GO!

The right breed??

If you are wondering what is the right dog for you, this is the place to be. In this introductory forum we talk about topics such as breed vs. mix, size, age, grooming, breeders, shelters, rescues as well as requirements for exercise, space and care. No question is too silly here. This particular forum is for getting and giving helpful, nice advice. It is definitely not a forum for criticizing someone else's opinion, knowledge or advice. This forum is all about tail wagging and learning.

Meeka

Barked: Fri Mar 9, '12 10:01pm PST 
I have been researching nreeds from benji's to rots, dobes, and sibes. At forst i planned on getting a sibe but after much research i decided the the risk of having them pff leash was too great so I am now unsure. I curently have a shepher/lab mox and she does great off leash amd with other dogs.

I have decided that instead of a rescue i would lile a purebred puppy for my next dog. I am a very capable trainer amd am active person. I jog, hike and camp often and where a live most of these things are in areas that have no leash paws.

So my question is what breed? I would like a dog that is trustworthy off leash and good with other dogs. I would like the dog to be anywhere from 30 to 80 lbs ish (im not too picky on size kjust not huge or tiny). Also i like the look of shephetds, dobes, spirz, sibes, etc. So not a fan of poodles or pharoh hound looks. I have done a lot of looking on this site and others but i cannot decide.

This is my first post and any and all feedback is appreciated ao thanls!
[notify]
Bruno CGC

Honorary Kelpie

Barked: Fri Mar 9, '12 11:05pm PST 
If you like German Shepherds, you could certainly find one to fit your needs. They're good off-leash (with training of course) and most are good with other dogs (if well-bred and properly socialized as puppies.)