Postings by Jager

GO!

Australian Shepherd > 2yr old male Aussie problems

Jager

Barked: Mon Feb 24, '14 8:47am PST 
Hello everyone

I have a 2 yr old male Aussie that is showing signs of neurotic/ Agrresive behavior amongst other things and im at my witts end on what to do.

let me start off saying I am a accomplished trainer of many dogs I worked at a pet resort where my daily job was to re-direct bad behavior with positive reinforcment, my family over the years has bread german sheapherd's also I myself grew up with Chow chows all good family dogs no behavoir probelms out of any of them.

My 2 year old Austrailian sheaphed is a case that im having a hard time pin-pointing a prcise training method to fox these issues.

I got him from a shotty guy in Ronoake VA, it was decirbed to me that it was an oop's litter and a Male Aussie for 200$ sounded like a steal so i made the 8hr round trip to go get him he was a normal puppy, he did do the nipping at pants legs which I had planned for and corrected him accordingly and all went well until he was about 1 yr old he started getting agressive with some of the dogs at work and this is what puzzles me. it would make since that he chase after dogs that are running in order to herd them but this is not case he would pick out certain dogs and grab them any where he could and most of the time the dog he was picking on was just standing there, but sometime he would he would just try to jump and put his head on there shoulders wich i've seen this behavior before he was trying to be dominant.