GO!

Thinking of becoming a Groomer

Good grooming practices are essential for maintaining health and happiness for you and your dog. This is a forum to exchange tips and advice for proper care of your dog's hygiene needs.

Mayhem

Barked: Sun Jul 20, '14 12:10pm PST 
Anyone have any advice on this?
I'm thinking of becoming a groomer through ABC - Animal Behavior College. It' a year of schooling, half online and through books and DVD's and the other half hands on with a groomer in my area to become a certified groomer. I have no prior experience beyond my own dogs and family, I am a stay-at-home mom. My kids will be going to school full day starting this fall and I want to be busy doing something and have a skill if I ever should need to work outside my home. Obviously I am also a dog lover. I'm only interested in part time right now so I'm thinking of starting as a bather or groomer assistant this fall at a Petco and if a few months in I can see myself in that environment I will enroll in this school, continue as a bather/assistant and then the following year become a Groomer. I'm not sure if Petco is where I would ultimately like to end up but I'm thinking it may be a good start to get my foot in the door. Any advice or thoughts?? I should not enroll in the certification program until I am a bather or assistant for a while, correct??

Edited by author Sun Jul 20, '14 12:14pm PST

[notify]
Noah

Herpaderp-apotam- us

Barked: Tue Jul 22, '14 2:23pm PST