GO!

How do you feel about invisible fences?

This is a place to gain some understanding of dog behavior and to assist people in training their dogs and dealing with common behavior problems, regardless of the method(s) used. This can cover the spectrum from non-aversive to traditional methods of dog training. There are many ways to train a dog. Please avoid aggressive responses, and counter ideas and opinions with which you don't agree with friendly and helpful advice. Please refrain from submitting posts that promote off-topic discussions. Keep in mind that you may be receiving advice from other dog owners and lovers... not professionals. If you have a major problem, always seek the advice of a trainer or behaviorist!

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  

Barked: Tue Oct 9, '12 11:47pm PST 
A friend of mine is thinking about getting one. But i told him that they can cause some real damage. I work as a vet tech and i've seen some pretty nasty wounds when they've been left on too long.

What do you guys think?
[notify]
Dolly- Mixture

Barked: Wed Oct 10, '12 6:57am PST 
Personally I hate them, if a dog sees a cat or other animal to chase they don't feel the shock of the collar because they are so hyped up, when they want to get back home they can't because they are no longer hyped up and can feel the shock.

Other animals can get into them and attack them, there are a lot of dogs that have been attacked because they don't keep other dogs out.

I once came across someone on anaother forum who used this type of fencing, she came to get advice about one of her dogs who used to bite people as they went past her property. After asking a lot of questions it seemed that this dog only bit when he had the collar on because he got a shock when he ran to the people. She was in danger of being told to pts her dog but still she couldn't see it was the invisible fence causing the problem.