GO!

Pom House Training

This is a forum for bonding with your fellow Dogsters about the traits, quirks and idiosyncrasies of your favorite breed. Please remember that there are absolutely no animal sales or requests for studding or breeding allowed on our sites. All posts and interactions should be in the spirit of Dogster's Community Guidelines and should be fun, friendly and informational. Enjoy!

Ty

Crunchy

Barked: Wed Jul 25, '12 2:22pm PST 
Okay so I have recently got a Pomeranian puppy. He is my baby and I love him sooo much! He is just precious and smart and has a sweet personality. I have never had a Pomeranian or a dog in the house OR even a puppy! So I am very new to all of this. Iam trying my best to learn as I go and ask many questions and do tons of research. I have been debating on the best way to house train my baby, Ty. I started out with puppy pads. He would use them, but they didn't stop him from using it on the carpet! And now he has learned that he can use the pads not only as a place to potty, but also a bed and toy!! He will lay on the pad (discusting I know) and he will roll around on it and chew it up...I want to just get rid of them and maybe crate train him? I have a crate that he sleeps in. At first he would pee in there and once he pooped! But the past couple of weeks (after I cleans his crate VERY thoroughly) he has not had any accidents in there! I think he even enjoys his crate. I find him sometimes in there asleep with the door open! I guess my problem is, I hate having to get up with him during the night & go outside to potty, so I have been just setting him on puppy pad during night and he pees. I want to know if I should stop this completely & just suck it up & take him out (even if its like 3 in the morning) or what? I feel like having the puppy pads & taking him outside confises him since he still pees inside sometimes. Also, how often should I take him out. As I said he is about 11 weeks old and I know he cant hold his bladde