GO!

Snatching for treats during training OUCH!

This is a place to gain some understanding of dog behavior and to assist people in training their dogs and dealing with common behavior problems, regardless of the method(s) used. This can cover the spectrum from non-aversive to traditional methods of dog training. There are many ways to train a dog. Please avoid aggressive responses, and counter ideas and opinions with which you don't agree with friendly and helpful advice. Please refrain from submitting posts that promote off-topic discussions. Keep in mind that you may be receiving advice from other dog owners and lovers... not professionals. If you have a major problem, always seek the advice of a trainer or behaviorist!

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Brevin

I like poop

Barked: Thu Aug 15, '13 9:36pm PST 
So I have a now 10 week old puppy named Brevin. I started training him basic commands a week ago and he has a terrible habit of chomping my hand with his needle teeth! I try to say gentle but he's so fast and pulling away makes it hurt more. He has drawn blood before. Not only that, but he will completely miss the treat and just grab my middle finger! (Holdin treat with pointer finger and thumb) how do I train him to take a treat carefully without him not getting frustrated? So far he has learned sit, lay down, roll over, shake, spin, and speak. He's very smart but he just doesn't take a treat very carefully and it's getting painful!

When I say sit and he does I want to offer him a treat because he has done what I asked. But how do I reward him for doing that command and doing so gently? I don't want to stall his reward and make him think that he's not doing the particular command correctly.

Should I hold off on trick training until I can train him to take a treat gently? If so, what are some exercises we can do to get this fixed. I want to get this fixed ASAP so we can resume with training.
[notify]
Jackson Tan

Lad about town