GO!

(Page 1 of 9: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  

Service & Therapy Dogs > Texas law requires training by a recognized agency for service dogs
AILBE,- Service Dog- In Tng

Born To Serve- The Damsel In- Distress

Barked: Tue May 13, '14 12:51am PST 
TX laws on SDITs have changed. All SDITS are covered and it now follows the ADA guidelines. Owner Owned Service Dogs are now covered under the new laws for Service Dogs.

Shadow Walker and Ailbe
[notify]
» There has since been 2 posts. Last posting by , May 29 12:24 pm

Service & Therapy Dogs > Disabled Vet / needs therapy dog

Barked: Tue May 13, '14 12:46am PST 
I'm a Disabled Vet and PTSD Service Dogs aren't allowed under their Service Dogs for Veterans Program. Fist of all a therapy dog isn't what you're looking for. A therapy dog is a dog trained to visit others to make them happy.

An ESA (Emotional Support Animal) is a dog or other animal (falls under the Fair Housing Act (FHA) and not the ADA (Americans With Disabilities Act which is only dogs)that gives you comfort and support at home only. There are no tasks involved.

A PTSD service dog is one that is trained to migate your disability thru tasks like turning on lights at night when you enter a dark room, getting help during an episode, getting meds, taking you to a safe spot/zone during an attack. A service dog goes with you while an ESA can't go with you.