Dawn Taylor-Church

A bit of a jack-of-all-trades, I've done and been many things throughout my life. I attended two colleges and changed majors four times. In my adulthood, I've lived in eight states. My career path (if you'd like to call it that) has included social work, sales/marketing, store proprietorship, waitressing, and of course, animal welfare advocacy.

Now, though, I have a more important job than ever before: Mommy to an incredible little girl named Emily, who is going on 3. She has many interests and already has a great appreciation for dogs. She relates deeply to our own dogs, and also loves dogs generally. She is always delighted to see dogs out and about, and to meet them (with the owner's permission, of course!); she already knows and accurately recognizes quite a few specific breeds.  nd her nickname in our rescue is Southpaws' Number One Volunteer Puppy Socializer!

Full Name (Including Embarrassing Second Names): Dawn Taylor-Church (Ha! There are no embarrassing second names, but nice try!)

Location: Rhode Island

Where You Can Find Me on the Internet: Dogster, of course, especially the Forums, as a member and a moderator; also, Southpaws Express and our Facebook page. Facebook page. Oh, and www.isc.ro, a live-time Scrabble site. I go by Sogofox there -- and challenge you to a game anytime!

What I Do for a Living: A little of this and that

What I Do for Fun: Read The Rainbow Fish ten times a day, splash in puddles, paint small rocks with colorful designs, slide, and swing. These are activities I mostly enjoy with my daughter. We also like playing with foster puppies.

The Furry Members of My Household Are: Chachi, my canine soulmate, a fluffy white medium-sized mutt, who came to me while I was working at Best Friends sanctuary; Sally, a platinum Standard Poodle, rescued from a neglect situation in Louisiana; and Rain, my Southpaws foster failure, a unique scruffy black mix of possibly Scottie and Basset Hound.

My Favorite Things to Write About Are: I'm a “big picture” person, so I prefer to think -- and write about -- the large issues; statistics, correlations, programs and policies, cultural movement, problems, and solutions. Y'know, and stuff.

My Pet Peeves Are: Erm, too many to mention?  I'm easily annoyed but seldom angered.

My Guilty Pleasures Are: Beauty pageants.

How I Deal with Cat/Dog Hair: In the house: constantly. On clothes: I have a black dog and a white dog, so there's no color I can wear and win. Totally surrendered to it.

What I Want to Be When I Grow Up: Ask me tomorrow, because the answer seems to change every day.

Stories by Dawn Taylor-Church