... With JK Rowling's writing, everything is written for you.. she uses a lot of adjectives and adverbs and pretty much tells you whether or not you should like that person. But hey... that doesn't mean I don't like Harry Potter any less.. plus.. it is a children's book, so I guess you can't be too subtle with children's books.

Edited by author Thu Feb 15, '07 3:12pm PST

Brody

The best things- come in little- packages

Barked: Fri Feb 16, '07 9:25am PST