GO!

Why do ppl get breeds of dogs that have bad health issues and not do anything to help it?

This forum is for dog lovers seeking everyday advice and suggestions on health-related issues. Remember, however, that advice on a public forum simply can't be a substitute for proper medical attention. Only your vet can say assuredly what is best for your dog.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Mishka &- Luna

Barked: Sun Oct 21, '12 1:15am PST 
I'm a veterinary technician and I just recently started at a veterinary hospital. Today we had a bull dog that had BAD yeasty ears and a yeast-like smell coming from his folds. His left eye was also a dark red and covered in a yellowish-green mucous. What makes me mad is that people get the dog breeds that have a lot of health issues that they are aware of and yet they refuse to pay the extra money to take care of that health problem or go the extra mile to make sure their dog is in a comfortable state. I felt so bad for this bulldog. He has chronic dry eye and probably an underlying eye issue and the owners will not pay for artificial tears to help lube the eye or even let the doctor's look more into the eye and help treat it. Every bulldog owner and other owners of squishy-faced breeds knows that they eventually will need artificial tears because they are so bug-eyed, prone to ear infections, and need their wrinkles clean out on a daily basis. We were literally digging out yellow discharge that had looked like phlegm out of this bulldogs' ears.