GO!

Swollen Lymph Nodes?

This forum is for dog lovers seeking everyday advice and suggestions on health-related issues. Remember, however, that advice on a public forum simply can't be a substitute for proper medical attention. Only your vet can say assuredly what is best for your dog.

Odin

Barked: Tue Sep 4, '12 8:42pm PST 
Odin had his first puppy socialization class this evening. One of the trainers pointed out that Odin has a lump on both hind legs, most likely his lymph nodes. They are smaller than pea sized, squishy, and moveable. I am a nurse, and understand that the lymph nodes are part of the human immune system, and I am assuming part of his as well.

My question is, are you normally able to feel the lymph nodes on a dog? Odin is 10 weeks old (tomorrow), eating and playing normally, solid stool, and has a normal temp. He was vaccinated on Friday, so I am wondering if that could be part of it, if they are really even swollen. Being a dane, his lean build definitely makes it easier to feel his muscles and tendons...compared to say Brutus...my slightly overweight dachshund. I am going to call my vet in the morning, but I am on the verge of freaking out. Is there anyone out there than can detect the lymph nodes on their dogs?
[notify]
Wellington- 4/14/01 - 2/18/13

No I'm NOT a- Saint Bernard.

Barked: Tue Sep 4, '12 9:05pm PST