GO!

New puppy tips and tricks.. ? -- Puppy 101

Got a new, young, furry love in your life? This is the place for you to ask all of your questions-big or small! Just remember that you are receiving advice from other dog owners and lovers... not professionals. If you have a major problem, always seek the advice of a vet or behaviorist! Most important is to remember to have fun with your new fur baby.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Mika

Barked: Thu Nov 15, '12 9:30am PST 
I am preparing to get a German Shepherd puppy in a few weeks (probably just before Christmas). They are only 1 week old right now and we are supposed to get them at 6 weeks. This is my first time owning a dog as an adult and I really want to make sure I train correctly and all that. I was wondering if anybody could give some advice, tips, or tricks that would help. We need to potty train and we will need to get her spayed, but I wasn't totally sure on the appropriate age for that.

Anyways, any advice would be helpful..
[notify]
Nare

Woo-woo- whineybutt

Barked: Thu Nov 15, '12 11:36am PST 
1. Beg for the owner to keep them until they're 8 weeks.
I got my pup at 6 weeks old, and those 2 weeks are sooo crucial and no matter what you do you'll never be able to get them back.
Puppies get shots at 8, 12, and 16 weeks..
Also look up 'clicker training'.
[notify]
Toto, CD, RN, CGC

We don't do- doodles!!!

Barked: Thu Nov 15, '12 12:38pm PST 
I'm with Nare... have the breeder keep the puppy until it is at least 8 weeks old. Not only is it state law in many states, those two weeks are when the puppy learns the most important lessons from Mom and littermates, specifically those about biting and getting bitten back and learning to share.