GO!

Home cooked food but is the nutrients enough?

This is the place to share your best homemade dog food and treat recipes with each other! Remember to use caution if your pet has allergies and to make any diet changes gradually so that your dog's stomach can adjust to the new foods you are introducing.

Evo

Barked: Tue Apr 5, '11 10:07am PST 
Hi all, I have been feeding my 2 babies with hcf for the past 7 years. Their normal meal consist of 40%brown rice, 20% of vege which consist of carrots, celery, brocoli or cauliflower, 40% meat, which can be pork, chix, mutton or fish.
Ocasionally i also feed them eggs, pumpkin or sweet potatos which they love. All the food is cooked by steaming.
Now that they are getting older, kinda worried if they are getting enough nutrients? They refused to touch any supplements that i have bought so wondering if anyone can recommend any other ways to boost up the nutrients in their food.
[notify]
Maxwell

I'm triple- superior MAD- now!

Barked: Tue Apr 5, '11 11:34am PST 
Hi Evo,

Where's the beef? It is super nutritious stuff. Get some into the diet. A bit of beef liver is really good for dogs too, they aren't getting enough copper if they aren't getting beef liver.

Are you putting calcium into the food? My Max weighs 38 pounds and needs as much calcium as an adult woman. 1/2 tsp of powdered eggshell per pound of meat is a good way to get some into the food.

Don't occasionally feed eggs and fish. A fatty fish meal once a week and some egg as part of a meal several times a week would be a good idea.

You are obviously doing a great job! Make sure there is a bit of calcium, use 1-2 ounces of beef liver per pound of meat fed, add some beef and mix it up with the grains if they do well on them. I would give Sassy potato, rice or pasta but barley and oatmeal are good foods too if you want to feed grains. Use the steaming water, it is very nutritious stuff.