GO!

When to Say When

Good grooming practices are essential for maintaining health and happiness for you and your dog. This is a forum to exchange tips and advice for proper care of your dog's hygiene needs.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Ziggy

I'm the Zig

Barked: Sat Oct 3, '09 8:38pm PST 
Greetings Everyone,

Hi, I'm Jenn, and Ziggy and I are new to the site and am looking forward to really getting to know my way around here.

I was also looking for a good forum of dog lovers to join as this is my very first Westie as well as my venture into dog grooming. Right now I am a Bather (won't disclose where though) and I have been working there for 3 months. I just took a Salon Safety Test after our Safety meeting and read the manual from beginning to end and what I read and what I see are 2 totally different things at times.

When is the right time to say when it comes to nails. If a dog expels anal glands, is that the time to stop or do you wait until they have calmed down and try and begin again. I have never worked in this industry before and I adore my job as much hard work as it is but sometimes *not giving up* just doesn't feel right. I read one thing when it comes to the whole grooming process, from dryers to nails and although I have to work on my own weaknesses, such as learning to properly handle large breeds and always being in the right *energy*, sometimes I think pushing a dog to do something when it clearly shows signs of stress is an indication of not going forward.

Wanting to give the pet a good experience so they like coming to the groomer alongside being told they need to make money is really nagging at me and coming from other Groomers, I would like to know what all of you feel and think~

Thank you so much for reading this and I look forward to getting to know all of you wave
[notify]
ACE

Barked: Sat Oct 3, '09 10:13pm PST